Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed Thursday, Nov 22 and Friday, Nov 23 for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

Mercy Street: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart crafts compelling stories of romantic suspense, full of richly imagined characters, dazzling plot twists, and breathless action that keeps the pages turning. Now Stewart begins a thrilling new series-with a novel that proves to be her biggest and boldest yet. On a balmy spring evening, four high school seniors-three boys and a girl-enter a park in the small Pennsylvania city of Conroy. The next morning, two of the boys are found shot to death, and the girl and the third boy are gone. After three weeks with no leads and no sign of either of the two missing teenagers, the chief of police begins to wonder if they too were victims. But with no other suspects, the authorities conclude that one of these kids was the shooter. The missing boy's grandmother, a secretary at the local parish church, maintains his innocence. On her behalf, the parish priest, Father Kevin Burch, hires former detective Mallory Russo as a private investigator to figure out what happened in the park that night. Mallory had ended her nine-year stint with the Conroy police force some time ago after becoming a target of a smear campaign. Now a true-crime author, Mallory is surprised to receive the priest's offer-and highly intrigued by the case. She can't help but accept the challenge-especially when she learns that her investigation will be financed by Father Burch's cousin the reclusive billionaire Robert Magellan, a man whose own wife and infant son disappeared without a trace a year ago, a man who understands the heartache of not knowing what happened to a loved one. Detective Charlie Wanamaker is facing another sort of tragedy. He fled Conroy years ago withno plans to return to what he considered a dying factory town-until a family emergency brought him back. Finding the situation much worse than he'd thought, he trades his job as a big-city detective for one with the Conroy police department. Assigned to the park shooting case, Charlie quickly realizes that the initial investigation left a lot of questions unanswered. Unofficially, he teams up with Mallory to uncover the truth and find the two kids, dead or alive. What Charlie and Mallory discover will take them down a twisted path that leads to an old unsolved murder-and justice for a killer with a heart of stone. Mercy Street is tautly paced, resonant with emotion, and relentlessly gripping. It showcases Mariah Stewart at her most brilliant, as she ratchets up the suspense to new levels of excitement. Praise for Mariah Stewart Mariah Stewart is one to watch and savor for a long time. -The Philadelphia Inquirer Stewart can always be counted on to write an exciting romantic suspense thriller. -TheBestReviews.com
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345492265
9780345507563
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 1494864f-7ed9-0ed9-c1e9-383cfaaa4d8a
Grouping Title mercy street
Grouping Author stewart mariah
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-17 04:05:39AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-17 04:10:37AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Stewart, Mariah.
author_display Stewart, Mariah
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a novel of sexy romantic suspense for fans of Nora Roberts, Catherine Coulter, and Karen Robards.
Mariah Stewart crafts compelling stories of romantic suspense, full of richly imagined characters, dazzling plot twists, and breathless action that keeps the pages turning. Now Stewart begins a thrilling new series–with a novel that proves to be her biggest and boldest yet.

On a balmy spring evening, four high school seniors–three boys and a girl–enter a park in the small Pennsylvania city of Conroy. The next morning, two of the boys are found shot to death, and the girl and the third boy are gone. After three weeks with no leads and no sign of either of the two missing teenagers, the chief of police begins to wonder if they too were victims. But with no other suspects, the authorities conclude that one of these kids was the shooter.

The missing boy's grandmother, a secretary at the local parish church, maintains his innocence. On her behalf, the parish priest, Father Kevin Burch, hires former detective Mallory Russo as a private investigator to figure out what happened in the park that night. Mallory had ended her nine-year stint with the Conroy police force some time ago after becoming a target of a smear campaign. Now a true-crime author, Mallory is surprised to receive the priest's offer–and highly intrigued by the case. She can't help but accept the challenge–especially when she learns that her investigation will be financed by Father Burch's cousin the reclusive billionaire Robert Magellan, a man whose own wife and infant son disappeared without a trace a year ago, a man who understands the heartache of not knowing what happened to a loved one.

Detective Charlie Wanamaker is facing another sort of tragedy. He fled Conroy years ago with no plans to return to what he considered a dying factory town–until a family emergency brought him back. Finding the situation much worse than he'd thought, he trades his job as a big-city detective for one with the Conroy police department. Assigned to the park shooting case, Charlie quickly realizes that the initial investigation left a lot of questions unanswered. Unofficially, he teams up with Mallory to uncover the truth and find the two kids, dead or alive. What Charlie and Mallory discover will take them down a twisted path that leads to an old unsolved murder–and justice for a killer with a heart of stone.

Mercy Street is tautly paced, resonant with emotion, and relentlessly gripping. It showcases Mariah Stewart at her most brilliant, as she ratchets up the suspense to new levels of excitement.
BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Mariah Stewart's Cry Mercy.

Praise for Mariah Stewart

"Mariah Stewart is one to watch and savor for a long time."–The Philadelphia Inquirer

"Stewart can always be counted on to write an exciting romantic suspense thriller."–TheBestReviews.com
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 1494864f-7ed9-0ed9-c1e9-383cfaaa4d8a
isbn 9780345492265, 9780345507563
item_details ils:CARL0000303995|35192037365925|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Stewart|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:ea03b679-130a-46d1-bef6-45023dda739b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-17T10:10:37.004Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Stewart
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780345492265
publishDate 2008
record_details ils:CARL0000303995|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Ballantine Books,|c2008.|x, 302 p. ; 25 cm., overdrive:ea03b679-130a-46d1-bef6-45023dda739b|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2008|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000303995 35192037365925 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:ea03b679-130a-46d1-bef6-45023dda739b -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Mercy Street Foundation novels
series_with_volume Mercy Street Foundation novels|1
subject_facet Businessmen -- Fiction, Loss (Psychology) -- Fiction, Missing persons -- Investigation -- Fiction, Rich people -- Fiction
title_display Mercy Street : a novel
title_full Mercy Street : a novel / Mariah Stewart, Mercy Street Mercy Street Series, Book 1
title_short Mercy Street :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Businessmen, Fiction, Investigation, Loss (Psychology), Missing persons, Rich people, Romance, Suspense, Thriller