Once upon a goat

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Alfred A. Knopf,
Pub. Date:
[2019]
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description
A twisted fairy tale about a king and queen who wish for a child of their own . . . and end up with a baby goat. Perfect for readers of Children Make Terrible Pets and Wolfie the Bunny . "A funny and redemptive fairy tale."-- The Wall Street Journal Once upon a time, a very prim and proper king and queen begged their fairy godmother for a child. They'd prefer a boy, with glowing skin, bright eyes, and two roses for lips . . . but any kid will do. When they find themselves gifted with a baby goat (also known as a kid) instead, they can't imagine how he'll fit into their lives. But of course, it isn't long before he's part of the royal family. Readers will delight in this story's hilarity, confusion, and celebration of families that come in every shape and size. "A fresh, amusing, kindhearted picture book."-- Booklist , Starred review "With its gentle morals of acceptance, not judging by appearances, and being open to outcomes different than expectations, this is a lovely family read-aloud."-- Kirkus "The contrast between the royal couple's once-ordered existence and the cheerful mess at book's end is very funny, and the message about acceptance and the expanded definition of family is a bonus."-- Horn Book
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781524773755
9781524773748
Reading Level:
LG
Level 2.6, 0.5 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 09b915dd-86df-6998-06b8-076de403c8ad
Grouping Title once upon a goat
Grouping Author richards dan
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2020-02-28 10:35:32AM
Last Indexed 2020-02-28 10:36:55AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level LG
accelerated_reader_point_value 0.5
accelerated_reader_reading_level 2.6
auth_author2 Barclay, Eric,
author Richards, Dan, 1966-
author2-role Barclay, Eric,illustrator.
author_display Richards, Dan
collection_catalog Easy
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Easy
Edmondson Pike - Kids Easy
Green Hills - Kids Easy
Hermitage - Kids Easy
display_description When a proper king and queen ask their fairy godmother for a child, they find themselves gifted instead with a baby goat.
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id 09b915dd-86df-6998-06b8-076de403c8ad
isbn 9781524773748
9781524773755
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00381841 Inglewood Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 20455
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00396914 Hull-Jackson Montessori - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 1Z451
ils:CARL0000815405 TT00017282 Glenview Elementary - Everyone E Ric 1 false false On Shelf 1P345
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00396590 Glenview Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 1P345
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00382990 McGavock Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false Checked Out 2A530
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00381238 Amqui Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false Checked Out 10105
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051636946 Hermitage - Kids Easy E Richard 1 false false Checked Out HM
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00387039 Lawrence Carter Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false In Processing 17185
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051636938 Green Hills - Kids Easy E Richard 1 false false On Hold Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000815405 TT00017403 Granbery Elementary - Everyone E Ric 1 false false In Processing 1S370
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00396703 Harpeth Valley Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 1V395
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00383554 Sylvan Park Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2S715
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00387238 Haywood Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false In Processing 1W405
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00382333 Thomas A. Edison Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2D575
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00389161 Paragon Mills Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false In Processing 2I618
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00383110 Dan Mills Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2C560
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00389361 Harris Hillman - Teen Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 65397
ils:CARL0000815405 MK10248264 Cole Elementary - Everyone E Ric 1 false false In Processing 1B225
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00383676 Tusculum Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2U725
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00382716 Tom Joy Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false In Processing 24495
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00381445 Chadwell Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 18200
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051667842 Edmondson Pike - Kids Easy E Richard 1 false false Checked Out EP
ils:CARL0000815405 TT00019036 Paragon Mills Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2I618
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051636912 Bellevue - Kids Easy E Richard 1 false false On Hold Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00383952 Murrell @ Glenn - Teen Everyone E RIC 1 false false In Processing 75585
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051636920 Edmondson Pike - Kids Easy E Richard 1 false false Checked Out EP
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00382224 Dodson Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 1F252
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00385188 Julia Green Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 1U380
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00396997 Maxwell Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2B552
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00382460 Andrew Jackson Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 21460
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00397163 Percy Priest Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false In Processing 2L650
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00381644 Goodlettsville Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 1Q350
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00389305 Rosebank Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2M670
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00385282 Stratton Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2R710
ils:CARL0000815405 TT00018555 Cole Elementary - Everyone E Ric 1 false false Checked Out 1B225
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00383758 Una Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false Checked Out 2V735
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00381866 Moss Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false Checked Out 1J310
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00382085 Robert Churchwell Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2Z784
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00385384 Warner Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false Checked Out 2W755
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051667859 Green Hills - Kids Easy E Richard 1 false false Checked Out GH
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00387141 Glengarry Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 1N335
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00396444 Cockrill Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 1A215
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00383364 Park Avenue Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2J620
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00383506 Stanford Montessori Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2Q690
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00381504 Glendale Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 1M330
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00383879 Whitsitt Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 30790
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00382842 A. Z. Kelley Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 25496
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00383274 Old Center Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2H610
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00381321 Ida B. Wells Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 15175
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00397288 Westmeade Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2Y775
ils:CARL0000815405 FF00198611 Tusculum Elementary - Everyone E Ric 1 false false On Shelf 2U725
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00382619 Jones Paideia Magnet Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false In Processing 23485
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00385100 Eakin Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 1H280
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00396235 Bellshire Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 12135
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00383192 Napier Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 2F590
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051667867 Hermitage - Kids Easy E Richard 1 false false Checked Out HM
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051667834 Bellevue - Kids Easy E Richard 1 false false Checked Out BL
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00381743 Alex Green Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false In Processing 1T375
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00381970 Buena Vista Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 14165
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00382963 Robert E Lillard Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false On Shelf 26500
ils:CARL0000815405 QQ00381079 Charlotte Park Elementary - Everyone E RIC 1 false false Checked Out 19205
itype_catalog Book
last_indexed 2020-02-28T16:36:55.147Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog E Richard
local_time_since_added_catalog Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
primary_isbn 9781524773755
publishDate 2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000815405 Book Books First edition. English Alfred A. Knopf, [2019] 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 29 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051636946 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051636938 Checked Out On Hold Shelf false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051667842 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051636912 Checked Out On Hold Shelf false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051636920 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051667859 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051667867 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000815405 35192051667834 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
subject_facet Family life -- Fiction
Family life -- Juvenile fiction
Goats -- Fiction
Goats -- Juvenile fiction
Humorous stories
Kings, queens, rulers, etc. -- Fiction
Kings, queens, rulers, etc. -- Juvenile fiction
Picture books
title_display Once upon a goat
title_full Once upon a goat / Dan Richards ; pictures by Eric Barclay
title_short Once upon a goat
topic_facet Family life
Goats
Humorous stories
Kings, queens, rulers, etc