Salvation Boulevard: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Some cases test a private investigator's wits, others test his courage, and still others, his character. In Salvation Boulevard , P.I. Carl Van Wagener has found a case that tests them all, and then goes on to test his soul. A professor is dead and a suspect--who has confessed--is in custody. But nothing is what it seems. After all, the dead man is an atheist professor, the accused an Islamic foreign student, the defense attorney a Jew, and the detective a Born Again Christian. As Carl gets deeper and deeper into the investigation of the death of professor Nathaniel MacLeod, his most basic beliefs and relationships are tried and his world is turned upside down. The mega-church, the pastor, and his new wife who have redeemed Carl from a life of grim debauchery insist on his dropping the case. But he can't stop searching for the real killer and the truth--no matter what the personal cost.

Salvation Boulevard is a page-turning thriller in the tradition of John Grisham and Richard Condon that grapples with the ecstatic and entropic nature of religious faith in contemporary America.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781568586748
9781452622590
9780786726172
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 4108bf3f-ef71-5e97-dd6c-cf7aa202c14b
Grouping Title salvation boulevard
Grouping Author beinhart larry
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-07-20 23:01:53PM
Last Indexed 2019-07-20 23:49:53PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Larry Beinhart
author_display Larry Beinhart
display_description Some cases test a private investigator’s wits, others test his courage, and still others, his character. In Salvation Boulevard, P.I. Carl Van Wagener has found a case that tests them all, and then goes on to test his soul. A professor is dead and a suspect—who has confessed—is in custody. But nothing is what it seems. After all, the dead man is an atheist professor, the accused an Islamic foreign student, the defense attorney a Jew, and the detective a Born Again Christian. As Carl gets deeper and deeper into the investigation of the death of professor Nathaniel MacLeod, his most basic beliefs and relationships are tried and his world is turned upside down. The mega-church, the pastor, and his new wife who have redeemed Carl from a life of grim debauchery insist on his dropping the case. But he can’t stop searching for the real killer and the truth—no matter what the personal cost.

Salvation Boulevard is a page-turning thriller in the tradition of John Grisham and Richard Condon that grapples with the ecstatic and entropic nature of religious faith in contemporary America.

format_catalog eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, eBook
id 4108bf3f-ef71-5e97-dd6c-cf7aa202c14b
isbn 9780786726172, 9781452622590, 9781568586748
item_details overdrive:673cafcc-1423-4185-aaad-9e6a3f6a3990|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:7b5ddd92-e872-4db8-a8a6-36c658fe2717|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:ca19195e-7569-4542-8746-2a9867d5c807|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2019-07-21T04:49:53.68Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
primary_isbn 9781568586748
publishDate 2008, 2011
record_details overdrive:673cafcc-1423-4185-aaad-9e6a3f6a3990|eBook|eBook||English|Nation Books|2008|, overdrive:7b5ddd92-e872-4db8-a8a6-36c658fe2717|eBook|eBook||English|Nation Books|2011|, overdrive:ca19195e-7569-4542-8746-2a9867d5c807|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media|2011|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:673cafcc-1423-4185-aaad-9e6a3f6a3990 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:ca19195e-7569-4542-8746-2a9867d5c807 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:7b5ddd92-e872-4db8-a8a6-36c658fe2717 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
title_display Salvation Boulevard
title_full Salvation Boulevard A Novel
title_short Salvation Boulevard
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction, Literature, Mystery