The green bicycle

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the vein of Year of the Dog and The Higher Power of Lucky , this Middle Eastern coming-of-age story is told with warmth, spirit, and a mischievous sense of humor Spunky eleven-year-old Wadjda lives in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia with her parents. She desperately wants a bicycle so that she can race her friend Abdullah, even though it is considered improper for girls to ride bikes. Wadjda earns money for her dream bike by selling homemade bracelets and mixtapes of banned music to her classmates. But after she's caught, she's forced to turn over a new leaf (sort of), or risk expulsion from school. Still, Wadjda keeps scheming, and with the bicycle so closely in her sights, she will stop at nothing to get what she wants. Set against the shifting social attitudes of the Middle East, The Green Bicycle explores gender roles, conformity, and the importance of family, all with wit and irresistible heart.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525428060
9780147526182
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.6, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
790L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 0fe1d799-b2f7-a3e5-94ee-f6c017f88c89
Grouping Title green bicycle
Grouping Author al mansour haifaa
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-22 23:50:37PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-23 00:58:09AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 11
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.6
author Haifaa al Mansour
author_display Al-Mansour, Haifaa
available_at_catalog Richland Park, Southeast, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Kids Fiction, Richland Park - Kids Fiction, Southeast - Kids Fiction, Thompson Lane - Kids Fiction
display_description "Since girls do not ride bikes in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, eleven year old Wadjda has to scheme to get her own"--
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 0fe1d799-b2f7-a3e5-94ee-f6c017f88c89
isbn 9780147526182, 9780525428060
item_details ils:CARL0000469799|35192047929546|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Al-Mans|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000469799|35192047929553|Richland Park - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Al-Mans|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000469799|35192047929561|Southeast - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Al-Mans|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000469799|35192047929579|Thompson Lane - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Al-Mans|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000469799|A01943504|Una Elementary - Kids Fiction|F AL-M|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2V735||, ils:CARL0000469799|A02106044|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F MAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000469799|A02114479|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F MAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134434|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F MAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134435|McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4K540||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134436|Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4T675||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134437|West End Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4V770||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134438|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134439|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||4S612||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134441|Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4M551||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134442|Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||65397||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134443|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|REAL F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134444|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134445|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||45238||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134446|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|REAL F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4O563||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134447|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134448|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134449|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134450|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4H498||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134451|Haynes Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4D400||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134452|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134453|Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||43120||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134454|Joelton Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4G470||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134455|McKissack Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4J535||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134456|Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Fiction|F AIM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||40100||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134457|John Early Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||49285||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134458|East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4A296||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134459|Gra-Mar Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4C365||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134460|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134462|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||46260||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134463|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134464|Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||47270||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134465|Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4B355||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134466|Apollo Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4P577||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134467|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000469799|MK10134468|Antioch Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||41111||, ils:CARL0000469799|TT0010435|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F ALM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, overdrive:8b089a43-3fa9-4d4e-b949-4c484b5a812b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-23T05:58:09.824Z
lexile_score 790
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Al-Mans
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780525428060
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000469799|Book|Books||English|Dial Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC,|[2015]|346 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:8b089a43-3fa9-4d4e-b949-4c484b5a812b|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8b089a43-3fa9-4d4e-b949-4c484b5a812b -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000469799 35192047929553 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000469799 35192047929561 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000469799 35192047929546 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000469799 35192047929579 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Bicycles and bicycling -- Juvenile fiction, Saudi Arabia -- Juvenile fiction, Sex role -- Juvenile fiction
title_display The green bicycle
title_full The Green Bicycle, The green bicycle / Haifaa Al Mansour
title_short The green bicycle
title_sub
topic_facet Bicycles and bicycling, Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature, Sex role