Oryx and Crake: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(11)
4 star
 
(12)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(1)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin , winner of the Booker Prize Margaret Atwood's new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake , nothing will ever look the same again. The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief. With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. From the Hardcover edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780385721677
9780736693882
9780385503853
9781415945384
9781400078981
9780375432125
Reading Level:
UG
Level 6.2, 16 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 173b4715-04f7-a301-3195-07846f9ff6d9
Grouping Title oryx and crake
Grouping Author atwood margaret
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-21 22:44:42PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-21 23:52:29PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 16
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6.2
auth_author2 Scott, Campbell.
author Margaret Atwood
author2-role Scott, Campbell.|Narrator
author_display Atwood, Margaret
available_at_catalog Annex
Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Inglewood
Madison
Madison Kids
collection_catalog Audiobook
Fiction
Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Annex - Adult Large Print
Bellevue - Adult Fiction
Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction
Hermitage - Adult Fiction
Inglewood - Adult Fiction
Madison - Adult Audiobook
Madison - Adult Fiction
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Richland Park - Adult Fiction
Southeast - Adult Fiction
Thompson Lane - Adult Fiction
display_description From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Handmaid's Tale
Oryx and Crake
is at once an unforgettable love story and a compelling vision of the future. Snowman, known as Jimmy before mankind was overwhelmed by a plague, is struggling to survive in a world where he may be the last human, and mourning the loss of his best friend, Crake, and the beautiful and elusive Oryx whom they both loved. In search of answers, Snowman embarks on a journey–with the help of the green-eyed Children of Crake–through the lush wilderness that was so recently a great city, until powerful corporations took mankind on an uncontrolled genetic engineering ride. Margaret Atwood projects us into a near future that is both all too familiar and beyond our imagining.
format_catalog Book
CD audio book
Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id 173b4715-04f7-a301-3195-07846f9ff6d9
isbn 9780375432125
9780385503853
9780385721677
9780736693882
9781400078981
9781415945384
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:7a1b0716-7acd-4748-bdfb-9f99cacc79cd -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 3 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Checked Out
ils:CARL0000226412 35192041940721 Madison - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Atwood 1 false false On Shelf MA
ils:CARL0000204541 35192049920469 Bellevue - Adult Fiction Fiction Atwood 1 false false On Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000204541 35192051113276 Main Library - Adult Fiction Fiction Atwood 1 false false Checked Out MN
ils:CARL0000204541 QQ00223981 Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction F ATW 1 false false On Shelf 61182
ils:CARL0000204541 35192044586885 Madison - Adult Fiction Fiction Atwood 1 false false On Shelf MA
ils:CARL0000204541 QQ00365168 Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction F ATW 1 false false Checked Out 61182
ils:CARL0000204541 35192044586893 Inglewood - Adult Fiction Fiction Atwood 1 false false On Shelf IN
ils:CARL0000204541 35192049920477 Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction Fiction Atwood 1 false false On Shelf EP
ils:CARL0000204541 35192049920485 Hermitage - Adult Fiction Fiction Atwood 1 false false Checked Out HM
ils:CARL0000204541 35192030249233 Thompson Lane - Adult Fiction Fiction Atwood 1 false false Checked Out TL
ils:CARL0000204541 35192030215309 Richland Park - Adult Fiction Fiction Atwood 1 false false Checked Out RP
ils:CARL0000204541 35192044586869 Southeast - Adult Fiction Fiction Atwood 1 false false Checked Out SE
ils:CARL0000206463 35192034132419 Annex - Adult Large Print Fiction Atwood Large Type 1 false false On Shelf AX
overdrive:7d150241-9073-4527-bee2-cd60ad43b8af -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 3 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Checked Out
itype_catalog
Book
CD audio book
Large Print Book
last_indexed 2019-10-22T04:52:29.947Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Atwood
Fiction Atwood
Fiction Atwood Large Type
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Annex
Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Inglewood
Madison
Madison Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
Richland Park
Southeast
Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780385721677
publishDate 2002
2003
2004
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:7a1b0716-7acd-4748-bdfb-9f99cacc79cd eBook eBook English Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2004
ils:CARL0000226412 CD audio book Audio Books Library ed. English Books on Tape, p2003. 9 sound discs (ca. 10.5 hours) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ils:CARL0000204541 Book Books 1st ed in the U.S.A. English Nan A. Talese/Doubleday, 2003. 376 p. ; 25 cm.
ils:CARL0000206463 Large Print Books 1st large print ed. English Random House Large Print, c2002. 571 p. (large print) ; 25 cm.
overdrive:7d150241-9073-4527-bee2-cd60ad43b8af eAudiobook Audio Books English Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2003
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:7a1b0716-7acd-4748-bdfb-9f99cacc79cd -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000226412 35192041940721 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000204541 35192049920469 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000204541 35192051113276 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000204541 35192044586885 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000204541 35192044586893 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000204541 35192049920477 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000204541 35192049920485 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000204541 35192030249233 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000204541 35192030215309 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000204541 35192044586869 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000206463 35192034132419 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:7d150241-9073-4527-bee2-cd60ad43b8af -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
series MaddAddam trilogy
series_with_volume MaddAddam trilogy|1
subject_facet Audiobooks
Genetic engineering -- Fiction
Large type books
Love stories, American
Love stories, Canadian
Male friendship -- Fiction
New York (State) -- Fiction
Science fiction, American
Science fiction, Canadian
Triangles (Interpersonal relations) -- Fiction
title_display Oryx and Crake : a novel
title_full Oryx and Crake : a novel / Margaret Atwood
Oryx and Crake MaddAddam Trilogy, Book 1
Oryx and Crake [sound recording] / Margaret Atwood
Oryx and Crake [text (large print)] : a novel / Margaret Atwood
title_short Oryx and Crake :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Audiobooks
Fantasy
Fiction
Genetic engineering
Large type books
Literature
Love stories, American
Love stories, Canadian
Male friendship
Science Fiction
Science fiction, American
Science fiction, Canadian
Triangles (Interpersonal relations)