Under a painted sky

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the author of Outrun the Moon , Stacey Lee's debut novel is a powerful story about love, friendship, and sacrifice. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity. "This moving novel will captivate you."--Buzzfeed.com All Samantha wanted was to move back to New York and pursue her music, which was difficult enough being a Chinese girl in Missouri, 1849. Then her fate takes a turn for the worse after a tragic accident leaves her with nothing and she breaks the law in self-defense. With help from Annamae, a runaway slave she met at the scene of her crime, the two flee town for the unknown frontier. But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for two girls. Disguised as Sammy and Andy, two boys heading for the California gold rush, each search for a link to their past and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. Until they merge paths with a band of cowboys turned allies, and Samantha can't stop herself from falling for one. But the law is closing in on them and new setbacks come each day, and the girls will quickly learn there are not many places one can hide on the open trail. Winner of the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award An ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick An Amelia Bloomer Book
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399168031
9781494594329
9780147511843
9780698173651
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 4.9, 13 Points
Lexile measure:
730L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 438820b3-85a1-6ab7-7053-9b3ab8ccb624
Grouping Title under a painted sky
Grouping Author lee stacey
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-19 23:18:15PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-20 00:26:34AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 13
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.9
author Stacey Lee
author_display Lee, Stacey
available_at_catalog Goodlettsville, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction, Hermitage - Teen Fiction, Southeast - Teen Fiction
display_description "In 1845, Sammy, a Chinese American girl, and Annamae, an African American slave girl, disguise themselves as boys and travel on the Oregon Trail to California from Missouri"--Provided by publisher.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 438820b3-85a1-6ab7-7053-9b3ab8ccb624
isbn 9780147511843, 9780399168031, 9780698173651, 9781494594329
item_details ils:CARL0000457031|35192047216597|Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Lee|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000457031|35192047216605|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Lee|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000457031|35192047216613|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Lee|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000457031|B00760126|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|ADV F LEE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000457031|FF00097261|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F LEE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000457031|MK10153676|West End Middle - Teen Fiction|F LEE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4V770||, ils:CARL0000457031|QQ00191372|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F LEE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000677175|FF00129335|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F LEE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, overdrive:22b9c37c-81af-4222-9143-c81461c91ce9|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:cbbf0f04-4cbc-40e1-96e7-d6a10761f07d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-20T05:26:34.607Z
lexile_score 730
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Lee
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Goodlettsville, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780399168031
publishDate 2015, 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000457031|Book|Books||English|G. P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA),|[2015]|374 pages ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000677175|Book|Books||English|Speak,|2016.|372, 4 p. ; 21 cm., overdrive:22b9c37c-81af-4222-9143-c81461c91ce9|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media, Inc.|2015|, overdrive:cbbf0f04-4cbc-40e1-96e7-d6a10761f07d|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Young Readers Group|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:22b9c37c-81af-4222-9143-c81461c91ce9 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:cbbf0f04-4cbc-40e1-96e7-d6a10761f07d -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000457031 35192047216597 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000457031 35192047216605 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000457031 35192047216613 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Action and adventure fiction, Adventure stories, American, African Americans, African Americans -- Fiction, Chinese Americans, Chinese Americans -- Fiction, Historical fiction, Oregon National Historic Trail, Oregon National Historic Trail -- Fiction, Runaway children, Runaways -- Fiction, Sex role, Sex role -- Fiction, Slavery, Slavery -- Fiction, West (U.S.) -- History -- 1848-1860, West (U.S.) -- History -- 1848-1860 -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display Under a painted sky
title_full Under a Painted Sky, Under a painted sky / Stacey Lee
title_short Under a painted sky
title_sub
topic_facet Adventure stories, American, African Americans, Chinese Americans, Historical Fiction, History, Runaway children, Runaways, Sex role, Slavery, Western, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Young adult fiction