Before I met you: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"Lisa Jewell leaves the chick-lit tag firmly behind with Before I Met You , a poignant story about a young woman uncovering her grandmother's bohemian life in 1920s London--and finding her own place in the world in the process."-- Good Housekeeping (UK) "Jewell's moving novel immerses readers in the lives of these unique characters through the universal themes of family and a search for belonging...a compelling and entertaining novel." -- Publishers Weekly Jazz Age London, a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother come together brilliantly in this gem of a novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone , perfect for fans of Downton Abbey , Twenties Girl , and The Chaperone. After her grandmother Arlette's death, Betty is finally ready to begin her life. She had forfeited university, parties, boyfriends, summer jobs--all the usual preoccupations of a woman her age--in order to care for Arlette in their dilapidated, albeit charming home on the English island of Guernsey. Her will included a beneficiary unknown to Betty and her family, a woman named Clara Pickle who presumably could be found at a London address. Now, having landed on a rather shabby street corner in '90s Soho, Betty is determined to find the mysterious Clara. She's ready for whatever life has to throw her way. Or so she thinks . . . In 1920s bohemian London, Arlette De La Mare is starting her new life in a time of postwar change. Beautiful and charismatic, she is soon drawn into the hedonistic world of the Bright Young People. But two years after her arrival in London, tragedy strikes and she flees back to her childhood home and remains there for the rest of her life. As Betty navigates the ups and downs of city life and begins working as a nanny for a rock star tabloid magnet, her search for Clara leads her to a man--a stranger to Betty, but someone who meant the world to her grandmother. Will the secrets of Arlette's past help Betty find her own way to happiness in the present? A rich detective story and a captivating look at London then and now, Before I Met You is an unforgettable novel about two very different women, separated by seventy years, but united by big hearts and even bigger dreams.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781476702940
9781476702957
9781974904013
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 3ef136df-ea84-3aff-57a9-2d1a0246c3c8
Grouping Title before i met you
Grouping Author jewell lisa
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-22 22:53:45PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-23 00:06:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Jewell, Lisa.
author_display Lisa Jewell
available_at_catalog East
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog East - Adult Fiction
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description In Jazz Age London, a tale of a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother, unfolds.
format_catalog Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id 3ef136df-ea84-3aff-57a9-2d1a0246c3c8
isbn 9781476702940
9781476702957
9781974904013
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:63fb862c-a440-433d-85ba-c3440ed06207 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 2 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Checked Out
overdrive:84e4b1ff-7fa2-4d9b-831a-7ea8a6e71efa -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 2 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000418549 35192044861569 Main Library - Adult Fiction Fiction Jewell 1 false false On Shelf MN
ils:CARL0000418549 35192044861577 Green Hills - Adult Fiction Fiction Jewell 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000418549 35192044861544 East - Adult Fiction Fiction Jewell 1 false false On Shelf EA
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-10-23T05:06:21.021Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Jewell
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog East
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
primary_isbn 9781476702940
publishDate 2013
2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:63fb862c-a440-433d-85ba-c3440ed06207 eAudiobook Audio Books English Dreamscape Media, LLC 2018
overdrive:84e4b1ff-7fa2-4d9b-831a-7ea8a6e71efa eBook eBook English Atria Books 2013
ils:CARL0000418549 Book Books First Atria Books trade paperback edition. English Atria Paperback, 2013. 435 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:63fb862c-a440-433d-85ba-c3440ed06207 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:84e4b1ff-7fa2-4d9b-831a-7ea8a6e71efa -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000418549 35192044861569 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000418549 35192044861577 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000418549 35192044861544 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Artists -- Fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
Grandmothers -- Fiction
Historical fiction, English
Jazz musicians -- Fiction
London (England) -- Fiction
Nineteen twenties -- Fiction
Romantic suspense fiction
title_display Before I met you : a novel
title_full Before I Met You A Novel
Before I met you : a novel / Lisa Jewell
title_short Before I met you :
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Artists
Family secrets
Fiction
Grandmothers
Historical Fiction
Historical fiction, English
Jazz musicians
Literature
Nineteen twenties
Romantic suspense fiction