We now automatically renew eligible items for you! Read more in the Renewals section on this page.

A step toward falling

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

Cammie McGovern follows up her breakout young adult debut, Say What You Will, with this powerful and unforgettable novel about learning from your mistakes, and learning to forgive. Told in alternating points of view, A Step Toward Falling is a poignant, hopeful, and altogether stunning work that will appeal to fans of Jennifer Nevin, Robyn Schneider, and Jandy Nelson.

Emily has always been the kind of girl who tries to do the right thing--until one night when she does the worst thing possible. She sees Belinda, a classmate with developmental disabilities, being attacked. Inexplicably, she does nothing at all.

Belinda, however, manages to save herself. When their high school finds out what happened, Emily and Lucas, a football player who was also there that night, are required to perform community service at a center for disabled people. Soon, Lucas and Emily begin to feel like maybe they're starting to make a real difference. Like they would be able to do the right thing if they could do that night all over again. But can they do anything that will actually help the one person they hurt the most?

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062271136
006227113
9780062271150
Reading Level:
UG
Level 4.8, 14 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 730L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2e9f48e0-c58d-fa0e-0556-b28e5dde3c83
Grouping Title step toward falling
Grouping Author mcgovern cammie
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-18 23:51:32PM
Last Indexed 2018-08-19 00:37:45AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 14
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.8
author McGovern, Cammie,
author_display McGovern, Cammie
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Fiction, Green Hills - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Richland Park - Teen Fiction
display_description When Emily sees her developmentally disabled classmate Belinda being attacked, she does nothing at all. Belinda, however, manages to save herself. When their high school finds out what happened, Emily and Lucas, a football player who was also there that night, are required to perform community service at a center for disabled people. But can they do anything that will actually help the one person they hurt the most?
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 2e9f48e0-c58d-fa0e-0556-b28e5dde3c83
isbn 006227113, 9780062271136, 9780062271150
item_details ils:CARL0000471966|35192047993955|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction McGover|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000471966|35192047993963|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction McGover|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000471966|35192047993971|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction McGover|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000471966|35192047993989|Richland Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction McGover|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000471966|A02101705|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000471966|B00755779|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000471966|B00755819|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000471966|B00755859|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000471966|B00755899|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000471966|B00756109|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000471966|B00756141|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000471966|B00756176|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|REAL F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000471966|B00756237|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000471966|B00756610|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000471966|B00757006|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, overdrive:01c13f1a-e64a-40aa-a9f9-8b5e71a59c9d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-08-19T05:37:45.149Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 730
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction McGover
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
primary_isbn 9780062271136
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000471966|Book|Books|First edition.|English|HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2015]|364 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:01c13f1a-e64a-40aa-a9f9-8b5e71a59c9d|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:01c13f1a-e64a-40aa-a9f9-8b5e71a59c9d -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000471966 35192047993955 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000471966 35192047993989 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000471966 35192047993963 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000471966 35192047993971 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Community service (Punishment) -- Fiction, High school students -- Fiction, People with disabilities -- Fiction
title_display A step toward falling
title_full A Step Toward Falling, A step toward falling / a novel by Cammie McGovern
title_short A step toward falling
title_sub
topic_facet Community service (Punishment), High school students, People with disabilities, Romance, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature