Donelson Branch Library is closed Nov 5-10 for HVAC system maintenance.

All library locations are closed Sunday, Nov 11 and Monday, Nov 12 in observance of Veterans Day.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

Rabid: a cultural history of the world's most diabolical virus

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2012.
Language:
English
Description
This is an engrossing and lively history of a fearsome and mythologized virus.In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Great Influenza, journalist Bill Wasik and veterinarian Monica Murphy chart the history, science, and cultural mythology of rabies. In the absence of vaccination-as was true up until the late nineteenth century-the rabies virus caused brain infections with a nearly 100 percent fatality rate, both in animals and in humans, and the suffering it inflicted became the stuff of legend.The transmission of the virus-often from dog to man-reawakened a primal fear of wild animals, and the illness' violent symptoms spoke directly to mankind's fear of the beast within. The cultural response was to create fictional embodiments of those anxieties-ravenous wolfmen, bloodsucking vampires, and armies of mindless zombies.From the myth of Actaeon to Saint Hubert, from the laboratories of the heroic and pioneering Louis Pasteur to a journalistic investigation into the madness that has gripped modern-day Bali, Rabid is a fresh, fascinating, and often wildly entertaining look at one of the world's most misunderstood viruses.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780670023738
9780143123576
9781101583746
9781481592550
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2f53a8d0-e7e3-4608-cb3b-6c8565f85780
Grouping Title rabid a cultural history of the worlds most diabolical virus
Grouping Author wasik bill
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-11 22:54:21PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-11 23:43:25PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Murphy, Monica.
author Wasik, Bill.
author2-role Murphy, Monica.
author_display Wasik, Bill
available_at_catalog Edgehill, Goodlettsville
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edgehill - Adult Non-Fiction, Goodlettsville - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description Charts the history, science, and cultural mythology of rabies, documenting how before its vaccine the disease caused fatal brain infections and sparked the creations of monsters, including werewolves, vampires and zombies.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 2f53a8d0-e7e3-4608-cb3b-6c8565f85780
isbn 9780143123576, 9780670023738, 9781101583746, 9781481592550
item_details ils:CARL0000396082|35192042808265|Goodlettsville - Adult Non-Fiction|614.563 W3198r|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000396082|35192042808273|Edgehill - Adult Non-Fiction|614.563 W3198r|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EH||, ils:CARL0000396082|QQ00152549|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction|614.56 WAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000396082|QQ00168196|McGavock High - Teen Non-Fiction|614.56 WAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000677928|SE00000312|Glencliff High - Teen Non-Fiction|614.5 WAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, overdrive:39249a5c-0b81-4746-b009-4352807eb665|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:7a4c77e9-c495-4af3-9d68-eabe3daa3a14|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-12T05:43:25.995Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 614.563 W3198r
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edgehill, Goodlettsville
primary_isbn 9780670023738
publishDate 2012, 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000396082|Book|Books||English|Viking,|2012.|x, 275 p. : ill. ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000677928|Book|Books||English|Penguin Books,|2013, 2012.|x, 275 p. : ill. ; 21 cm., overdrive:39249a5c-0b81-4746-b009-4352807eb665|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Publishing|2012|, overdrive:7a4c77e9-c495-4af3-9d68-eabe3daa3a14|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000396082 35192042808265 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000396082 35192042808273 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:7a4c77e9-c495-4af3-9d68-eabe3daa3a14 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:39249a5c-0b81-4746-b009-4352807eb665 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Rabies -- Epidemiology -- History, Rabies -- History, Rabies -- Treatment -- History
title_display Rabid : a cultural history of the world's most diabolical virus
title_full Rabid : a cultural history of the world's most diabolical virus / Bill Wasik and Monica Murphy, Rabid A Cultural History of the World's Most Diabolical Virus
title_short Rabid :
title_sub a cultural history of the world's most diabolical virus
topic_facet Epidemiology, History, Medical, Nonfiction, Rabies, Science, Treatment