Dollbaby: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A Top Ten Finalist for Best Historical Novel, Goodreads Choice Awards, and a LibraryReads and Okra Pick A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans--a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets   When Ibby Bell's father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father's urn for good measure. Fannie's New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been--and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum--is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie's black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.   For Fannie's own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby's arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby's hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.   For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help , Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.   By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780670014736
9781101975671
9781101614716
9781410473929
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 3420152f-9c23-2554-2231-6bd586db303c
Grouping Title dollbaby
Grouping Author mcneal laura lane
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-16 23:07:43PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-16 23:51:50PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Laura Lane McNeal
author_display McNeal, Laura Lane
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Donelson, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Richland Park, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Fiction, Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Fiction, Donelson - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Large Print, Main Library - Adult Fiction, Richland Park - Adult Fiction, Thompson Lane - Adult Large Print
display_description "When Ibby Bell's father dies in a tragic accident in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother, Fannie, and throws in her father's urn for good measure. Fannie's Victorian house is like no place Ibby has ever been--and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum every once in a while--is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, her black cook, Queenie ... and Queenie's feisty daughter Dollbaby take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets"--
format_catalog Book, Large Print, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 3420152f-9c23-2554-2231-6bd586db303c
isbn 9780670014736, 9781101614716, 9781101975671, 9781410473929
item_details ils:CARL0000436305|35192046096057|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction McNeal|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000436305|35192046096081|Richland Park - Adult Fiction|Fiction McNeal|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000436305|35192046096099|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction McNeal|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000436305|35192046096107|Donelson - Adult Fiction|Fiction McNeal|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000436305|35192046096131|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction McNeal|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000436305|35192046096156|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction McNeal|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000436305|B00740357|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F MCN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000456182|35192046923524|Thompson Lane - Adult Large Print|Fiction McNeal Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000456182|35192046923540|Hermitage - Adult Large Print|Fiction McNeal Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, overdrive:ab9d8664-40b2-46fb-a825-1e3bd318160d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:e6950fb6-1e52-4de8-9ff4-d19f059779b0|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book, Large Print Book
last_indexed 2018-07-17T04:51:50.279Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction McNeal, Fiction McNeal Large Type
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Donelson, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780670014736
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000436305|Book|Books||English|Pamela Dorman Books/Viking,|[2014]|x, 337 pages : maps ; 24 cm., ils:CARL0000456182|Large Print|Books|Large print edition.|English|Thorndike Press,|2014.|545 pages (large print) ; 24 cm., overdrive:ab9d8664-40b2-46fb-a825-1e3bd318160d|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group|2014|, overdrive:e6950fb6-1e52-4de8-9ff4-d19f059779b0|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:ab9d8664-40b2-46fb-a825-1e3bd318160d -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:e6950fb6-1e52-4de8-9ff4-d19f059779b0 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000436305 35192046096156 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000436305 35192046096131 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000436305 35192046096081 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000436305 35192046096099 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000436305 35192046096057 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000436305 35192046096107 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000456182 35192046923524 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000456182 35192046923540 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Bildungsromans, Families -- Fiction, Historical fiction, American, Large type books, Louisiana -- Race relations -- Fiction, New Orleans (La.) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction, Redemption -- Fiction
title_display Dollbaby
title_full Dollbaby / Laura Lane McNeal, Dollbaby A Novel, Dollbaby [text (large print)] / by Laura Lane McNeal
title_short Dollbaby
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Bildungsromans, Families, Fiction, Historical fiction, American, History, Large type books, Literature, Race relations, Redemption