Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

The lighthouse land: The Lighthouse Trilogy, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The first in a new epic sci-fi series, perfect for fans of Orson Scott Card's Ender books or Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials Introducing the first young adult novel from crime fiction writer Adrian McKinty, whose adult books have been called unputdownable (Washington Post), exceptional (San Francisco Chronicle), and profoundly satisfying (Booklist). When Jamie's mother inherits a small island, and moves her little family from Harlem to Ireland, her troubled son sees a chance to start over, far away from the bullies and the pitying stares. Cancer has left Jamie without an arm or the will to speak. But Muck Island offers more than solitude and sea views. Jamie learns that he is heir to an ancient title, Laird of Muck, Guardian of the Passage, and certain otherworldly responsibilities. With the help of a mysterious object he discovers in the island's old lighthouse, Jamie sets out on a dangerous mission that will change the course of his life, and possibly the universe, forever. Tautly paced and brilliantly imagined, this novel will thrill sci-fi fans eager for new heroes and new worlds to explore.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780810954809
081095480
9781481587518
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 5.5, 14 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 18fb8b29-94e7-07eb-be2c-421fa295066c
Grouping Title lighthouse land
Grouping Author mckinty adrian
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-14 22:54:25PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-14 00:40:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 14
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.5
author McKinty, Adrian.
author_display McKinty, Adrian
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction, Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction, Southeast - Kids Fiction
display_description Thirteen-year-old Jamie is overjoyed when a bequest sends him and his mother to live on an Irish island, where he and his newfound friend Ramsay travel back in time to help a young girl save her people from certain death.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 18fb8b29-94e7-07eb-be2c-421fa295066c
isbn 081095480, 9780810954809, 9781481587518
item_details ils:CARL0000281766|35192035579824|Bellevue - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction McKinty|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000281766|35192035579832|Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction McKinty|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000281766|35192035579899|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction McKinty|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000281766|35192035579907|Southeast - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction McKinty|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, overdrive:08648920-fe74-4685-9e44-263e806a2502|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-14T06:40:21.417Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction McKinty
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780810954809
publishDate 2006, 2010
record_details ils:CARL0000281766|Book|Books||English|Amulet Books,|2006.|387 p. : map ; 22 cm., overdrive:08648920-fe74-4685-9e44-263e806a2502|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Publishing|2010|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:08648920-fe74-4685-9e44-263e806a2502 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000281766 35192035579832 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000281766 35192035579824 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000281766 35192035579907 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000281766 35192035579899 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Lighthouse trilogy
series_with_volume Lighthouse trilogy|1
subject_facet Harlem (New York, N.Y.) -- Juvenile fiction, Ireland -- Juvenile fiction, Magic -- Juvenile fiction, Science fiction, Juvenile, Time travel -- Juvenile fiction
title_display The lighthouse land
title_full The Lighthouse Land The Lighthouse Trilogy, Book 1, The lighthouse land / Adrian McKinty
title_short The lighthouse land
title_sub The Lighthouse Trilogy, Book 1
topic_facet Magic, Science Fiction, Science fiction, Juvenile, Time travel, Young Adult Fiction