All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

The Boleyn King: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013.
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWS Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime's The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king? nbsp; Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. With the French threatening battle and the Catholics sowing the seeds of rebellion at home, William trusts only three people: his older sister Elizabeth; his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic; and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by William's mother, Anne Boleyn. nbsp; Against a tide of secrets, betrayal, and murder, William finds himself fighting for the very soul of his kingdom. Then, when he and Dominic both fall in love with Minuette, romantic obsession looms over a new generation of Tudors. One among them will pay the price for a king's desire, as a shocking twist of fate changes England's fortunes forever. nbsp; Includes a preview of Laura Andersen's The Boleyn Deceit Praise for The Boleyn King nbsp; "Imaginative . . . Andersen focuses on creating an exciting, action-driven plot containing strong doses of both intrigue and romance. Tudor-era historical fiction fans who are willing to accept the unusual premise will be rewarded with an original and entertaining read that's reminiscent of the best of Philippa Gregory." -- Library Journal (starred review) nbsp; "Gripping . . . Andersen delves into an alternative Tudor England geared to rivet period fans and newcomers alike. . . . Perfect for Philippa Gregory fans." -- Booklist (starred review) nbsp; "A surprising gem and a thoroughly enjoyable read." -- Historical Novels Review nbsp; "Andersen's novel, alive with historical flair and drama, satisfies both curious and imaginative Tudor aficionados. . . . Her multidimensional characters are so real that readers will wish it was history and eagerly await the next in the trilogy." -- RT Book Reviews (Top Pick) nbsp; "A wonderfully imaginative and well-written tale of intrigue, high court politics and desperate love." -- Deseret News nbsp; " 'What if . . .' With these tantalizing words, Laura Andersen creates a fresh and vividly realized alternative world where Anne Boleyn not only lives, but also gives birth to a healthy son who will become King. With the introduction of Minuette, Princess Elizabeth's lady-in-waiting, we meet an extraordinary young woman who embodies love and loyalty, and who fights to find the humanity at the heart of the most glamorous--and dangerous--court in Europe." --Susan Elia MacNeal, author of Mr. Churchill's Secretary nbsp; "Full of intrigue, conspiracies, and the accurate details so essential to good historical fiction . . . Anyone who has even the slightest fascination with the Tudors will want to devour this delectable novel in a single sitting." --Tasha Alexander, New York Times bestselling author of Death in the Floating City Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345534095
9780345534101
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 06496097-a0c9-47e2-634b-2041c3627787
Full title boleyn king
Author andersen laura
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-22 22:53:33PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-22 23:28:42PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Laura Andersen
author_display Andersen, Laura
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. With the French threatening battle and the Catholics sowing the seeds of rebellion at home, William trusts only three people: his older sister Elizabeth; his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic; and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by William's mother, Anne Boleyn. Against a tide of secrets, betrayal, and murder, William finds himself fighting for the very soul of his kingdom. Then, when he and Dominic both fall in love with Minuette, romantic obsession looms over a new generation of Tudors. One among them will pay the price for a king's desire, as a shocking twist of fate changes England's fortunes forever.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 06496097-a0c9-47e2-634b-2041c3627787
isbn 9780345534095, 9780345534101
item_details ils:CARL0000414892|35192044178584|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Anderse|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:5a5f59c1-8e93-4f0c-a744-acc4085a9634|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-23T04:28:42.03Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Anderse
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780345534095
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000414892|Book|Books||English|Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks,|2013.|358 pages; 21 cm., overdrive:5a5f59c1-8e93-4f0c-a744-acc4085a9634|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000414892|35192044178584|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:5a5f59c1-8e93-4f0c-a744-acc4085a9634|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
series Anne Boleyn trilogy
series_with_volume Anne Boleyn trilogy|1
subject_facet Anne Boleyn, -- Queen, consort of Henry VIII, King of England, -- 1507-1536 -- Fiction, Great Britain -- History -- Henry VIII, 1509-1547 -- Fiction, Henry -- VIII, -- King of England, -- 1491-1547 -- Fiction
title_display The Boleyn King : a novel
title_full The Boleyn King : a novel / Laura Andersen, The Boleyn King Anne Boleyn Trilogy, Book 1
title_short The Boleyn King :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Anne Boleyn, Fiction, Henry, Historical Fiction, History, Romance