All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

Scrapper: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of The Dog Stars and Station Eleven , Scrapper traces one man's desperate quest for redemption in a devastated Detroit. "Has the feel of Cormac McCarthy's The Road set in present-day Motor City... powerful." -- Publishers Weekly Detroit has descended into ruin. Kelly scavenges for scrap metal from the hundred thousand abandoned buildings in a part of the city known as "the zone," an increasingly wild landscape where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy, crying out for rescue. Briefly celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly avenges the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past and long-buried traumas. The second novel from the acclaimed author of In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods , Scrapper is a devastating reimagining of one of America's greatest cities, its beautiful architecture, its lost houses, shuttered factories, boxing gyms, and storefront churches. With precise, powerful prose, it asks: What do we owe for our crimes, even those we've committed to protect the people we love?
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781616955212
9781490696607
9781616955229
161695521
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 3c8e7982-9bc8-5036-a1fd-a21450d9ef2b
Full title scrapper
Author bell matt
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-23 23:09:43PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-24 00:07:17AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Chandler, David, 1950-
author Bell, Matt, 1980-
author2-role Chandler, David,1950-|Narrator, Recorded Books, LLC.
author_display Bell, Matt
available_at_catalog Goodlettsville, Main Kids, Main Library, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Fiction, Thompson Lane - Adult Audiobook
display_description Kelly scavenges for scrap metal from the hundred thousand abandoned buildings in a part of Detroit known as "the zone," an increasingly wild landscape where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy, crying out for rescue. Briefly celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly takes on the responsibility of avenging the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past, his long-buried trauma, memories made dangerous again.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 3c8e7982-9bc8-5036-a1fd-a21450d9ef2b
isbn 161695521, 9781490696607, 9781616955212, 9781616955229
item_details ils:CARL0000468666|35192047896158|Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction|Fiction Bell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000468666|35192047896174|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Bell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000473579|35192047671833|Thompson Lane - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Bell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, overdrive:494b5580-ac30-404e-b637-6509e6e3e01d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book
last_indexed 2018-05-24T05:07:17.406Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Bell, Fiction Bell
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Goodlettsville, Main Kids, Main Library, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9781616955212
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000468666|Book|Books||English|Soho Press,|[2015]|304 pages ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000473579|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Recorded Books,|p2015.|7 sound discs (8 hr., 30 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:494b5580-ac30-404e-b637-6509e6e3e01d|eBook|eBook||English|Soho Press|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000468666|35192047896158|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000468666|35192047896174|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000473579|35192047671833|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:494b5580-ac30-404e-b637-6509e6e3e01d|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Audiobooks, Criminal investigation -- Fiction, Detective and mystery stories, American, Detroit (Mich.) -- Fiction, Kidnapping victims -- Fiction, Psychological fiction, American, Suspense fiction, American
title_display Scrapper
title_full Scrapper, Scrapper / Matt Bell, Scrapper [sound recording] : a novel / Matt Bell
title_short Scrapper
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Audiobooks, Criminal investigation, Detective and mystery stories, American, Fantasy, Fiction, Kidnapping victims, Literature, Psychological fiction, American, Suspense fiction, American