Hadley Park Branch Library is closed Saturday, October 19.

The lighthouse land: Lighthouse Trilogy, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The first in a new epic sci-fi series, perfect for fans of Orson Scott Card's Ender books or Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials Introducing the first young adult novel from crime fiction writer Adrian McKinty, whose adult books have been called unputdownable (Washington Post), exceptional (San Francisco Chronicle), and profoundly satisfying (Booklist). When Jamie's mother inherits a small island, and moves her little family from Harlem to Ireland, her troubled son sees a chance to start over, far away from the bullies and the pitying stares. Cancer has left Jamie without an arm or the will to speak. But Muck Island offers more than solitude and sea views. Jamie learns that he is heir to an ancient title, Laird of Muck, Guardian of the Passage, and certain otherworldly responsibilities. With the help of a mysterious object he discovers in the island's old lighthouse, Jamie sets out on a dangerous mission that will change the course of his life, and possibly the universe, forever. Tautly paced and brilliantly imagined, this novel will thrill sci-fi fans eager for new heroes and new worlds to explore.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780810954809
081095480
9781481587518
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 5.5, 14 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 18fb8b29-94e7-07eb-be2c-421fa295066c
Grouping Title lighthouse land
Grouping Author mckinty adrian
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-16 22:54:53PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-15 23:40:11PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 14
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.5
author McKinty, Adrian.
author_display McKinty, Adrian
available_at_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Goodlettsville
Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Fiction
Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction
Southeast - Kids Fiction
display_description Thirteen-year-old Jamie is overjoyed when a bequest sends him and his mother to live on an Irish island, where he and his newfound friend Ramsay travel back in time to help a young girl save her people from certain death.
format_catalog Book
eAudiobook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id 18fb8b29-94e7-07eb-be2c-421fa295066c
isbn 081095480
9780810954809
9781481587518
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:08648920-fe74-4685-9e44-263e806a2502 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
ils:CARL0000281766 35192035579824 Bellevue - Kids Fiction JUV Fiction McKinty 1 false false On Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000281766 35192035579832 Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction JUV Fiction McKinty 1 false false On Shelf GO
ils:CARL0000281766 35192035579907 Southeast - Kids Fiction JUV Fiction McKinty 1 false false On Shelf SE
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-10-16T04:40:11.444Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction McKinty
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Goodlettsville
Southeast
primary_isbn 9780810954809
publishDate 2006
2010
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:08648920-fe74-4685-9e44-263e806a2502 eAudiobook Audio Books English Blackstone Publishing 2010
ils:CARL0000281766 Book Books English Amulet Books, 2006. 387 p. : map ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:08648920-fe74-4685-9e44-263e806a2502 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000281766 35192035579824 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000281766 35192035579832 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000281766 35192035579907 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Lighthouse trilogy
series_with_volume Lighthouse trilogy|1
subject_facet Harlem (New York, N.Y.) -- Juvenile fiction
Ireland -- Juvenile fiction
Magic -- Juvenile fiction
Science fiction, Juvenile
Time travel -- Juvenile fiction
title_display The lighthouse land
title_full The Lighthouse Land Lighthouse Trilogy, Book 1
The lighthouse land / Adrian McKinty
title_short The lighthouse land
title_sub Lighthouse Trilogy, Book 1
topic_facet Magic
Science Fiction
Science fiction, Juvenile
Time travel
Young Adult Fiction