Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed Thursday, Nov 22 and Friday, Nov 23 for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

The Boleyn deceit: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime's The Tudors, The Boleyn Deceit is the captivating new novel set in the imagined Tudor court of King Henry IX, son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn, who must navigate a terrain rife with palace intrigue, impending war, and unbridled passions. The regency period is over and William Tudor, now King Henry IX, sits alone on the throne. But England must still contend with those who doubt his legitimacy, both in faraway lands and within his own family. To diffuse tensions and appease the Catholics, William is betrothed to a young princess from France, but still he has eyes for only his childhood friend Minuette, and court tongues are wagging. Even more scandalous--and dangerous, if discovered--is that Minuette's heart and soul belong to Dominic, William's best friend and trusted advisor. Minuette must walk a delicate balance between her two suitors, unable to confide in anyone, not even her friend Elizabeth, William's sister, who must contend with her own cleaved heart. In this irresistible tale, the secrets that everyone keeps are enough to change the course of an empire. Includes a preview of Laura Andersen's The Boleyn Reckoning Praise for The Boleyn Deceit "Detailed and quick-paced, [ The Boleyn Deceit ] will have series fans devouring it and emerging eager for the last book. An excellent recommendation for Phillippa Gregory fans." -- Booklist (starred review) "This entertaining work of alternative history offers plenty to savor for both fans of historical romance and those whose passion is political intrigue. . . . Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, Andersen's novel admirably takes artistic license with history while remaining true to many aspects of real-world history. . . . [Foreshadows] a mesmerizing conclusion to the trilogy." -- Publishers Weekly "An intriguing re-imagining of Tudor England and the treacheries of court life." -- Kirkus Reviews Praise for Laura Andersen's The Boleyn King "A sumptuous, vividly imagined novel of a Boleyn king's fateful rise to power amid the treacherous glamour of the Tudor court." --C. W. Gortner, author of The Queen's Vow "Fans of both Stephenie Meyer and Philippa Gregory will find much to love in this evocative and well-written debut." --Francine Mathews, author of Jack 1939 Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345534118
9780345534125
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 259e285e-1700-830b-165b-cb5550bea6dc
Grouping Title boleyn deceit
Grouping Author andersen laura
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-16 23:10:10PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-17 00:09:33AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Andersen, Laura.
author_display Andersen, Laura
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description "Henry IX, known as William, is the son of Anne Boleyn and now the leader of England, his regency period finally at an end. His newfound power, however, comes with the looming specter of war with the other major powers of Europe, with strategic alliances that must be forged on both the battlefield and in the bedroom, and with a court, severed by religion, rife with plots to take over the throne"--
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 259e285e-1700-830b-165b-cb5550bea6dc
isbn 9780345534118, 9780345534125
item_details ils:CARL0000420904|35192044961104|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Anderse|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:87387db7-56a1-4625-b35c-09f66465177b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-17T06:09:33.914Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Anderse
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780345534118
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000420904|Book|Books||English|Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks,|[2013]|403 pages ; 21 cm., overdrive:87387db7-56a1-4625-b35c-09f66465177b|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000420904 35192044961104 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:87387db7-56a1-4625-b35c-09f66465177b -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Anne Boleyn trilogy
series_with_volume Anne Boleyn trilogy|2
subject_facet Alternative histories, Anne Boleyn, -- Queen, consort of Henry VIII, King of England, -- 1507-1536 -- Fiction, Deception -- Fiction, Great Britain -- History -- Tudors, 1485-1603 -- Fiction, Great Britain -- Kings and rulers -- Succession -- Fiction, Historical fiction, American, Inheritance and succession -- Fiction, Regency fiction, American
title_display The Boleyn deceit : a novel
title_full The Boleyn Deceit Anne Boleyn Trilogy, Book 2, The Boleyn deceit : a novel / Laura Andersen
title_short The Boleyn deceit :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Alternative histories, Anne Boleyn, Deception, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Historical fiction, American, History, Inheritance and succession, Kings and rulers, Regency fiction, American, Romance, Succession