The wishing thread

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
" For fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Sarah Addison Allen, The Wishing Thread is an enchanting novel about the bonds between sisters, the indelible pull of the past, and the transformational power of love. he Van Ripper women have been the talk of Tarrytown, New York, for centuries. Some say they're angels; some say they're crooks. In their tumbledown Stitchery, not far from the stomping grounds of the legendary Headless Horseman, the Van Ripper sisters Aubrey, Bitty, and Meggie are said to knit people's most ardent wishes into beautiful scarves and mittens, granting them health, success, or even a blossoming romance. But for the magic to work, sacrifices must be made and no one knows that better than the Van Rippers. hen the Stitchery matriarch, Mariah, dies, she leaves the yarn shop to her three nieces. Aubrey, shy and reliable, has dedicated her life to weaving spells for the community, though her sisters have long stayed away. Bitty, pragmatic and persistent, has always been skeptical of magic and wants her children to have a normal, nonmagical life. Meggie, restless and free-spirited, follows her own set of rules. Now, after Mariah's death forces a reunion
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345538550
9781494520816
9780345537829
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 384e0010-b283-7147-649b-f56da13ffcb5
Grouping Title wishing thread
Grouping Author van allen lisa
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2020-01-22 22:43:42PM
Last Indexed 2020-01-22 23:44:21PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Lisa Van Allen
author_display Lisa Van Allen
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Inglewood
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction
Inglewood - Adult Fiction
display_description "Known for its ties to the infamous "Legend of Sleepy Hollow," Tarrytown, N.Y., is a prime destination for those hoping to have a brush with the occult. But those native to the area know that the real magic happens deep within its trenches--in the ramshackle neighborhood of Tappan Square--where the Van Ripper women are believed to have the power to grant wishes by stitching them into the fibers of hats, scarves and mittens. The gift is one that's been passed down through generations of Van Rippers since the Revolutionary War era, but when the Stitchery's matriarch drops dead in a fiery fit, what's revealed in her will has the potential to threaten the family legacy forever. Now, estranged sisters Aubrey, Bitty and Meggie must reunite after years of separation to decide the fate of the Stitchery, and ultimately, the family's age-old tradition"--
format_catalog Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id 384e0010-b283-7147-649b-f56da13ffcb5
isbn 9780345537829
9780345538550
9781494520816
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:86b8e13a-927b-444e-b8f6-fcd29143cda7 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
overdrive:a5ba0172-0b49-4180-9074-77af0c0ff4d2 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 2 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000417955 35192044529588 Inglewood - Adult Fiction Fiction VanAlle 1 false false On Shelf IN
ils:CARL0000417955 35192044529562 Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction Fiction VanAlle 1 false false On Shelf EP
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2020-01-23T05:44:21.269Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction VanAlle
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Inglewood
primary_isbn 9780345538550
publishDate 2013
2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:86b8e13a-927b-444e-b8f6-fcd29143cda7 eAudiobook Audio Books English Tantor Media, Inc. 2014
overdrive:a5ba0172-0b49-4180-9074-77af0c0ff4d2 eBook eBook English Random House Publishing Group 2013
ils:CARL0000417955 Book Books English Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks, [2013] 385 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:86b8e13a-927b-444e-b8f6-fcd29143cda7 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:a5ba0172-0b49-4180-9074-77af0c0ff4d2 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000417955 35192044529588 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417955 35192044529562 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Knitting -- Fiction
Paranormal fiction, American
Sisters -- Fiction
Tarrytown (N.Y.) -- Fiction
title_display The wishing thread : a novel
title_full The Wishing Thread
The Wishing Thread A Novel
The wishing thread : a novel / Lisa Van Allen
title_short The wishing thread :
title_sub
topic_facet Fiction
Knitting
Literature
Paranormal fiction, American
Romance
Sisters