Kremlin rising: Vladimir Putin's Russia and the end of revolution

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
With the collapse of the Soviet Union, Russia launched itself on a fitful transition to western style democracy. But with Vladimir Putin at the helm, the promise has vanished. KREMLIN RISING is the first book to go behind the scenes and reveal the secret history of 'Project Putin', the plot to seize back power in the Kremlin. After four years as Moscow Bureau Chiefs for The Washington Post, Susan Glasser and Peter Baker now document the methodical campaign to reverse the post-Soviet revolution and transform Russia back into an authoritarian state as Putin seized control over Russian television, jailed political rivals, cancelled elections and waged a brutal war in Chechnya against separatists and civilians alike. This gripping report takes readers inside the key events of Putin's rise to power - from its mysterious origins through the Moscow theatre siege of 2002 to the horrific slaughter of Beslan's schoolchildren in 2004. Filled with personal stories and groundbreaking reporting, the book features accounts from frightened army deserters, an imprisoned oil billionaire, a trendy Moscow restaurant king, a reluctant underwear salesman, and even George W. friend was no democrat. With gripping, page-turning narrative, KREMLIN RISING opens a window on a country on the brink, where behind the gleaming new shopping malls the dream of western democracy is slowly disintegrating.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780743264310
9780743281799
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2af920aa-9273-4ab9-d8af-6d0539e3e67f
Grouping Title kremlin rising vladimir putins russia and the end of revolution
Grouping Author baker peter
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-15 23:02:48PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-15 23:46:01PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Glasser, Susan.
author Peter Baker
author2-role Glasser, Susan.
author_display Baker, Peter
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description

In the tradition of Hedrick Smith's The Russians, Robert G. Kaiser's Russia: The People and the Power, and David Remnick's Lenin's Tomb comes an eloquent and eye-opening chronicle of Vladimir Putin's Russia, from this generation's leading Moscow correspondents.

With the 1991 collapse of the Soviet Union, Russia launched itself on a fitful transition to Western-style democracy. But a decade later, Boris Yeltsin's handpicked successor, Vladimir Putin, a childhood hooligan turned KGB officer who rose from nowhere determined to restore the order of the Soviet past, resolved to bring an end to the revolution. Kremlin Rising goes behind the scenes of contemporary Russia to reveal the culmination of Project Putin, the secret plot to reconsolidate power in the Kremlin.

During their four years as Moscow bureau chiefs for The Washington Post, Peter Baker and Susan Glasser witnessed firsthand the methodical campaign to reverse the post-Soviet revolution and transform Russia back into an authoritarian state. Their gripping narrative moves from the unlikely rise of Putin through the key moments of his tenure that re-centralized power into his hands, from his decision to take over Russia's only independent television network to the Moscow theater siege of 2002 to the "managed democracy" elections of 2003 and 2004 to the horrific slaughter of Beslan's schoolchildren in 2004, recounting a four-year period that has changed the direction of modern Russia.

But the authors also go beyond the politics to draw a moving and vivid portrait of the Russian people they encountered -- both those who have prospered and those barely surviving -- and show how the political flux has shaped individual lives. Opening a window to a country on the brink, where behind the gleaming new shopping malls all things Soviet are chic again and even high school students wonder if Lenin was right after all, Kremlin Rising features the personal stories of Russians at all levels of society, including frightened army deserters, an imprisoned oil billionaire, Chechen villagers, a trendy Moscow restaurant king, a reluctant underwear salesman, and anguished AIDS patients in Siberia.

With shrewd reporting and unprecedented access to Putin's insiders, Kremlin Rising offers both unsettling new revelations about Russia's leader and a compelling inside look at life in the land that he is building. As the first major book on Russia in years, it is an extraordinary contribution to our understanding of the country and promises to shape the debate about Russia, its uncertain future, and its relationship with the United States.

format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 2af920aa-9273-4ab9-d8af-6d0539e3e67f
isbn 9780743264310, 9780743281799
item_details ils:CARL0000248373|35192042647259|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|947.086 B1671k|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:87df70f9-f7c4-4d9e-b63b-8dfdcb5f9951|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-16T04:46:01.168Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 947.086 B1671k
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780743264310
publishDate 2005
record_details ils:CARL0000248373|Book|Books||English|Scribner,|c2005.|453 p. : ill. ; 24 cm., overdrive:87df70f9-f7c4-4d9e-b63b-8dfdcb5f9951|eBook|eBook||English|Scribner|2005|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:87df70f9-f7c4-4d9e-b63b-8dfdcb5f9951 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000248373 35192042647259 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Russia (Federation) -- Politics and government -- 1991-
title_display Kremlin rising : Vladimir Putin's Russia and the end of revolution
title_full Kremlin Rising Vladimir Putin's Russia and the End of Revolution, Kremlin rising : Vladimir Putin's Russia and the end of revolution / Peter Baker and Susan Glasser
title_short Kremlin rising :
title_sub Vladimir Putin's Russia and the end of revolution
topic_facet Nonfiction, Politics, Politics and government