Black-eyed Susans: a novel of suspense

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(3)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
TOP 5 SUNDAY TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER * For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense. "My book of the year so far . . . breathtakingly, heart-stoppingly brilliant."--Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of The Monogram Murders I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories. I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans. The lucky one. As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving "Black-Eyed Susan," the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa's testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row. Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans--a summertime bloom--just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications--that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large--Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories--and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue. What they don't know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night. Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers--as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden. Praise for Black-Eyed Susans "A masterful thriller that shouldn't be missed . . . brilliantly conceived, beautifully executed . . . [Julia] Heaberlin's work calls to mind that of Gillian Flynn. Both writers published impressive early novels that were largely overlooked, and then one that couldn't be: Flynn's Gone Girl and now Heaberlin's Black-Eyed Susans . Don't miss it." -- The Washington Post "[A] gem of a novel . . . richly textured, beautifully written . . . Tension builds, and the plot twists feel earned as well as genuinely surprising." -- The Boston Globe "A tense, slow-burning, beautifully written novel of survival and hope. Highly recommended." --William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob "Deliciously twisty and eerie, Heaberlin's third psychological suspense novel is intricately layered and instantly compelling." -- Library Journal (starred review) "Brilliant . . . a breakout book." -- Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780804177993
9780804178006
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 01c5ac66-4507-205c-ef9e-8f7433e16f4e
Grouping Title black eyed susans
Grouping Author heaberlin julia
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-20 22:45:09PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-20 23:42:51PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Heaberlin, Julia,
author_display Heaberlin, Julia
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Inglewood, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Fiction, Inglewood - Adult Fiction, Southeast - Adult Fiction
display_description "As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving "Black-Eyed Susan," the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa's testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row. Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans--a summertime bloom--just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications--that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large--Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution." --
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 01c5ac66-4507-205c-ef9e-8f7433e16f4e
isbn 9780804177993, 9780804178006
item_details ils:CARL0000465058|35192047693746|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction Heaberl|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000465058|35192047693761|Southeast - Adult Fiction|Fiction Heaberl|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000465058|35192047860022|Hermitage - Adult Fiction|Fiction Heaberl|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000465058|35192047860030|Inglewood - Adult Fiction|Fiction Heaberl|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, overdrive:c5a8ebed-4e23-480a-8055-97a1660e4449|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|3|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-21T04:42:51.568Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Heaberl
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Inglewood, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780804177993
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000465058|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Ballantine Books,|[2015]|354 pages ; 25 cm., overdrive:c5a8ebed-4e23-480a-8055-97a1660e4449|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000465058 35192047693746 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000465058 35192047860022 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000465058 35192047860030 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000465058 35192047693761 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:c5a8ebed-4e23-480a-8055-97a1660e4449 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Murder victims -- Fiction, Serial murders -- Fiction, Suspense fiction, American, Witnesses -- Fiction
title_display Black-eyed Susans : a novel of suspense
title_full Black-Eyed Susans A Novel of Suspense, Black-eyed Susans : a novel of suspense / Julia Heaberlin
title_short Black-eyed Susans :
title_sub a novel of suspense
topic_facet Fiction, Literature, Murder victims, Serial murders, Suspense, Suspense fiction, American, Thriller, Witnesses