All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

Crazy is a compliment: the power of zigging when everyone else zags

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014.
Language:
English
Description
"If people aren't calling you crazy, you aren't thinking big enough." These days taking chances isn't just for college dropouts in hoodies. Whether you work at a Fortune 500 company, a nonprofit, or a mom-and-pop, everybody needs to think and act like an entrepreneur. We all need to be nimble, adaptive, daring--and maybe even a little crazy--or risk being left behind. But how do you take smart risks without risking it all? That's Linda Rottenberg's expertise. As the cofounder and CEO of Endeavor, the world's leading organization dedicated to supporting fast-growing entrepreneurs, she's spent the last two decades helping innovators think bold and execute smart. Now Rottenberg draws on her unrivaled experience to show you the proven techniques to achieve your dreams: from overcoming fear to facing down critics, from stalking supporters to exploiting chaos. Crazy Is a Compliment combines inspiring stories, original research, and practical advice to create a road map for getting started and going bigger. Rottenberg brings to life iconic entrepreneurs like Walt Disney and Est#65533;e Lauder and reveals how companies like MTV, GE, and Burberry found their best successes by breaking the corporate mold and embracing the entrepreneur mind-set. She also introduces us to some of the one thousand entrepreneurs she's advised, like Leila Velez, who started a hair-care company in her kitchen sink in Rio that now earns $80 million a year. As Linda writes: Every day I meet people with a dream. Maybe you're serving coffee and fantasizing about launching a microbrewery; maybe you've skipped college and yearn to start your own design firm; maybe you're sitting in your cubicle and brainstorming a new idea that can improve your company. You have a dream, but you don't know how to turn your dream into reality. Or you've already launched your dream but you're unsure how to take it to the next level. This book can show you the way.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781591846642
9780553546064
9781101633625
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 12ef5191-e95b-c9d9-fb2d-3d8d0739236b
Full title crazy is a compliment the power of zigging when everyone else zags
Author rottenberg linda
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-25 23:21:42PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-26 00:07:14AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Rottenberg, Linda,
author_display Rottenberg, Linda
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Inglewood - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description "In the tradition of both The Lean Startup and Lean In, a manifesto about taking smart risks in pursuit of big dreams Linda Rottenberg has spent her career helping innovators think big. "If people aren't calling you crazy, you aren't thinking big enough," she says. These days taking chances isn't just for young college dropouts in hoodies. Whether you work at a Fortune 500 company, a non-profit, or a mom-andpop store, everybody needs to think and act like a changemaker. We all need to be nimble, adaptive, daring, and maybe even a little crazy, or risk being left behind. But how do you take smart risks and still achieve big success? That's Rottenberg's expertise as the CEO and cofounder of Endeavor, the world's leading organization devoted to identifying, mentoring, and investing in fast-growing businesses. Since 1997, Endeavor has screened 40,000 candidates and handpicked 1,000 entrepreneurs in 20 countries -then helped them take the crucial steps to grow their organizations and transform their communities. In 2012, Endeavor entrepreneurs generated $6 billion in revenues and provided 225,000 jobs. Now Rottenberg draws on her unique experience to show how we can all take manageable steps to achieve our dreams. Crazy Is a Compliment offers a blend of inspiring stories and practical tools for getting started, going bigger, and integrating work and family. As she writes, "Since everybody has to take risks these days, we all need to be able to derisk risk." Written with wisdom, wit, and passion, Crazy is a Compliment is a rallying cry for a new approach to business and a blueprint for personal change. The good news is that anybody can initiate those changes. "There are no admission criteria. There is no wardrobe requirement. There is no secret vote. Entrepreneurship is for everyone.""--
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 12ef5191-e95b-c9d9-fb2d-3d8d0739236b
isbn 9780553546064, 9781101633625, 9781591846642
item_details ils:CARL0000444028|35192046514422|Inglewood - Adult Non-Fiction|650.1 R851c|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||IN||, overdrive:4868b71c-3ed2-4220-b2d0-fc0df812fa6e|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||, overdrive:b233990a-69b0-4393-9809-d3b35680c91a|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-26T05:07:14.786Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 650.1 R851c
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Inglewood
primary_isbn 9781591846642
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000444028|Book|Books||English|Portfolio Hardcover,|2014.|263 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm., overdrive:4868b71c-3ed2-4220-b2d0-fc0df812fa6e|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group|2014|, overdrive:b233990a-69b0-4393-9809-d3b35680c91a|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000444028|35192046514422|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:4868b71c-3ed2-4220-b2d0-fc0df812fa6e|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:b233990a-69b0-4393-9809-d3b35680c91a|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Career development, Entrepreneurship, Success in business
title_display Crazy is a compliment : the power of zigging when everyone else zags
title_full Crazy Is a Compliment The Power of Zigging When Everyone Else Zags, Crazy is a compliment : the power of zigging when everyone else zags / Linda Rottenberg
title_short Crazy is a compliment :
title_sub the power of zigging when everyone else zags
topic_facet Business, Career development, Careers, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Nonfiction, Success in business