Scrapper

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of The Dog Stars and Station Eleven , Scrapper traces one man's desperate quest for redemption in a devastated Detroit. "Has the feel of Cormac McCarthy's The Road set in present-day Motor City... powerful." -- Publishers Weekly Detroit has descended into ruin. Kelly scavenges for scrap metal from the hundred thousand abandoned buildings in a part of the city known as "the zone," an increasingly wild landscape where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy, crying out for rescue. Briefly celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly avenges the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past and long-buried traumas. The second novel from the acclaimed author of In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods , Scrapper is a devastating reimagining of one of America's greatest cities, its beautiful architecture, its lost houses, shuttered factories, boxing gyms, and storefront churches. With precise, powerful prose, it asks: What do we owe for our crimes, even those we've committed to protect the people we love?
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781616955212
161695521
9781616955229
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 3c8e7982-9bc8-5036-a1fd-a21450d9ef2b
Grouping Title scrapper
Grouping Author bell matt
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-18 23:20:17PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-18 00:14:45AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Bell, Matt, 1980-
author_display Bell, Matt
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description Kelly scavenges for scrap metal from the hundred thousand abandoned buildings in a part of Detroit known as "the zone," an increasingly wild landscape where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy, crying out for rescue. Briefly celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly takes on the responsibility of avenging the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past, his long-buried trauma, memories made dangerous again.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 3c8e7982-9bc8-5036-a1fd-a21450d9ef2b
isbn 161695521, 9781616955212, 9781616955229
item_details ils:CARL0000468666|35192047896174|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Bell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:494b5580-ac30-404e-b637-6509e6e3e01d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-18T05:14:45.429Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Bell
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9781616955212
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000468666|Book|Books||English|Soho Press,|[2015]|304 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:494b5580-ac30-404e-b637-6509e6e3e01d|eBook|eBook||English|Soho Press|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:494b5580-ac30-404e-b637-6509e6e3e01d -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000468666 35192047896174 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Criminal investigation -- Fiction, Kidnapping victims -- Fiction, Suspense fiction, American
title_display Scrapper
title_full Scrapper, Scrapper / Matt Bell
title_short Scrapper
title_sub
topic_facet Criminal investigation, Fantasy, Fiction, Kidnapping victims, Literature, Suspense fiction, American