NPL closure has been extended. Read more.
 
Holds on physical items have been suspended; while the library is closed we encourage you to check out our electronic resources.
 

The plain Janes

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Plain Janes volume 1.
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Meet the Plain Janes--artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town. This cult classic graphic novel is perfect for fans of The LumberJanes and Awkward . When artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved city life behind for the boring suburb of Kent Waters, she thinks her life is over. But then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with fellow misfits Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things-a shared name and frustration with the adults around them--the girls form a secret club dedicated to fighting suburban apathy with guerrilla works of art scattered around their small town. But for Main Jane, the group is more than simple teenaged rebellion; it's an act of survival. She's determined not to let fear rule her life like it does her parents' and neighbors' lives. Armed with her sketchbook and a mission of resistance, the PLAIN Janes are out to prove that passion, bravery, and a group of great friends can save anyone from the hell that is high school. With each installment printed in its own distinct color, this volume includes the original two stories-- The Plain Janes and Janes in Love --plus a never-before-seen third story, Janes Attack Back . The Janes are back, and better than ever.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780316522724
9780316522816
9781401211158
Reading Level:
UG
Level 2.6, 1 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 07a90148-b1eb-4155-3deb-acb42059326b
Grouping Title plain janes
Grouping Author castellucci cecil
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2020-03-17 23:24:26PM
Last Indexed 2020-04-02 01:39:22AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 1
accelerated_reader_reading_level 2.6
auth_author2 Rugg, Jim,
Rugg, Jim.
author Castellucci, Cecil, 1969-
author2-role Rugg, Jim,illustrator.
Rugg, Jim.
author_display Castellucci, Cecil
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Southeast
collection_catalog Comic/Graphic
Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Comic/Graphic
Edgehill - Teen Non-Fiction
Edmondson Pike - Teen Comic/Graphic
Green Hills - Teen Comic/Graphic
Main Library - Teen Comic/Graphic
Southeast - Teen Comic/Graphic
display_description When Jane moves to the suburbs and thinks her life is over, she and three new friends form a club to make public art but are soon distracted by romance.
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id 07a90148-b1eb-4155-3deb-acb42059326b
isbn 9780316522724
9780316522816
9781401211158
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000827893 35192051906422 Green Hills - Teen Comic/Graphic YA 741.5973 C3489p 1 false false Checked Out GH
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398549 Antioch High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 60110
ils:CARL0000827893 35192051906430 Main Library - Teen Comic/Graphic YA 741.5973 C3489p 1 false false Checked Out MN
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398580 Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 4B355
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398564 Apollo Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 4P577
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398567 Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 4W783
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398552 Cane Ridge High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 61182
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398562 Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic GN 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 40100
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398556 Maplewood High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false In Processing 6E550
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398576 J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 4O563
ils:CARL0000827893 35192051906448 Southeast - Teen Comic/Graphic YA 741.5973 C3489p 1 false false On Shelf SE
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398557 McGavock High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 6D532
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398558 Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false In Processing 62242
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398559 Overton High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 6F615
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398551 Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false In Processing 6G632
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398577 Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 48275
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398554 Glencliff High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 64325
ils:CARL0000827893 35192051906406 Bellevue - Teen Comic/Graphic YA 741.5973 C3489p 1 false false Checked Out BL
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398581 Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 43120
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398553 East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 63290
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398561 Whites Creek High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false In Processing 6I787
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398548 Hillsboro High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 66435
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398579 East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 4A296
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398570 Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 4F434
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398550 Hillwood High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 67440
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398575 Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 4N555
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398582 Haynes Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 4D400
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398563 Antioch Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic GRA Cas 1 false false On Shelf 41111
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398571 Joelton Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 4G470
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398573 Marshall Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 4M551
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398584 Oliver Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 4S612
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398588 Wright Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 4X805
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398583 Head Middle Magnet - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false In Processing 4E410
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398555 Hunter's Lane High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 6A452
ils:CARL0000827893 35192051906414 Edmondson Pike - Teen Comic/Graphic YA 741.5973 C3489p 1 false false On Shelf EP
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398585 Rose Park Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 4T675
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398560 Stratford High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 6H705
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398566 Bellevue Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 44130
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398586 Two Rivers Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 4U730
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398587 West End Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false Checked Out 4V770
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398578 John Early Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 49285
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398589 Cameron College Prep - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false In Processing 71181
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398574 McKissack Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false In Processing 4J535
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398565 Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 43120
ils:CARL0000827893 QQ00398568 Croft Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 45238
ils:CARL0000289513 FF00010433 Hillwood High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 67440
ils:CARL0000289513 B00525268 Hillsboro High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.59 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 66435
ils:CARL0000289513 B00634464 Hillwood High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.59 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 67440
ils:CARL0000289513 P00440553 Overton High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.59 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 6F615
ils:CARL0000289513 A01900034 Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.59 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 62242
ils:CARL0000289513 B00634886 Maplewood High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 6E550
ils:CARL0000289513 A01958833 Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.5 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 69450
ils:CARL0000289513 P00440554 Overton High - Teen Comic/Graphic 741.59 CAS 1 false false On Shelf 6F615
ils:CARL0000289513 V00020247 Wright Middle - Teen Comic/Graphic GN F CAS 1 false false On Shelf 4X805
ils:CARL0000289513 35192036133076 Edgehill - Teen Non-Fiction YA 741.5 C3489p 1 false false Checked Out EH
itype_catalog Book
last_indexed 2020-04-02T06:39:22.863Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalog YA 741.5 C3489p
YA 741.5973 C3489p
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Edgehill
Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
Southeast
primary_isbn 9780316522724
publishDate 2007
2020
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000827893 Book Books First edition. English Little, Brown and Company, 2020. 463 pages : chiefly illustrations ; 22 cm
ils:CARL0000289513 Book Books English DC Comics, 2007. 1 v. (unpaged) : chiefly ill. ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000827893 35192051906422 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000827893 35192051906430 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000827893 35192051906448 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000827893 35192051906406 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000827893 35192051906414 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000289513 35192036133076 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
series Plain Janes
series_with_volume Plain Janes|1
subject_facet Clubs -- Comic books, strips, etc
Dating (Social customs) -- Comic books, strips, etc
Friendship -- Comic books, strips, etc
Graphic novels
Schools -- Comic books, strips, etc
Street art -- Comic books, strips, etc
Young adult fiction, American
title_display The plain Janes
title_full The plain Janes / Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg
The plain Janes / by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg
title_short The plain Janes
topic_facet Clubs
Dating (Social customs)
Friendship
Graphic novels
Schools
Street art
Young adult fiction, American