Hadley Park Branch Library is closed Saturday, October 19.

Rabid: a cultural history of the world's most diabolical virus

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2012.
Language:
English
Description
This is an engrossing and lively history of a fearsome and mythologized virus.In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Great Influenza, journalist Bill Wasik and veterinarian Monica Murphy chart the history, science, and cultural mythology of rabies. In the absence of vaccination-as was true up until the late nineteenth century-the rabies virus caused brain infections with a nearly 100 percent fatality rate, both in animals and in humans, and the suffering it inflicted became the stuff of legend.The transmission of the virus-often from dog to man-reawakened a primal fear of wild animals, and the illness' violent symptoms spoke directly to mankind's fear of the beast within. The cultural response was to create fictional embodiments of those anxieties-ravenous wolfmen, bloodsucking vampires, and armies of mindless zombies.From the myth of Actaeon to Saint Hubert, from the laboratories of the heroic and pioneering Louis Pasteur to a journalistic investigation into the madness that has gripped modern-day Bali, Rabid is a fresh, fascinating, and often wildly entertaining look at one of the world's most misunderstood viruses.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780670023738
9780143123576
9781101583746
9781481592550
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2f53a8d0-e7e3-4608-cb3b-6c8565f85780
Grouping Title rabid a cultural history of the worlds most diabolical virus
Grouping Author wasik bill
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-17 22:44:38PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-17 23:44:22PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Murphy, Monica.
author Wasik, Bill.
author2-role Murphy, Monica.
author_display Wasik, Bill
available_at_catalog Goodlettsville
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Goodlettsville - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description Charts the history, science, and cultural mythology of rabies, documenting how before its vaccine the disease caused fatal brain infections and sparked the creations of monsters, including werewolves, vampires and zombies.
format_catalog Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id 2f53a8d0-e7e3-4608-cb3b-6c8565f85780
isbn 9780143123576
9780670023738
9781101583746
9781481592550
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000396082 QQ00152549 Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction 614.56 WAS 1 false false On Shelf 69450
ils:CARL0000396082 35192042808265 Goodlettsville - Adult Non-Fiction 614.563 W3198r 1 false false On Shelf GO
ils:CARL0000396082 QQ00168196 McGavock High - Teen Non-Fiction 614.56 WAS 1 false false On Shelf 6D532
overdrive:7a4c77e9-c495-4af3-9d68-eabe3daa3a14 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000677928 SE00000312 Glencliff High - Teen Non-Fiction 614.5 WAS 1 false false On Shelf 64325
overdrive:39249a5c-0b81-4746-b009-4352807eb665 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 2 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-10-18T04:44:22.425Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 614.563 W3198r
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Goodlettsville
primary_isbn 9780670023738
publishDate 2012
2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000396082 Book Books English Viking, 2012. x, 275 p. : ill. ; 22 cm.
overdrive:7a4c77e9-c495-4af3-9d68-eabe3daa3a14 eBook eBook English Penguin Publishing Group 2012
ils:CARL0000677928 Book Books English Penguin Books, 2013, 2012. x, 275 p. : ill. ; 21 cm.
overdrive:39249a5c-0b81-4746-b009-4352807eb665 eAudiobook Audio Books English Blackstone Publishing 2012
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000396082 35192042808265 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:7a4c77e9-c495-4af3-9d68-eabe3daa3a14 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:39249a5c-0b81-4746-b009-4352807eb665 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Rabies -- Epidemiology -- History
Rabies -- History
Rabies -- Treatment -- History
title_display Rabid : a cultural history of the world's most diabolical virus
title_full Rabid : a cultural history of the world's most diabolical virus / Bill Wasik and Monica Murphy
Rabid A Cultural History of the World's Most Diabolical Virus
title_short Rabid :
title_sub a cultural history of the world's most diabolical virus
topic_facet Epidemiology
History
Medical
Nonfiction
Rabies
Science
Treatment