Don't ever get old: Buck Schatz Series, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2012.
Language:
English
Description

When Buck Schatz, senior citizen and retired Memphis cop, learns that an old adversary may have escaped Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, Buck decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot. But a lot of people want a piece of the stolen treasure, and Buck's investigation quickly attracts unfriendly attention from a very motley (and murderous) crew in Daniel Friedman's Don't Ever Get Old, nominated for an Edgar Award for Best First Novel.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780312606930
9781481592857
9781410449283
9781470829094
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 251b98b8-299e-08c7-3c84-a411336e59b1
Grouping Title don t ever get old
Grouping Author friedman daniel
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-20 23:16:39PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-20 23:53:34PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Sullivan, Nick
author Friedman, Daniel, 1981-
author2-role Blackstone Audiobooks.
Findaway World, LLC.
Playaway Digital Audio.
Sullivan, Nick
author_display Friedman, Daniel
available_at_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Goodlettsville
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Inglewood
collection_catalog Audiobook
Fiction
Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Audiobook
Bellevue - Adult Fiction
Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction
Green Hills - Adult Large Print
Inglewood - Adult Fiction
display_description

This is the first in a one-of-a-kind, spectacularly well-written mystery series featuring Buck Schatz, an eighty-seven-year-old retired Memphis cop with a know-it-all, plugged-in grandson as his sidekick.

When Buck learns that an old adversary may have escaped Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, he decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot. But lots of people want a piece of the stolen treasure, and Buck's investigation quickly attracts unfriendly attention from a Mississippi loan shark, a seven-foot-tall Hasidic Jew, and a bloodthirsty maniac hell-bent on rubbing out everybody who knows anything about the stolen gold. Readers who love Elmore Leonard, Walter Mosley, early Jonathan Lethem, and superlative detective fiction in general will not want to miss Don't Ever Get Old.

format_catalog Book
Large Print
Playaway
eAudiobook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id 251b98b8-299e-08c7-3c84-a411336e59b1
isbn 9780312606930
9781410449283
9781470829094
9781481592857
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:86e208ed-8016-4221-8d33-e9ff41e46794 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 3 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
ils:CARL0000391466 35192042644462 Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction Fiction Friedma 1 false false On Shelf GO
ils:CARL0000391466 35192042693089 Inglewood - Adult Fiction Fiction Friedma 1 false false On Shelf IN
ils:CARL0000391466 35192042693071 Bellevue - Adult Fiction Fiction Friedma 1 false false On Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000396310 35192042841175 Green Hills - Adult Large Print Fiction Friedma Large Type 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000396596 35192043139918 Bellevue - Adult Audiobook PLAYAWAY Fiction Friedma 1 false false On Shelf BL
itype_catalog
Book
Large Print Book
Playaway
last_indexed 2019-10-21T04:53:34.942Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Friedma
Fiction Friedma Large Type
PLAYAWAY Fiction Friedma
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Goodlettsville
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Inglewood
primary_isbn 9780312606930
publishDate 2012
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:86e208ed-8016-4221-8d33-e9ff41e46794 eAudiobook Audio Books English Blackstone Publishing 2012
ils:CARL0000391466 Book Books 1st ed. English Minotaur Books, 2012. viii, 294 p. ; 22 cm.
ils:CARL0000396310 Large Print Books English Thorndike Press, 2012. 425 p. (large print) ; 22 cm.
ils:CARL0000396596 Playaway Audio Books English Playaway : 2012. 1 sound media player (8 hr.) : digital ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:86e208ed-8016-4221-8d33-e9ff41e46794 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000391466 35192042644462 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000391466 35192042693089 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000391466 35192042693071 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000396310 35192042841175 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000396596 35192043139918 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Buck Schatz mysteries
series_with_volume Buck Schatz mysteries|1
subject_facet Audiobooks
Detective and mystery stories, American
Escaped prisoners -- Fiction
Ex-police officers -- Fiction
Fugitives from justice -- Fiction
Gold -- Fiction
Large type books
Older men -- Fiction
Quests (Expeditions) -- Fiction
Retirees -- Fiction
title_display Don't ever get old
title_full Don't Ever Get Old Buck Schatz Series, Book 1
Don't ever get old / Daniel Friedman
Don't ever get old [sound recording] / Daniel Friedman
Don't ever get old [text (large print)] / by Daniel Friedman
title_short Don't ever get old
title_sub Buck Schatz Series, Book 1
topic_facet Audiobooks
Detective and mystery stories, American
Escaped prisoners
Ex-police officers
Fiction
Fugitives from justice
Gold
Large type books
Mystery
Older men
Quests (Expeditions)
Retirees
Suspense