Salvation Boulevard: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Some cases test a private investigator's wits, others test his courage, and still others, his character. In Salvation Boulevard , P.I. Carl Van Wagener has found a case that tests them all, and then goes on to test his soul. A professor is dead and a suspect--who has confessed--is in custody. But nothing is what it seems. After all, the dead man is an atheist professor, the accused an Islamic foreign student, the defense attorney a Jew, and the detective a Born Again Christian. As Carl gets deeper and deeper into the investigation of the death of professor Nathaniel MacLeod, his most basic beliefs and relationships are tried and his world is turned upside down. The mega-church, the pastor, and his new wife who have redeemed Carl from a life of grim debauchery insist on his dropping the case. But he can't stop searching for the real killer and the truth--no matter what the personal cost.

Salvation Boulevard is a page-turning thriller in the tradition of John Grisham and Richard Condon that grapples with the ecstatic and entropic nature of religious faith in contemporary America.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781568586748
9781452622590
9781452602592
9780786726172
145260259
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 4108bf3f-ef71-5e97-dd6c-cf7aa202c14b
Grouping Title salvation boulevard
Grouping Author beinhart larry
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-25 22:58:20PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-25 23:50:57PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Kramer, Michael (Narrator).
author Larry Beinhart
author2-role Kramer, Michael(Narrator)., Tantor Media.
author_display Beinhart, Larry
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Audiobook
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Audiobook
display_description Some cases test a private investigator’s wits, others test his courage, and still others, his character. In Salvation Boulevard, P.I. Carl Van Wagener has found a case that tests them all, and then goes on to test his soul. A professor is dead and a suspect—who has confessed—is in custody. But nothing is what it seems. After all, the dead man is an atheist professor, the accused an Islamic foreign student, the defense attorney a Jew, and the detective a Born Again Christian. As Carl gets deeper and deeper into the investigation of the death of professor Nathaniel MacLeod, his most basic beliefs and relationships are tried and his world is turned upside down. The mega-church, the pastor, and his new wife who have redeemed Carl from a life of grim debauchery insist on his dropping the case. But he can’t stop searching for the real killer and the truth—no matter what the personal cost.

Salvation Boulevard is a page-turning thriller in the tradition of John Grisham and Richard Condon that grapples with the ecstatic and entropic nature of religious faith in contemporary America.

format_catalog CD audio book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, eBook
id 4108bf3f-ef71-5e97-dd6c-cf7aa202c14b
isbn 145260259, 9780786726172, 9781452602592, 9781452622590, 9781568586748
item_details ils:CARL0000376761|35192039736594|Main Library - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Beinhar|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:673cafcc-1423-4185-aaad-9e6a3f6a3990|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:7b5ddd92-e872-4db8-a8a6-36c658fe2717|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:ca19195e-7569-4542-8746-2a9867d5c807|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , CD audio book
last_indexed 2018-09-26T04:50:57.983Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Beinhar
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9781568586748
publishDate 2008, 2011
record_details ils:CARL0000376761|CD audio book|Audio Books|[Retail ed.] ; Unabridged.|English|Tantor Media, Inc.,|p2011.|10 sound discs (11.5 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:673cafcc-1423-4185-aaad-9e6a3f6a3990|eBook|eBook||English|Nation Books|2008|, overdrive:7b5ddd92-e872-4db8-a8a6-36c658fe2717|eBook|eBook||English|Nation Books|2011|, overdrive:ca19195e-7569-4542-8746-2a9867d5c807|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media|2011|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:673cafcc-1423-4185-aaad-9e6a3f6a3990 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:ca19195e-7569-4542-8746-2a9867d5c807 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:7b5ddd92-e872-4db8-a8a6-36c658fe2717 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000376761 35192039736594 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Atheists -- United States -- Fiction, Audiobooks, College students -- Fiction, Jewish lawyers -- United States -- Fiction, Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction, Muslims -- United States -- Fiction
title_display Salvation Boulevard
title_full Salvation Boulevard A Novel, Salvation Boulevard [sound recording] : a novel / Larry Beinhart
title_short Salvation Boulevard
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Atheists, Audiobooks, College students, Fiction, Investigation, Jewish lawyers, Literature, Murder, Muslims, Mystery