All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

Don't ever get old: Buck Schatz Series, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2012.
Language:
English
Description

When Buck Schatz, senior citizen and retired Memphis cop, learns that an old adversary may have escaped Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, Buck decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot. But a lot of people want a piece of the stolen treasure, and Buck's investigation quickly attracts unfriendly attention from a very motley (and murderous) crew in Daniel Friedman's Don't Ever Get Old, nominated for an Edgar Award for Best First Novel.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780312606930
9781410449283
9781470829094
9781481592857
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 251b98b8-299e-08c7-3c84-a411336e59b1
Full title don t ever get old
Author friedman daniel
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-27 23:11:12PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-27 00:09:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Sullivan, Nick
author Daniel Friedman
author2-role Blackstone Audiobooks., Findaway World, LLC., Playaway Digital Audio., Sullivan, Nick
author_display Friedman, Daniel
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Inglewood
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction, Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Audiobook, Bellevue - Adult Fiction, Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Large Print, Inglewood - Adult Fiction
display_description

This is the first in a one-of-a-kind, spectacularly well-written mystery series featuring Buck Schatz, an eighty-seven-year-old retired Memphis cop with a know-it-all, plugged-in grandson as his sidekick.

When Buck learns that an old adversary may have escaped Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, he decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot. But lots of people want a piece of the stolen treasure, and Buck's investigation quickly attracts unfriendly attention from a Mississippi loan shark, a seven-foot-tall Hasidic Jew, and a bloodthirsty maniac hell-bent on rubbing out everybody who knows anything about the stolen gold. Readers who love Elmore Leonard, Walter Mosley, early Jonathan Lethem, and superlative detective fiction in general will not want to miss Don't Ever Get Old.

format_catalog Book, Large Print, Playaway, eAudiobook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 251b98b8-299e-08c7-3c84-a411336e59b1
isbn 9780312606930, 9781410449283, 9781470829094, 9781481592857
item_details ils:CARL0000391466|35192042644462|Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction|Fiction Friedma|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GO||, ils:CARL0000391466|35192042693071|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction Friedma|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000391466|35192042693089|Inglewood - Adult Fiction|Fiction Friedma|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000396310|35192042841175|Green Hills - Adult Large Print|Fiction Friedma Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000396596|35192043139918|Bellevue - Adult Audiobook|PLAYAWAY Fiction Friedma|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, overdrive:86e208ed-8016-4221-8d33-e9ff41e46794|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|3|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, Large Print Book, Playaway
last_indexed 2018-05-27T05:09:21.513Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Friedma, Fiction Friedma Large Type, PLAYAWAY Fiction Friedma
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Inglewood
primary_isbn 9780312606930
publishDate 2012
record_details ils:CARL0000391466|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Minotaur Books,|2012.|viii, 294 p. ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000396310|Large Print|Books||English|Thorndike Press,|2012.|425 p. (large print) ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000396596|Playaway|Audio Books||English|Playaway :|2012.|1 sound media player (8 hr.) : digital ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in., overdrive:86e208ed-8016-4221-8d33-e9ff41e46794|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Audio, Inc.|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000391466|35192042644462|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000391466|35192042693071|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000391466|35192042693089|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000396310|35192042841175|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000396596|35192043139918|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:86e208ed-8016-4221-8d33-e9ff41e46794|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
series Buck Schatz mysteries
series_with_volume Buck Schatz mysteries|1
subject_facet Audiobooks, Detective and mystery stories, American, Escaped prisoners -- Fiction, Ex-police officers -- Fiction, Fugitives from justice -- Fiction, Gold -- Fiction, Large type books, Older men -- Fiction, Quests (Expeditions) -- Fiction, Retirees -- Fiction
title_display Don't ever get old
title_full Don't Ever Get Old Buck Schatz Series, Book 1, Don't ever get old / Daniel Friedman, Don't ever get old [sound recording] / Daniel Friedman, Don't ever get old [text (large print)] / by Daniel Friedman
title_short Don't ever get old
title_sub Buck Schatz Series, Book 1
topic_facet Audiobooks, Detective and mystery stories, American, Escaped prisoners, Ex-police officers, Fiction, Fugitives from justice, Gold, Large type books, Mystery, Older men, Quests (Expeditions), Retirees, Suspense