Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

Find current Main Library parking garage construction information

The wishing thread

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * USA TODAY BESTSELLER "Reader to reader, knitter to knitter: You're going to love this book."--Debbie Macomber For fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Sarah Addison Allen, The Wishing Thread is an enchanting novel about the bonds between sisters, the indelible pull of the past, and the transformational power of love. The Van Ripper women have been the talk of Tarrytown, New York, for centuries. Some say they're angels; some say they're crooks. In their tumbledown "Stitchery," not far from the stomping grounds of the legendary Headless Horseman, the Van Ripper sisters--Aubrey, Bitty, and Meggie--are said to knit people's most ardent wishes into beautiful scarves and mittens, granting them health, success, or even a blossoming romance. But for the magic to work, sacrifices must be made--and no one knows that better than the Van Rippers. When the Stitchery matriarch, Mariah, dies, she leaves the yarn shop to her three nieces. Aubrey, shy and reliable, has dedicated her life to weaving spells for the community, though her sisters have long stayed away. Bitty, pragmatic and persistent, has always been skeptical of magic and wants her children to have a normal, nonmagical life. Meggie, restless and free-spirited, follows her own set of rules. Now, after Mariah's death forces a reunion, the sisters must reassess the state of their lives even as they decide the fate of the Stitchery. But their relationships with one another--and their beliefs in magic--are put to the test. Will the threads hold? Praise for The Wishing Thread "With deft needlework, a dash of folklore, and some good old-fashioned family angst, Lisa Van Allen knits together the threads of second chances, the pleasure of giving, the complications of sisterhood, and love. There's a bit of magic in The Wishing Thread, in the words and the story as well as in the yarn." --Meg Waite Clayton, author of The Wednesday Sisters "Rich in myth and mystery, The Wishing Thread explores the tangle that is being a woman--from family and friendship to romance and community. Prepare to be ensnared, enthralled, enchanted!" -- USA Today bestselling author Christie Ridgway " The Wishing Thread is a lyrical, emotional, finely knit portrayal of three sisters struggling with love, magic and sacrifice. This is the best book I've read all year." --Lisa Verge Higgins, author of The Proper Care and Maintenance of Friendship "An intriguing story of three sisters tied by blood and a strange inheritance, each searching for a way to belong in that place where magic and life intersect. Wonderful!" --Shelley Noble, author of Beach Colors "Van Allen knits together this pleasantly entertaining tale as easily as the Van Ripper women knit together the often unraveling threads of people's lives. . . . Chick-lit cozy meets magical realism with inevitably warm and fuzzy results." -- Booklist "Fans of magical realism will want to pick up this enjoyable novel, which not only weaves magic through stitchery, but also weaves a realistic story about family and sisterhood and the threads that pull us back home." -- RT Book Reviews Includes an exclusive conversation between Sarah Addison Allen and Lisa Van Allen. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345538550
9780345537829
9781494520816
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 384e0010-b283-7147-649b-f56da13ffcb5
full_title wishing thread
author van allen lisa
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-04-24 22:48:17PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Rubinate, Amy.
author Van Allen, Lisa.
author2-role Rubinate, Amy., hoopla digital.
author_display Lisa Van Allen
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Inglewood
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction, Inglewood - Adult Fiction
display_description "Known for its ties to the infamous "Legend of Sleepy Hollow," Tarrytown, N.Y., is a prime destination for those hoping to have a brush with the occult. But those native to the area know that the real magic happens deep within its trenches--in the ramshackle neighborhood of Tappan Square--where the Van Ripper women are believed to have the power to grant wishes by stitching them into the fibers of hats, scarves and mittens. The gift is one that's been passed down through generations of Van Rippers since the Revolutionary War era, but when the Stitchery's matriarch drops dead in a fiery fit, what's revealed in her will has the potential to threaten the family legacy forever. Now, estranged sisters Aubrey, Bitty and Meggie must reunite after years of separation to decide the fate of the Stitchery, and ultimately, the family's age-old tradition"--
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 384e0010-b283-7147-649b-f56da13ffcb5
isbn 9780345537829, 9780345538550, 9781494520816
item_details hoopla:MWT11411983||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11411983||Available Online||||, ils:CARL0000417955|35192044529562|Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction|Fiction VanAlle|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000417955|35192044529588|Inglewood - Adult Fiction|Fiction VanAlle|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, overdrive:86b8e13a-927b-444e-b8f6-fcd29143cda7|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:a5ba0172-0b49-4180-9074-77af0c0ff4d2|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction VanAlle
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Inglewood
primary_isbn 9780345538550
publishDate 2013, 2014
record_details hoopla:MWT11411983|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Tantor Audio ,|2014.|1 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 04 min.)) : digital., ils:CARL0000417955|Book|Books||English|Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks,|[2013]|385 pages ; 21 cm., overdrive:86b8e13a-927b-444e-b8f6-fcd29143cda7|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media, Inc.|2014|, overdrive:a5ba0172-0b49-4180-9074-77af0c0ff4d2|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog hoopla:MWT11411983||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000417955|35192044529562|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000417955|35192044529588|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:86b8e13a-927b-444e-b8f6-fcd29143cda7|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:a5ba0172-0b49-4180-9074-77af0c0ff4d2|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Knitting -- Fiction, Love stories, Paranormal fiction, American, Sisters -- Fiction, Tarrytown (N.Y.) -- Fiction
title_display The wishing thread : a novel
title_full The Wishing Thread, The Wishing Thread A Novel, The wishing thread : a novel / Lisa Van Allen, The wishing thread : a novel [electronic resource] / Lisa Van Allen
title_short The wishing thread :
title_sub
topic_facet Fiction, Knitting, Literature, Paranormal fiction, American, Romance, Sisters