The amazing adventures of John Smith, Jr., aka Houdini

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

For fans of Jerry Spinelli's Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt's The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos's Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson.

When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it's hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home.

No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780061988905
9780061988912
9780062099129
006198891
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.7, 5 Points
Lexile measure:
950L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 46859a96-6612-b42e-234b-f6447c768b53
Grouping Title amazing adventures of john smith jr aka houdini
Grouping Author johnson peter
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-23 23:04:45PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-23 00:28:22AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 5
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.7
author Peter Johnson
author_display Johnson, Peter
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction
display_description Thirteen-year-old John "Houdini" Smith tries to write a book about what is happening in his life, from his parents' worries about money and his brother in Iraq, to his new understandings of people while he and his friends rake lawns in their East Side Providence, Rhode Island, neighborhood.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 46859a96-6612-b42e-234b-f6447c768b53
isbn 006198891, 9780061988905, 9780061988912, 9780062099129
item_details ils:CARL0000388421|35192041537345|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Johnson|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000388421|A01875945|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F JOH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000388421|A02042111|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F JOH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000388421|B00635271|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F JOH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000388421|FF00040994|Cane Ridge Elementary - Kids Fiction|F JOH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||16184||, ils:CARL0000388421|QQ00145141|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F JOH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, ils:CARL0000388421|TT3993|Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction|F JOH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||71181||, ils:CARL0000388421|TT4104|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|REAL F JOH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, ils:CARL0000657129|MK10120892|Waverly-Belmont Elementary - Kids Fiction|F JOH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2X765||, ils:CARL0000657129|MK10123854|Smith Springs Elementary - Kids Fiction|F JOH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2P686||, ils:CARL0000657129|MK10206248|Eagle View Elementary - Kids Fiction|F Joh|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||31278||, overdrive:5168f53c-b039-4b95-bcf9-f6a1327a3b3e|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-23T05:28:22.227Z
lexile_score 950
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Johnson
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids
primary_isbn 9780061988905
publishDate 2012, 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000388421|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Harper,|c2012.|168 p. ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000657129|Book|Books|First paperback edition.|English|Harper,|2014.|168, 12 pages ; 20 cm, overdrive:5168f53c-b039-4b95-bcf9-f6a1327a3b3e|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:5168f53c-b039-4b95-bcf9-f6a1327a3b3e -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000388421 35192041537345 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Authorship -- Fiction, Authorship -- Juvenile fiction, Bildungsromans, Families -- Rhode Island -- Juvenile fiction, Family life -- Rhode Island -- Fiction, Interpersonal relations -- Juvenile fiction, Interpersonal relations. -- Fiction, Money-making projects for children -- Juvenile fiction, Moneymaking projects -- Fiction, Neighborliness -- Fiction, Neighborliness -- Juvenile fiction, Providence (R.I.) -- Fiction, Providence (R.I.) -- Juvenile fiction
title_display The amazing adventures of John Smith, Jr., aka Houdini
title_full The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr. AKA Houdini, The amazing adventures of John Smith, Jr., aka Houdini / by Peter Johnson
title_short The amazing adventures of John Smith, Jr., aka Houdini
title_sub
topic_facet Authorship, Families, Family life, Interpersonal relations, Juvenile Fiction, Money-making projects for children, Moneymaking projects, Neighborliness