How we learn: the surprising truth about when, where, and why it happens

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today--and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. We're told that learning is all self-discipline, that we must confine ourselves to designated study areas, turn off the music, and maintain a strict ritual if we want to ace that test, memorize that presentation, or nail that piano recital.

But what if almost everything we were told about learning is wrong? And what if there was a way to achieve more with less effort?

In How We Learn, award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research and landmark studies to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we are all learning quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey's search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives--and less of a chore.

By road testing many of the counterintuitive techniques described in this book, Carey shows how we can flex the neural muscles that make deep learning possible. Along the way he reveals why teachers should give final exams on the first day of class, why it's wise to interleave subjects and concepts when learning any new skill, and when it's smarter to stay up late prepping for that presentation than to rise early for one last cram session. And if this requires some suspension of disbelief, that's because the research defies what we've been told, throughout our lives, about how best to learn.

The brain is not like a muscle, at least not in any straightforward sense. It is something else altogether, sensitive to mood, to timing, to circadian rhythms, as well as to location and environment. It doesn't take orders well, to put it mildly. If the brain is a learning machine, then it is an eccentric one. In How We Learn, Benedict Carey shows us how to exploit its quirks to our advantage.

Praise for How We Learn

"This book is a revelation. I feel as if I've owned a brain for fifty-four years and only now discovered the operating manual." --Mary Roach, bestselling author of Stiff and Gulp "A welcome rejoinder to the faddish notion that learning is all about the hours put in." --The New York Times Book Review "A valuable, entertaining tool for educators, students and parents." --Shelf Awareness

" How We Learn is more than a new approach to learning; it is a guide to making the most out of life. Who wouldn't be interested in that?" --Scientific American "I know of no other source that pulls together so much of what we know about the science of memory and couples it with practical, practicable advice." --Daniel T. Willingham, professor of psychology at the University of Virginia

From the Hardcover edition.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812993882
9780812993899
9780449807804
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 065d7869-cbf8-bad7-93d9-ed5d06017287
Grouping Title how we learn the surprising truth about when where and why it happens
Grouping Author carey benedict
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-19 04:00:13AM
Last Indexed 2018-09-19 04:04:07AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Carey, Benedict,
author_display Carey, Benedict
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction, Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description In How We Learn, award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research and landmark studies to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we are all learning quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey's search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives--and less of a chore.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 065d7869-cbf8-bad7-93d9-ed5d06017287
isbn 9780449807804, 9780812993882, 9780812993899
item_details ils:CARL0000443028|35192046390518|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|153.15 C273h|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000443028|35192046851956|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|153.15 C273h|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000443028|QQ00214030|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Non-Fiction|153.15 CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, overdrive:01d633f1-8642-45d8-b897-7858c2798ba6|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:dda8bcad-139a-44c1-8308-b9ca22eed317|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-19T09:04:07.109Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 153.15 C273h
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780812993882
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000443028|Book|Books||English|Random House,|2014.|xvi, 254 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm., overdrive:01d633f1-8642-45d8-b897-7858c2798ba6|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2014|, overdrive:dda8bcad-139a-44c1-8308-b9ca22eed317|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:01d633f1-8642-45d8-b897-7858c2798ba6 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:dda8bcad-139a-44c1-8308-b9ca22eed317 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000443028 35192046851956 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000443028 35192046390518 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Learning, Learning, Psychology of
title_display How we learn : the surprising truth about when, where, and why it happens
title_full How We Learn The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens, How we learn : the surprising truth about when, where, and why it happens / Benedict Carey
title_short How we learn :
title_sub the surprising truth about when, where, and why it happens
topic_facet Education, Learning, Learning, Psychology of, Nonfiction, Psychology, Self-Improvement, Study Aids & Workbooks