All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

What the night sings

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas comes a lushly illustrated novel about a teen Holocaust survivor, who must come to terms with who she is and how to rebuild her life. "A tour de force. This powerful story of love, loss, and survival is not to be missed." --KRISTIN HANNAH, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale After losing her family and everything she knew in the Nazi concentration camps, Gerta is finally liberated, only to find herself completely alone. Without her Papa, her music, or even her true identity, she must move past the task of surviving and onto living her life. In the displaced persons camp where she is staying, Gerta meets Lev, a fellow teen survivor who she just might be falling for, despite her feelings for someone else. With a newfound Jewish identity she never knew she had, and a return to the life of music she thought she lost forever, Gerta must choose how to build a new future. "What the Night Sings is a bookfrom the heart, of the heart, and to the heart. Vesper Stamper's Gerta will stay with you long after you turn the last page. Her story is one of hope and redemption and life -- a blessing to the world." -- Deborah Heiligman, award-winning author of Charles and Emma and Vincent and Theo
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781524700386
152470038
9781524700409
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 720L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2537d513-167b-96f0-aafd-227a1878e48b
Full title what the night sings
Author stamper vesper
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-21 11:23:30AM
Last Indexed 2018-05-21 11:24:43AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Vesper Stamper
author_display Vesper Stamper
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction, Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction, Green Hills - Teen Fiction, Hermitage - Teen Fiction, Inglewood - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Richland Park - Teen Fiction, Southeast - Teen Fiction
display_description Liberated from Bergen-Belsen Concentration Camp in 1945, sixteen-year-old Gerta tries to make a new life for herself, aided by Lev, a fellow survivor, and Michah, who helps Jews reach Palestine.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 2537d513-167b-96f0-aafd-227a1878e48b
isbn 152470038, 9781524700386, 9781524700409
item_details ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440373|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440381|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Display||EP||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440399|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440407|Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440415|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440423|Inglewood - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440431|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440449|Richland Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440456|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00780628|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00781037|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|Historical F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00781280|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00781398|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||6A452||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00781693|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||6I787||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00781907|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||6F615||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00782896|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00783033|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00783398|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, overdrive:54908d92-3c65-4acd-9cff-d9738e20ebd7|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-21T16:24:43.807Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 720
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Stamper
local_time_since_added_catalog Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast
primary_isbn 9781524700386
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000702320|Book|Books|First Edition.|English|Alfred A. Knopf,|[2018]|266 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm, overdrive:54908d92-3c65-4acd-9cff-d9738e20ebd7|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440373|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440381|On Shelf|On Display|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440399|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440407|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440415|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440423|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440431|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440449|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440456|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:54908d92-3c65-4acd-9cff-d9738e20ebd7|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Germany -- History -- 1945-1955 -- Fiction, Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Fiction, Jews -- Fiction, Refugees -- Fiction, Survival -- Fiction
title_display What the night sings : a novel
title_full What the Night Sings, What the night sings : a novel / Vesper Stamper
title_short What the night sings :
title_sub
topic_facet Historical Fiction, History, Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945), Jews, Refugees, Romance, Survival, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature