All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

Every day is for the thief: fiction

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY DWIGHT GARNER, THE NEW YORK TIMES * NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY San Francisco Chronicle | NPR | The Root | The Telegraph | The Globe and Mail NATIONAL BESTSELLER * FINALIST, PHILLIS WHEATLEY BOOK AWARD * TEJU COLE WAS NAMED ONE OF THE MOST INFLUENTIAL AFRICANS OF THE YEAR BY NEW AFRICAN MAGAZINE For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Michael Ondaatje, Every Day Is for the Thief is a wholly original work of fiction by Teju Cole, whose critically acclaimed debut, Open City, was the winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was named one of the best books of the year by more than twenty publications. Fifteen years is a long time to be away from home. It feels longer still because I left under a cloud. A young Nigerian living in New York City goes home to Lagos for a short visit, finding a city both familiar and strange. In a city dense with story, the unnamed narrator moves through a mosaic of life, hoping to find inspiration for his own. He witnesses the "yahoo yahoo" diligently perpetrating email frauds from an Internet caf#65533;, longs after a mysterious woman reading on a public bus who disembarks and disappears into a bookless crowd, and recalls the tragic fate of an eleven-year-old boy accused of stealing at a local market. Along the way, the man reconnects with old friends, a former girlfriend, and extended family, taps into the energies of Lagos life--creative, malevolent, ambiguous--and slowly begins to reconcile the profound changes that have taken place in his country and the truth about himself. In spare, precise prose that sees humanity everywhere, interwoven with original photos by the author, Every Day Is for the Thief --originally published in Nigeria in 2007--is a wholly original work of fiction. This revised and updated edition is the first version of this unique book to be made available outside Africa. You've never read a book like Every Day Is for the Thief because no one writes like Teju Cole. Praise for Every Day Is for the Thief "A luminous rumination on storytelling and place, exile and return . . . extraordinary." -- San Francisco Chronicle "Cole is following in a long tradition of writerly walkers who, in the tradition of Baudelaire, make their way through urban spaces on foot and take their time doing so. Like Alfred Kazin, Joseph Mitchell, J. M. Coetzee, and W. G. Sebald (with whom he is often compared), Cole adds to the literature in his own zeitgeisty fashion." --The Boston Globe "Crisp, affecting . . . Cole constructs a narrative of fragments, a series of episodes that he allows to resonate." -- The New York Times Book Review "Hugely rewarding . . . both a celebration of one of the world's most vibrant cities and a lament over what can be one of the most frustrating and difficult places to live. It is also a story of family breakup and an uneasy homecoming--the narrator has been away for fifteen years and must relearn how to navigate a place that was once home." --NPR "[ Every Day Is for the Thief has] a restraint that allows [Cole] to slip in these exquisitely rendered observations on life, love, art that leave you feeling richer and more attuned to your own reality once you've finished reading." --Dinaw Mengestu, The Atlantic
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812985856
9780812995794
9780812995787
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 0d483713-fffe-ff7c-6fcf-21948a281409
Full title every day is for the thief fiction
Author cole teju
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-23 23:09:43PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-23 23:55:07PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Teju Cole
author_display Cole, Teju
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description "For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Michael Ondaatje, Every Day Is for the Thief is a wholly original work of fiction by Teju Cole, whose critically acclaimed debut, Open City, was the winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was named one of the best books of the year by more than twenty publications. Fifteen years is a long time to be away from home. It feels longer still because I left under a cloud. A young Nigerian living in New York City goes home to Lagos for a short visit, finding a city both familiar and strange. In a city dense with story, the unnamed narrator moves through a mosaic of life, hoping to find inspiration for his own. He witnesses the 'yahoo yahoo' diligently perpetrating email frauds from an Internet cafe, longs after a mysterious woman reading on a public bus who disembarks and disappears into a bookless crowd, and recalls the tragic fate of an eleven-year-old boy accused of stealing at a local market. Along the way, the man reconnects with old friends, a former girlfriend, and extended family, taps into the energies of Lagos life--creative, malevolent, ambiguous--and slowly begins to reconcile the profound changes that have taken place in his country and the truth about himself. In spare, precise prose that sees humanity everywhere, interwoven with original photos by the author, Every Day Is for the Thief--originally published in Nigeria in 2007--is a wholly original work of fiction. This revised and updated edition is the first version of this unique book to be made available outside Africa. You've never read a book like Every Day Is for the Thief because no one writes like Teju Cole. NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Chicago Tribune Marie Claire CNN The Huffington Post New York The Millions Time Out Chicago "Every Day Is for the Thief, by turns funny, mournful, and acerbic, offers a portrait of Nigeria in which anger, perhaps the most natural response to the often lamentable state of affairs there, is somehow muted and deflected by the author's deep engagement with the country: a profoundly disenchanted love. Teju Cole is among the most gifted writers of his generation."--Salman Rushdie "Every Day Is for the Thief is a vivid, episodic evocation of the truism that you can't go home again; but that doesn't mean you're not free to try. A return to his native Nigeria plunges Cole's charming narrator into a tempest of chaos, contradiction, and kinship in a place both endearingly familiar and unnervingly strange. The result is a tale that engages and disturbs."--Billy Collins "Every Day Is for the Thief is an amazing hybrid of a book. Imaginative, original, experimental, and sensual, this book revisits the way narrative is constructed with tenderness and style."--Chris Abani, author of Graceland "[Teju Cole] casts a spell that's hard to classify. Open City earned its author comparisons to the German writer W. G. Sebald, whose work wanders and ruminates in a similar way. Every Day Is for the Thief includes photos that Mr. Cole took in Lagos, a Sebaldian touch that is likely to keep the comparisons coming."--The New York Times"--
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 0d483713-fffe-ff7c-6fcf-21948a281409
isbn 9780812985856, 9780812995787, 9780812995794
item_details ils:CARL0000428224|35192045664335|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Cole|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000708872|QQ00291869|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F Col|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, overdrive:86ec462a-363c-49e0-8a67-e87fbf1439eb|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-24T04:55:07.26Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Cole
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780812985856
publishDate 2014, 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000428224|Book|Books|First U.S. edition.|English|Random House,|[2014]|162 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000708872|Book|Books|Random House Trade paperback edition.|English|Random House,|2015.|162 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm, overdrive:86ec462a-363c-49e0-8a67-e87fbf1439eb|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000428224|35192045664335|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:86ec462a-363c-49e0-8a67-e87fbf1439eb|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Homecoming -- Nigeria -- Lagos -- Fiction, Identity (Psychology) -- Fiction, Life change events -- Fiction, New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction, Nigeria -- Fiction, Nigerians -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction, Reunions -- Nigeria -- Lagos -- Fiction
title_display Every day is for the thief : fiction
title_full Every Day Is for the Thief Fiction, Every day is for the thief : fiction / Teju Cole ; with photos by the author
title_short Every day is for the thief :
title_sub fiction
topic_facet African American Fiction, Fiction, Homecoming, Identity (Psychology), Life change events, Literature, Nigerians, Reunions