The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers,
Pub. Date:
c2012.
Edition:
1st ed.
Language:
English
Description
At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society . Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster--lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does too.) But then Lawrence goes missing. And he's not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out...different. Or they don't come out at all. If anyone can sort this out, it's Victoria--even if it means getting a little messy.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781442442917
9781442442924
Reading Level:
MG
Level 4.9, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
750L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2ae095c1-3193-f34a-89ab-2180bd560258
Grouping Title cavendish home for boys and girls
Grouping Author legrand claire
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-12-16 23:53:57PM
Last Indexed 2018-12-17 01:55:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 10
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.9
auth_author2 Watts, Sarah 1986-
author Legrand, Claire, 1986-
author2-role Watts, Sarah1986-ill.
author_display Legrand, Claire
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Old Hickory
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction, Green Hills - Kids Fiction, Main Library - Kids Fiction, Old Hickory - Kids Fiction
display_description Practically-perfect twelve-year-old Victoria Wright must lie, sneak, and break the rules when her investigation of the disappearance of her best--and only--friend, Lawrence, reveals dark secrets about her town and the orphanage run by the reclusive Mrs. Cavendish.
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id 2ae095c1-3193-f34a-89ab-2180bd560258
isbn 9781442442917, 9781442442924
item_details ils:CARL0000401009|35192043180268|Green Hills - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Legrand|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000401009|35192043180276|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Legrand|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000401009|35192043180284|Old Hickory - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Legrand|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||OH||, ils:CARL0000401009|35192044813487|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Legrand|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000401009|A02089238|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|PARA F LEG|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||4O563||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724030|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724033|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724034|John Early Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||49285||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724036|Haynes Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4D400||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724037|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724038|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724039|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724040|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724041|Apollo Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4P577||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724042|McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4K540||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724044|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724046|McKissack Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4J535||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724048|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724049|Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4T675||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724051|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||4W783||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724054|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||45238||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724065|McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4K540||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724066|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724074|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724075|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|HORROR F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724776|Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||71181||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724777|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||45238||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724780|John Early Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||49285||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724787|McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4K540||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724788|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724790|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|PARA F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4O563||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724793|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4S612||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724795|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00724796|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000401009|B00730889|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000401009|FF00136886|Ruby Major Elementary - Kids Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||29522||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10030609|Pennington Elementary - Kids Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2K640||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10042609|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4S612||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10042637|McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4K540||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10042651|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10042693|Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4B355||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10042707|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10042728|Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction|F Leg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||71181||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10042735|Apollo Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||4P577||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10042742|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10042805|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|HORROR F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10069301|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10151867|East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4A296||, ils:CARL0000401009|MK10175992|Lockeland Elementary - Kids Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||28520||, ils:CARL0000401009|QQ00140135|West End Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4V770||, ils:CARL0000401009|QQ00153763|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||
itype_catalog Book
last_indexed 2018-12-17T07:55:21.422Z
lexile_score 750
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Legrand
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Old Hickory
primary_isbn 9781442442917
publishDate 2012
record_details ils:CARL0000401009|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers,|c2012.|viii, 343 p. : ill. ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000401009 35192044813487 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000401009 35192043180268 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000401009 35192043180276 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000401009 35192043180284 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Best friends -- Juvenile fiction, Friendship -- Juvenile fiction, Missing children -- Juvenile fiction, Orphanages -- Juvenile fiction, Perfectionism (Personality trait) -- Juvenile fiction
title_display The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls
title_full The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls / Clare Legrand ; illustrated by Sarah Watts
title_short The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls
topic_facet Best friends, Friendship, Missing children, Orphanages, Perfectionism (Personality trait)