Before I met you: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013.
Language:
English
Description
Jazz Age London, a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother come together brilliantly in this gem of a novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone , perfect for fans of Downton Abbey , Twenties Girl , and The Chaperone. After her grandmother Arlette's death, Betty is finally ready to begin her life. She had forfeited university, parties, boyfriends, summer jobs--all the usual preoccupations of a woman her age--in order to care for Arlette in their dilapidated, albeit charming home on the English island of Guernsey. Her will included a beneficiary unknown to Betty and her family, a woman named Clara Pickle who presumably could be found at a London address. Now, having landed on a rather shabby street corner in '90s Soho, Betty is determined to find the mysterious Clara. She's ready for whatever life has to throw her way. Or so she thinks . . . In 1920s bohemian London, Arlette De La Mare is starting her new life in a time of postwar change. Beautiful and charismatic, she is soon drawn into the hedonistic world of the Bright Young People. But two years after her arrival in London, tragedy strikes and she flees back to her childhood home and remains there for the rest of her life. As Betty navigates the ups and downs of city life and begins working as a nanny for a rock star tabloid magnet, her search for Clara leads her to a man--a stranger to Betty, but someone who meant the world to her grandmother. Will the secrets of Arlette's past help Betty find her own way to happiness in the present? A rich detective story and a captivating look at London then and now, Before I Met You is an unforgettable novel about two very different women, separated by seventy years, but united by big hearts and even bigger dreams.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781476702940
9781476702957
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 3ef136df-ea84-3aff-57a9-2d1a0246c3c8
Grouping Title before i met you
Grouping Author jewell lisa
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-20 22:45:09PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-20 23:30:18PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Jewell, Lisa.
author_display Jewell, Lisa
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description In Jazz Age London, a tale of a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother, unfolds.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 3ef136df-ea84-3aff-57a9-2d1a0246c3c8
isbn 9781476702940, 9781476702957
item_details ils:CARL0000418549|35192044861569|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Jewell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000418549|35192044861577|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Jewell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, overdrive:84e4b1ff-7fa2-4d9b-831a-7ea8a6e71efa|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-21T04:30:18.899Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Jewell
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9781476702940
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000418549|Book|Books|First Atria Books trade paperback edition.|English|Atria Paperback,|2013.|435 pages ; 21 cm., overdrive:84e4b1ff-7fa2-4d9b-831a-7ea8a6e71efa|eBook|eBook||English|Atria Books|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:84e4b1ff-7fa2-4d9b-831a-7ea8a6e71efa -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000418549 35192044861569 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000418549 35192044861577 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Artists -- Fiction, Family secrets -- Fiction, Grandmothers -- Fiction, Historical fiction, English, Jazz musicians -- Fiction, London (England) -- Fiction, Nineteen twenties -- Fiction, Romantic suspense fiction
title_display Before I met you : a novel
title_full Before I Met You A Novel, Before I met you : a novel / Lisa Jewell
title_short Before I met you :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Artists, Family secrets, Fiction, Grandmothers, Historical Fiction, Historical fiction, English, Jazz musicians, Literature, Nineteen twenties, Romantic suspense fiction