Cloud atlas: [a novel]

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(7)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity. Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history. But the story doesn't end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky. As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon. Praise for Cloud Atlas "[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page." -- The New York Times Book Review "One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is--and should be--read by any student of contemporary literature." --Dave Eggers "Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative." -- People "The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet--not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds." --Michael Chabon " Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent." -- The Washington Post Book World "Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step." -- Boston Sunday Globe "Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate." -- Los Angeles Times From the Hardcover edition.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812984415
9780375507250
9781415919781
9781415951613
141591978
9780812994711
9780307483041
Reading Level:
UG
Level 6.5, 27 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 25d78341-7baa-3f6e-6070-520fbaa9b43b
Grouping Title cloud atlas
Grouping Author mitchell david
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-20 15:24:43PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-20 15:26:08PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 27
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6.5
author David Mitchell
author_display Mitchell, David
available_at_catalog Annex, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Annex - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Audiobook, Inglewood - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Fiction, Richland Park - Adult Fiction, Southeast - Adult Fiction, Thompson Lane - Adult Fiction
display_description Recounts the connected stories of people from the past and the distant future, from a nineteenth-century notary and an investigative journalist in the 1970s to a young man who searches for meaning in a post-apocalayptic world.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 25d78341-7baa-3f6e-6070-520fbaa9b43b
isbn 141591978, 9780307483041, 9780375507250, 9780812984415, 9780812994711, 9781415919781, 9781415951613
item_details ils:CARL0000225067|35192043064686|Richland Park - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mitchel|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000225067|35192043068752|Thompson Lane - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mitchel|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||TL||, ils:CARL0000225067|35192043068828|Annex - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mitchel|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||AX||, ils:CARL0000225067|35192043211113|Southeast - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mitchel|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000225067|35192043211147|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mitchel|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000225067|35192043211170|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mitchel|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000225067|35192049275674|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mitchel|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000225067|35192049450632|Inglewood - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mitchel|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000225067|QQ00152581|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F MIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000403699|35192041939798|Hermitage - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Mitchel|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, overdrive:00659b28-5e1f-44a7-9572-b0093c880281|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|15|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:203bc8a1-ae66-4e52-b758-8c7619e3318b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|5|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book
last_indexed 2018-07-20T20:26:08.442Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Mitchel, Fiction Mitchel
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Annex, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780812984415
publishDate 2004, 2005, 2008
record_details ils:CARL0000225067|Book|Books|1st U.S. ed.|English|Random House Trade Paperbacks,|c2004.|509 p. ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000403699|CD audio book|Audio Books|Library ed.|English|Books on Tape,|p2005.|16 sound discs (72 min. each) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:00659b28-5e1f-44a7-9572-b0093c880281|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2008|, overdrive:203bc8a1-ae66-4e52-b758-8c7619e3318b|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2004|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:203bc8a1-ae66-4e52-b758-8c7619e3318b -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:00659b28-5e1f-44a7-9572-b0093c880281 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000225067 35192043211147 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000225067 35192043211113 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000225067 35192043211170 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000225067 35192049450632 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000225067 35192049275674 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000225067 35192043068828 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000225067 35192043068752 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000225067 35192043064686 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000403699 35192041939798 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Audiobooks, Fate and fatalism -- Fiction, Reincarnation -- Fiction
title_display Cloud atlas : a novel
title_full Cloud Atlas, Cloud Atlas A Novel, Cloud atlas : a novel / David Mitchell, Cloud atlas [sound recording] : [a novel] / David Mitchell
title_short Cloud atlas :
title_sub [a novel]
topic_facet Audiobooks, Fantasy, Fate and fatalism, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Literature, Reincarnation