Run: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Harlan Coben's Tell No One and Joseph Finder's Paranoia-- a high-octane thriller featuring a tech consultant who unwittingly steps into the rabbit hole of corporate cover-ups--and finds that his highly demanding job has suddenly become highly dangerous.   From Andrew Grant, the critically acclaimed author hailed by Nelson DeMille as "a little bit of le Carré and Ian Fleming, but with more grit and a sharper edge," comes a thrilling novel of suspense that hits the ground running when an innocent man suddenly finds himself a moving target.   Marc Bowman, a highly successful computer consultant and software designer, walks into his job at a major tech company one morning only to find himself fired on the spot, stonewalled by his boss, and ushered out of the building. Then things get worse: An explosive argument drives his wife away and a robbery threatens to yank a million-dollar idea--and his whole future--out from under him. In a matter of hours, Marc has gone from having it all to being sucker-punched by fate. But it's only Monday, and before the week is over, he'll be stalked, ambushed, wiretapped, arrested, duped, double- and triple-crossed--until he can't tell enemies from allies.   Suddenly, the only thing standing between him and the wrath of everyone from the FBI to Homeland Security to his desperate ex-bosses is a flash drive full of data that might just be the holy grail of high-tech secrets--and a holy terror in the wrong hands. Now, as the gloves come off and the guns come out, turning back is hopeless and giving up is madness. The only person left for Marc to trust is himself. And the only thing left to do is keep running--or end up a dead man walking. Praise for Run   "Readers who enjoy corporate espionage will enjoy [ Run ]." -- Booklist   "Fast-moving . . . high on adrenaline." -- Publishers Weekly   "Twists and surprises abound, the pace never slows, and the writing satisfies. So go ahead, read and enjoy this one." -- Kirkus Reviews   " Run is an incredibly smart thriller, using current technology and security concerns mixed with old-school tactics to create breathless suspense. . . . The plot twists continue right up to the very last page, and the action propels the story forward, sweeping the reader right along with it. For a fast-paced, tension-fueled thriller where shady characters abound, add Run to your list." -- Crimespree Magazine   " Run is brilliantly crafted and lightning-paced." -- BookPage   "Run to the bookstore and check out Andrew Grant's Run ." -- Kings River Life Magazine "Breathtakingly fast-paced." --Harlan Coben   "Smart, fast, and blazing with nonstop surprises, Run owned me from the first page and, man, those pages kept turning! This is a perfect thriller." --Robert Crais   "An adrenaline-fueled thrill ride that will have your head spinning and your heart pounding." --Joseph Finder   "A fast-paced, sleek thrill ride. Andrew Grant knows how to keep you turning the pages." --Jeff Abbott   "High stakes, high tension, and nonstop action . . . Don't even try to predict where this taut thriller is headed. Just hang on and enjoy this smart, original, and fast-paced adventure." --Hank Phillippi Ryan
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345540720
9780345540744
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 31c93963-5743-0954-6937-ed2efef2fb2a
Grouping Title run
Grouping Author grant andrew
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-19 23:26:08PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-20 00:15:01AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Grant, Andrew, 1968-
author_display Grant, Andrew
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Fiction, Richland Park - Adult Fiction
display_description "Marc Bowman is an in-demand hired gun, a computer consultant for AmeriTel, the huge technical corporation where his wife Carolyn happens to work as a high-powered executive. Then, one morning, AmeriTel unceremoniously fires Marc with no notice and no cause. Furious, Marc turns to Carolyn for an explanation--and is stunned when she sides with her employer. Suddenly, things are happening in Marc's life that he can't explain; strange men are following him, items are disappearing from his home, and the FBI is turning up at his door to question him about his past projects. And then, without warning, Carolyn vanishes"--
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 31c93963-5743-0954-6937-ed2efef2fb2a
isbn 9780345540720, 9780345540744
item_details ils:CARL0000451689|35192043842552|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction Grant|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000451689|35192043842578|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Grant|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000451689|35192043842586|Richland Park - Adult Fiction|Fiction Grant|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, overdrive:9f775048-191f-482e-ab52-02587a6d21e7|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-20T05:15:01.552Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Grant
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
primary_isbn 9780345540720
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000451689|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Ballantine Books,|[2014]|269 pages ; 25 cm., overdrive:9f775048-191f-482e-ab52-02587a6d21e7|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:9f775048-191f-482e-ab52-02587a6d21e7 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000451689 35192043842552 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000451689 35192043842578 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000451689 35192043842586 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Betrayal -- Fiction, Computer industry -- Fiction, Corporations -- Corrupt practices -- Fiction, Suspense fiction, English, Technology consultants -- Fiction, Trade secrets -- Fiction
title_display Run : a novel
title_full Run : a novel / Andrew Grant, Run A Novel
title_short Run :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Betrayal, Computer industry, Corporations, Corrupt practices, Fiction, Mystery, Suspense, Suspense fiction, English, Technology consultants, Thriller, Trade secrets