North Branch Library is closed until further notice due to restroom plumbing issues.

The lighthouse land: The Lighthouse Trilogy, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
The first in a new epic sci-fi series, perfect for fans of Orson Scott Card's Ender books or Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials Introducing the first young adult novel from crime fiction writer Adrian McKinty, whose adult books have been called unputdownable (Washington Post), exceptional (San Francisco Chronicle), and profoundly satisfying (Booklist). When Jamie's mother inherits a small island, and moves her little family from Harlem to Ireland, her troubled son sees a chance to start over, far away from the bullies and the pitying stares. Cancer has left Jamie without an arm or the will to speak. But Muck Island offers more than solitude and sea views. Jamie learns that he is heir to an ancient title, Laird of Muck, Guardian of the Passage, and certain otherworldly responsibilities. With the help of a mysterious object he discovers in the island's old lighthouse, Jamie sets out on a dangerous mission that will change the course of his life, and possibly the universe, forever. Tautly paced and brilliantly imagined, this novel will thrill sci-fi fans eager for new heroes and new worlds to explore.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Reading Level:
Level 5.5, 14 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 18fb8b29-94e7-07eb-be2c-421fa295066c
full_title lighthouse land
author mckinty adrian
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-03-22 23:14:01PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 14
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.5
auth_author2 Doyle, Gerard.
author Adrian McKinty
author2-role Blackstone Audio, Inc., Doyle, Gerard.|Narrator, Findaway World, LLC., Playaway Digital Audio., hoopla digital.
author_display McKinty, Adrian
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Southeast
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction, Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction, Southeast - Kids Audiobook, Southeast - Kids Fiction
display_description Thirteen-year-old Jamie is overjoyed when a bequest sends him and his mother to live on an Irish island, where he and his newfound friend Ramsay travel back in time to help a young girl save her people from certain death.
format_catalog Book, Playaway, eAudiobook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 18fb8b29-94e7-07eb-be2c-421fa295066c
isbn 081095480, 148158751, 9780810954809, 9781441771544, 9781481587518
item_details hoopla:MWT10024539||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||||Available Online||||, ils:CARL0000281766|35192035579824|Bellevue - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction McKinty|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000281766|35192035579832|Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction McKinty|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GO||, ils:CARL0000281766|35192035579899|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction McKinty|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000281766|35192035579907|Southeast - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction McKinty|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000369529|35192037831660|Southeast - Kids Audiobook|PLAYAWAY JUV Fiction McKinty|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, overdrive:08648920-fe74-4685-9e44-263e806a2502|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book, Playaway
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction McKinty, PLAYAWAY JUV Fiction McKinty
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780810954809
publishDate 2006, 2010, 2011
record_details hoopla:MWT10024539|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Blackstone Audio, Inc. ,|2010.|1 online resource (1 audio file (600 min.)) : digital., ils:CARL0000281766|Book|Books||English|Amulet Books,|2006.|387 p. : map ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000369529|Playaway|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Playaway Digital Audio :|[2011], p2011.|1 sound media player (10 hr.) : digital, HD audio ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in., overdrive:08648920-fe74-4685-9e44-263e806a2502|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Publishing|2010|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog hoopla:MWT10024539||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000281766|35192035579824|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000281766|35192035579832|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000281766|35192035579899|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000281766|35192035579907|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000369529|35192037831660|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:08648920-fe74-4685-9e44-263e806a2502|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
series Lighthouse trilogy, The Lighthouse Trilogy
series_with_volume Lighthouse trilogy|bk. 1., The Lighthouse Trilogy
subject_facet Children's audiobooks, Harlem (New York, N.Y.) -- Juvenile fiction, Ireland -- Juvenile fiction, Magic -- Juvenile fiction, Science fiction, Science fiction, Juvenile, Time travel -- Juvenile fiction
title_display The lighthouse land
title_full The Lighthouse Land The Lighthouse Trilogy, Book 1, The lighthouse land / Adrian McKinty, The lighthouse land [electronic resource] / Adrian McKinty, The lighthouse land [sound recording] / Adrian McKinty
title_short The lighthouse land
title_sub The Lighthouse Trilogy, Book 1
topic_facet Children's audiobooks, Magic, Science Fiction, Science fiction, Juvenile, Time travel, Young Adult Fiction