The castle behind thorns

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

This magical adventure set in an enchanted castle surrounded by thorns tells a tale of the power of memory and story, forgiveness and strength, and the true gifts of craft and imagination. By the acclaimed author of The Princess Curse and Handbook for Dragon Slayers, this original fantasy is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine, Karen Cushman, and Shannon Hale.

When blacksmith apprentice Sand wakes up in a ruined castle, he has no idea how he got there, but the thorny brambles that surround the walls prevent him from leaving. As he begins to fix up the castle in order to survive, everything he touches somehow works better than it should. Then, as he continues to explore, Sand discovers the castle's secrets, including its long lost heir, Perrotte. Together they must fully repair the broken castle if they ever want to leave.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062008190
9780062311863
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.6, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
790L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 3e3824f5-7d3a-97e3-4297-ded42f190d7f
Grouping Title castle behind thorns
Grouping Author haskell merrie
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-19 14:11:09PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-19 14:12:15PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 10
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.6
author Haskell, Merrie.
author_display Haskell, Merrie
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library, Old Hickory, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Kids Fiction, Old Hickory - Kids Fiction, Thompson Lane - Kids Fiction
display_description When Sand, a blacksmith's apprentice, wakes up in a broken castle, he must find a way to put it back together.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 3e3824f5-7d3a-97e3-4297-ded42f190d7f
isbn 9780062008190, 9780062311863
item_details ils:CARL0000437200|35192046130393|Thompson Lane - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Haskell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000437200|35192046130419|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Haskell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000437200|35192046130427|Old Hickory - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Haskell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||OH||, ils:CARL0000437200|A02079045|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00736286|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00736371|East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4A296||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00736466|McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4K540||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00736653|Antioch Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||41111||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00736739|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00736921|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00737018|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00737111|Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||47270||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00737195|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00737623|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|FANT F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00737830|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00738048|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||45238||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00738268|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00739418|Gra-Mar Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4C365||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00739486|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00739582|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00739835|Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4B355||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00740279|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|FAN F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4O563||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00740479|Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4T675||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00740570|John Early Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||49285||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00740666|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4H498||, ils:CARL0000437200|B00740761|Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||43120||, ils:CARL0000437200|FF00081465|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000437200|FF00085107|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000437200|MK10105864|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000437200|MK10124434|Smith Springs Elementary - Kids Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2P686||, ils:CARL0000437200|TT00007037|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, ils:CARL0000437200|TT00007133|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000437200|TT00008098|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4H498||, ils:CARL0000437200|TT00008214|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAS|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||45238||, overdrive:595e49d5-1691-49b6-b239-d0fb6a3998f4|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-19T19:12:15.598Z
lexile_score 790
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Haskell
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library, Old Hickory, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780062008190
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000437200|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2014]|327 pages : map ; 22 cm., overdrive:595e49d5-1691-49b6-b239-d0fb6a3998f4|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:595e49d5-1691-49b6-b239-d0fb6a3998f4 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000437200 35192046130393 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437200 35192046130427 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437200 35192046130419 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Castles -- Juvenile fiction, Fairy tales
title_display The castle behind thorns
title_full The Castle Behind Thorns, The castle behind thorns / Merrie Haskell
title_short The castle behind thorns
title_sub
topic_facet Castles, Fairy tales, Fantasy, Folklore, Juvenile Fiction