Freedom summer: the savage season that made Mississippi burn and made America a democracy

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
c2010.
Language:
English
Description
A majestic history of the summer of '64, which forever changed race relations in America In the summer of 1964, with the civil rights movement stalled, seven hundred college students descended on Mississippi to register black voters, teach in Freedom Schools, and live in sharecroppers' shacks. But by the time their first night in the state had ended, three volunteers were dead, black churches had burned, and America had a new definition of freedom. This remarkable chapter in American history, the basis for the controversial film Mississippi Burning , is now the subject of Bruce Watson's thoughtful and riveting historical narrative. Using in- depth interviews with participants and residents, Watson brilliantly captures the tottering legacy of Jim Crow in Mississippi and the chaos that brought such national figures as Martin Luther King Jr. and Pete Seeger to the state. Freedom Summer presents finely rendered portraits of the courageous black citizens-and Northern volunteers-who refused to be intimidated in their struggle for justice, and the white Mississippians who would kill to protect a dying way of life. Few books have provided such an intimate look at race relations during the deadliest days of the Civil Rights movement, and Freedom Summer will appeal to readers of Taylor Branch and Doug Blackmon.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780670021703
9781400117482
9780143119432
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 00d7e948-0d79-f6af-dad0-15f4786c15a7
Grouping Title freedom summer the savage season that made mississippi burn and made america a democracy
Grouping Author watson bruce
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-12-06 23:16:56PM
Last Indexed 2018-12-10 00:06:04AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Watson, Bruce, 1953-
author_display Watson, Bruce
available_at_catalog Bordeaux, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
collection_catalog Audiobook, Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bordeaux - Adult Audiobook, Bordeaux - Adult Non-Fiction, Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction, Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description Using in-depth interviews with participants and residents, Watson brilliantly captures the tottering legacy of Jim Crow in Mississippi, while vividly portraying: the chaos that brought such national figures as Martin Luther King Jr. and Pete Seeger to the state, the courageous black citizens and Northern volunteers who refused to be intimidated in their struggle for justice, and the white Mississippians who would kill to protect a dying way of life.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books
id 00d7e948-0d79-f6af-dad0-15f4786c15a7
isbn 9780143119432, 9780670021703, 9781400117482
item_details ils:CARL0000353458|35192039731165|Bordeaux - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO 323.1196 W3376f|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BX||, ils:CARL0000353694|35192040716916|Bordeaux - Adult Non-Fiction|323.1196 W3376f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BX||, ils:CARL0000353694|35192040716924|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|323.1196 W3376f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000353694|35192047125400|Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction|323.1196 W3376f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||
itype_catalog Book, CD audio book
last_indexed 2018-12-10T06:06:04.149Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 323.1196 W3376f, CD AUDIO 323.1196 W3376f
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bordeaux, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780670021703
publishDate 2010
record_details ils:CARL0000353458|CD audio book|Audio Books||English|Tantor Audio,|c2010.|12 sound discs (ca. 14.5 hrs.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000353694|Book|Books||English|Viking,|c2010.|369 p., [8] p. of plates : ill. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000353694 35192040716924 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000353694 35192040716916 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000353694 35192047125400 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000353458 35192039731165 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
subject_facet African Americans -- Civil rights -- Mississippi -- History -- 20th century, African Americans -- Suffrage -- Mississippi -- History -- 20th century, Audiobooks, Civil rights movements -- Mississippi -- History -- 20th century, Civil rights workers -- Mississippi -- History -- 20th century, Mississippi -- Race relations -- History -- 20th century
title_display Freedom summer : the savage season that made Mississippi burn and made America a democracy
title_full Freedom summer : [sound recording] the savage season that made Mississippi burn and made America a democracy / Bruce Watson, Freedom summer : the savage season that made Mississippi burn and made America a democracy / Bruce Watson
title_short Freedom summer :
title_sub the savage season that made Mississippi burn and made America a democracy
topic_facet African Americans, Audiobooks, Civil rights, Civil rights movements, Civil rights workers, History, Race relations, Suffrage