What the night sings

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Longlisted for the National Book Award For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas comes a lushly illustrated novel about a teen Holocaust survivor, who must come to terms with who she is and how to rebuild her life. "A tour de force. This powerful story of love, loss, and survival is not to be missed." --KRISTIN HANNAH, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale After losing her family and everything she knew in the Nazi concentration camps, Gerta is finally liberated, only to find herself completely alone. Without her Papa, her music, or even her true identity, she must move past the task of surviving and onto living her life. In the displaced persons camp where she is staying, Gerta meets Lev, a fellow teen survivor who she just might be falling for, despite her feelings for someone else. With a newfound Jewish identity she never knew she had, and a return to the life of music she thought she lost forever, Gerta must choose how to build a new future. "What the Night Sings is a bookfrom the heart, of the heart, and to the heart. Vesper Stamper's Gerta will stay with you long after you turn the last page. Her story is one of hope and redemption and life -- a blessing to the world." -- Deborah Heiligman, award-winning author of Charles and Emma and Vincent and Theo
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781524700393
9781524700386
9780525526063
9781524700409
152470038
Reading Level:
UG
Level 4.9, 7 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 720L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2537d513-167b-96f0-aafd-227a1878e48b
Grouping Title what the night sings
Grouping Author stamper vesper
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-16 23:47:26PM
Last Indexed 2018-10-17 03:51:06AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 7
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.9
author Stamper, Vesper,
author_display Vesper Stamper
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Inglewood, Richland Park
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction, Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction, Green Hills - Teen Fiction, Hermitage - Teen Fiction, Inglewood - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Richland Park - Teen Fiction, Southeast - Teen Fiction
display_description Liberated from Bergen-Belsen Concentration Camp in 1945, sixteen-year-old Gerta tries to make a new life for herself, aided by Lev, a fellow survivor, and Michah, who helps Jews reach Palestine.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 2537d513-167b-96f0-aafd-227a1878e48b
isbn 152470038, 9780525526063, 9781524700386, 9781524700393, 9781524700409
item_details ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440373|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440381|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Display||EP||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440399|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440407|Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440415|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440423|Inglewood - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440431|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440449|Richland Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000702320|35192050440456|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Stamper|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||SE||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00780628|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00781037|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|Historical F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00781280|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00781398|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||6A452||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00781693|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00781907|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00782896|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00783033|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000702320|B00783398|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F Sta|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, overdrive:54908d92-3c65-4acd-9cff-d9738e20ebd7|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:8b2b197e-4fc3-44d8-a808-8b051dcdcce8|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-10-17T08:51:06.502Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 720
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Stamper
local_time_since_added_catalog Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast
primary_isbn 9781524700393
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000702320|Book|Books|First Edition.|English|Alfred A. Knopf,|[2018]|266 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm, overdrive:54908d92-3c65-4acd-9cff-d9738e20ebd7|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2018|, overdrive:8b2b197e-4fc3-44d8-a808-8b051dcdcce8|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:54908d92-3c65-4acd-9cff-d9738e20ebd7 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:8b2b197e-4fc3-44d8-a808-8b051dcdcce8 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000702320 35192050440456 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000702320 35192050440449 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000702320 35192050440399 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000702320 35192050440381 On Shelf On Display false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000702320 35192050440373 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000702320 35192050440431 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000702320 35192050440423 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000702320 35192050440415 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000702320 35192050440407 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Germany -- History -- 1945-1955 -- Fiction, Germany -- History -- 1945-1955 -- Juvenile fiction, Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Fiction, Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Juvenile fiction, Jews -- Fiction, Jews -- Juvenile fiction, Refugees -- Fiction, Refugees -- Juvenile fiction, Survival -- Fiction, Survival -- Juvenile fiction
title_display What the night sings : a novel
title_full What the Night Sings, What the night sings : a novel / Vesper Stamper
title_short What the night sings :
title_sub
topic_facet Historical Fiction, History, Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945), Jews, Refugees, Romance, Survival, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature