Donelson Branch Library is closed Nov 5-10 for HVAC system maintenance.

All library locations are closed Sunday, Nov 11 and Monday, Nov 12 in observance of Veterans Day.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

The long way home

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
" The Long Way Home is Robin Pilcher at his best. I devoured every word of this masterful storyteller."--Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author In the vein of Maeve Binchy, Rosamunde Pilcher, and Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author Robin Pilcher returns with his most enchanting novel yet, filled with captivating twists and turns of heart. When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, she's more than a little shaken. Leo is her last real relative, and his own children rarely check up on the old man. Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer. Their visit makes clear that Leo is no longer capable of living on his own, but he is determined to stay in his beloved old house. Art comes up with the idea of turning the place into a conference center, thinking they could purchase the place from Leo and build him a cottage on the property. But the situation is much more complicated than it seems. Claire's old flame, Jonas Fairwether, has become Leo's caretaker and trusted confidant. Though Claire distrusts Jonas's motives, Leo chooses to take his advice to put the house up for public auction rather than sell directly to Art and Claire. Claire is immediately suspicious, and even more so when she finds out that another application has been submitted to develop the property. Does Jonas Fairwether want to knockdown the Leo's house and build a development? It looks like whoever is behind the plan is being driven by financial gain, but there may be an even stronger motive. The Long Way Home will keep readers on the edge of their seats. This is a masterful novel from a master storyteller.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780312354350
160285811
9781427219206
9781429928892
9781427209634
9781602858114
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 122599e4-254f-60d9-72be-178b58909eeb
Grouping Title long way home
Grouping Author pilcher robin
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-11 22:54:21PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-11 23:39:39PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Reading, Kate.
author Pilcher, Robin.
author2-role Macmillan Audio (Firm)., Reading, Kate., Recorded Books, LLC.
author_display Pilcher, Robin
available_at_catalog Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction, Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Goodlettsville - Adult Large Print, Green Hills - Adult Audiobook, Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Fiction
display_description When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer. When their visit makes clear that Leo is no longer capable of living on his own but determined to stay in his beloved old house, they offer to purchase the place from Leo and build him a cottage on the property. But Claire's old flame Jonas Fairwether (who has become Leo's caretaker and trusted confidant) has other plans.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, Large Print, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 122599e4-254f-60d9-72be-178b58909eeb
isbn 160285811, 9780312354350, 9781427209634, 9781427219206, 9781429928892, 9781602858114
item_details ils:CARL0000348498|35192039956309|Green Hills - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Pilcher|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000349628|35192039821230|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Pilcher|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000349628|35192039821255|Hermitage - Adult Fiction|Fiction Pilcher|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000360533|35192040696282|Goodlettsville - Adult Large Print|Fiction Pilcher Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, overdrive:91a17dda-cd97-4b73-8dd3-6768ca942682|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:e9fec0f0-d6aa-4e13-930a-8956c2b6f335|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book, Large Print Book
last_indexed 2018-11-12T05:39:39.714Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Pilcher, Fiction Pilcher, Fiction Pilcher Large Type
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids
primary_isbn 9780312354350
publishDate 2010
record_details ils:CARL0000348498|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Macmillan Audio ;|p2010.|7 sound discs (9 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000349628|Book|Books|1st U.S. ed.|English|Thomas Dunne Books,|2010.|294 p. ; 25 cm., ils:CARL0000360533|Large Print|Books||English|Center Point Pub.,|2010.|383 p. (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:91a17dda-cd97-4b73-8dd3-6768ca942682|eBook|eBook||English|St. Martin's Press|2010|, overdrive:e9fec0f0-d6aa-4e13-930a-8956c2b6f335|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Macmillan Audio|2010|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000349628 35192039821230 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000349628 35192039821255 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:e9fec0f0-d6aa-4e13-930a-8956c2b6f335 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000360533 35192040696282 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000348498 35192039956309 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:91a17dda-cd97-4b73-8dd3-6768ca942682 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Audiobooks, Cerebrovascular disease -- Patients -- Fiction, Fathers and daughters -- Fiction, House selling -- Fiction, Large type books, Scotland -- Fiction, Stepfathers -- Fiction
title_display The long way home
title_full The Long Way Home, The Long Way Home A Novel, The long way home / Robin Pilcher, The long way home [sound recording] / Robin Pilcher, The long way home [text (large print)] / Robin Pilcher
title_short The long way home
title_sub
topic_facet Audiobooks, Cerebrovascular disease, Fathers and daughters, Fiction, House selling, Large type books, Literature, Patients, Stepfathers