All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

Princess Juniper of the Hourglass

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Philomel Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA),
Pub. Date:
[2015]
Language:
English
Description
In this royal adventure, Princess Juniper learns what it means to rule a kingdom-at least for the summer. For her thirteenth nameday all Princess Juniper wants is a country of her own. So when rumblings of unrest start in his kingdom, Juniper's father decides to grant his daughter's wish and sends her to a small, idyllic corner of the Hourglass Mountains until trouble blows over. Once there, Juniper discovers that ruling a small country-even just for the summer-is a bit harder than she'd expected, especially when cousin Cyril challenges her rule. Still, the most difficult part is to come. Juniper and her friends discover that her father's kingdom is at war. The only way to stay safe is to remain in the Hourglass Mountains much longer than planned. Juniper may have her own country after all . . . but what will that mean for the kingdom of Torr? This book is perfect for fans of Frozen and Brave , who like their princess strong and smart as well as sparkly. Praise for Princess Juniper of the Hourglass : "I absolutely loved Princess Juniper of the Hourglass ! It's fantastically delightful, delicious, and satisfying. You'll want to follow Juniper to her kingdom -- or even better, start your own!"--Sarah Beth Durst, author of Enchanted Ivy and Ice "I adored Princess Juniper! Readers will cheer as she leads and defends her hidden kingdom in this deliciously charming fantasy."--Julie Berry, author of Secondhand Charm and The Amaranth Enchantment "Princess Juniper proves that you can love your silk dresses and still be a hero. This is a smart, feisty kid with a thirst for experiences, and I loved watching her learn to lead. A fun and insightful coming-of-age tale."--Ellen Booraem, author of Small Persons with Wings "A gently adventurous and luxuriously detailed romp."-- Kirkus Reviews "With elements from William Golding's The Lord of the Flies and Paul Fleischman's Weslandia , this story can be enjoyed by those who love princess stories and adventure tales....A rollicking tale that will please a wide range of readers."-- School Library Journal "This...dramatic and humorous novel...involves some entertaining twists and paves the way for more lighthearted intrigue ahead."-- Publishers Weekly "Paquette takes young readers gently by the hand into the adult world of responsibility, danger, and the unknown. The fully developed cast of characters is engaging, and readers will cheer the conclusion and happily await Juniper's further adventures."-- Booklist Ammi-Joan Paquette Awards and Reviews: Ghost in the House A Huffington Post "Best Halloween Books of 2013," School Library Journal "Great Books for Halloween" pick; and Canadian Children's Book Centre "Best Books for Kids & Teens" 2014 pick Petey & Pru and the Hullabaloo Starred review, Kirkus The Tiptoe Guide to Tracking Fairies A "Best Books for Children 2009" choice by the Association of Booksellers for Children Featured in Scholastic: Parent & Child magazine's "Fun Finds"
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399171512
Reading Level:
MG
Level 6, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
850L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 11174e2f-540d-8011-63e8-56b90435686a
Full title princess juniper of the hourglass
Author paquette ammi joan
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-22 23:05:13PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-26 00:12:36AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 11
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6
author Paquette, Ammi-Joan,
author_display Paquette, Ammi-Joan
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Richland Park
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction, Green Hills - Kids Fiction, Richland Park - Kids Fiction
display_description Tired of all the rules of comportment at court, Princess Juniper asks for, and receives, a very small country of her own for her thirteenth name-day, one she can set up and rule with less formality and more simple friendship--but there is trouble at home and she has to find a way to thwart her distant cousin's ambitions.
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id 11174e2f-540d-8011-63e8-56b90435686a
isbn 9780399171512
item_details ils:CARL0000467564|35192047784404|Bellevue - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Paquett|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000467564|35192047784412|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Paquett|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EP||, ils:CARL0000467564|35192047784420|Green Hills - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Paquett|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000467564|35192047784438|Richland Park - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Paquett|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00751063|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00751165|Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4T675||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00751267|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00751404|West End Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4V770||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00751506|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00751605|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00752217|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00752318|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00752413|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4H498||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00752507|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00752601|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|FAN F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4O563||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00752816|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00753053|Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4B355||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00753350|McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4K540||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00753457|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00753996|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00754108|Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4M551||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00754221|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00754557|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00754670|Haynes Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4D400||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00755287|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||45238||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00756682|Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||40100||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00756776|Gra-Mar Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4C365||, ils:CARL0000467564|B00757211|Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAQ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||43120||
itype_catalog Book
last_indexed 2018-05-26T05:12:36.239Z
lexile_score 850
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Paquett
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Richland Park
primary_isbn 9780399171512
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000467564|Book|Books||English|Philomel Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA),|[2015]|275 pages : illustrations, maps ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000467564|35192047784404|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000467564|35192047784412|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000467564|35192047784420|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000467564|35192047784438|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||
series Princess Juniper
series_with_volume Princess Juniper|1
subject_facet Conspiracies -- Juvenile fiction, Cousins -- Juvenile fiction, Friendship -- Juvenile fiction, Kings and rulers -- Juvenile fiction, Princesses -- Juvenile fiction
title_display Princess Juniper of the Hourglass
title_full Princess Juniper of the Hourglass / Ammi-Joan Paquette
title_short Princess Juniper of the Hourglass
topic_facet Conspiracies, Cousins, Friendship, Kings and rulers, Princesses