The gallery of unfinished girls

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

A beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap.

Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn't been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year.

Her lack of inspiration might be because her abuela is in a coma. Or the fact that Mercedes is in love with her best friend, Victoria, but is too afraid to admit her true feelings.

Despite Mercedes's creative block, art starts to show up in unexpected ways. A piano appears on her front lawn one morning, and a mysterious new neighbor invites Mercedes to paint with her at the Red Mangrove Estate.

At the Estate, Mercedes can create in ways she hasn't ever before. But Mercedes can't take anything out of the Estate, including her new-found clarity. Mercedes can't live both lives forever, and ultimately she must choose between this perfect world of art and truth and a much messier reality.

"A dreamy and subtle work of art, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls explores love, family, and the maddening, magical drive to create art."--Adi Alsaid, author of Let's Get Lost

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062467775
9780062467799
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5.2, 13 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 780L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 1a7718a6-c695-9399-3135-96e568c02b3b
Grouping Title gallery of unfinished girls
Grouping Author karcz lauren
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-19 22:52:58PM
Last Indexed 2018-10-20 02:31:49AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 13
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.2
author Lauren Karcz
author_display Karcz, Lauren
available_at_catalog Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction, Green Hills - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction
display_description

A beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap.

Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn't been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year.

Her lack of inspiration might be because her abuela is in a coma. Or the fact that Mercedes is in love with her best friend, Victoria, but is too afraid to admit her true feelings.

Despite Mercedes's creative block, art starts to show up in unexpected ways. A piano appears on her front lawn one morning, and a mysterious new neighbor invites Mercedes to paint with her at the Red Mangrove Estate.

At the Estate, Mercedes can create in ways she hasn't ever before. But Mercedes can't take anything out of the Estate, including her new-found clarity. Mercedes can't live both lives forever, and ultimately she must choose between this perfect world of art and truth and a much messier reality.

"A dreamy and subtle work of art, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls explores love, family, and the maddening, magical drive to create art."—Adi Alsaid, author of Let's Get Lost

format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 1a7718a6-c695-9399-3135-96e568c02b3b
isbn 9780062467775, 9780062467799
item_details ils:CARL0000511727|35192049575115|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Karcz|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000511727|35192049575123|Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Karcz|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000511727|35192049575131|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Karcz|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000511727|TT00011974|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Kar|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000511727|TT00012868|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F Kar|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, overdrive:4b9811c2-4d06-49dd-b41a-596a58d9e302|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-10-20T07:31:49.488Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 780
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Karcz
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780062467775
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000511727|Book|Books|First edition.|English|HarperTeen,|[2017]|340 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:4b9811c2-4d06-49dd-b41a-596a58d9e302|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000511727 35192049575115 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000511727 35192049575123 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000511727 35192049575131 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:4b9811c2-4d06-49dd-b41a-596a58d9e302 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Artists -- Fiction, Creative ability -- Fiction, Teenagers -- Fiction
title_display The gallery of unfinished girls
title_full The Gallery of Unfinished Girls, The gallery of unfinished girls / Lauren Karcz
title_short The gallery of unfinished girls
title_sub
topic_facet Artists, Creative ability, Fantasy, Teenagers, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature