Looby Branch Library is closed September 17-27, 2019. Holds will be available for pick up at North Branch Library.

When you read this: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

"Fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette will love this. . . a bittersweet, often funny novel about hope, memory, and loose ends."

-Real Simple, "The Best Books of 2019 (So Far)"

A comedy-drama for the digital age: an epistolary debut novel about the ties that bind and break our hearts, for fans of Maria Semple and Rainbow Rowell. Iris Massey is gone. But she's left something behind.

For four years, Iris Massey worked side by side with PR maven Smith Simonyi, helping clients perfect their brands. But Iris has died, taken by terminal illness at only thirty-three. Adrift without his friend and colleague, Smith is surprised to discover that in her last six months, Iris created a blog filled with sharp and often funny musings on the end of a life not quite fulfilled. She also made one final request: for Smith to get her posts published as a book. With the help of his charmingly eager, if overbearingly forthright, new intern Carl, Smith tackles the task of fulfilling Iris's last wish.

Before he can do so, though, he must get the approval of Iris' big sister Jade, an haute cuisine chef who's been knocked sideways by her loss. Each carrying their own baggage, Smith and Jade end up on a collision course with their own unresolved pasts and with each other.

Told in a series of e-mails, blog posts, online therapy submissions, text messages, legal correspondence, home-rental bookings, and other snippets of our virtual lives, When You Read This is a deft, captivating romantic comedy--funny, tragic, surprising, and bittersweet--that candidly reveals how we find new beginnings after loss.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062834676
9780062890771
9780062834706
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 47c74d08-992d-12ee-dcb7-53230bbd0857
Grouping Title when you read this
Grouping Author adkins mary
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-09-19 09:39:39AM
Last Indexed 2019-09-19 09:41:03AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Adkins, Mary,
author_display Mary Adkins
available_at_catalog Edgehill
Richland Park
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Fiction
Edgehill - Adult Fiction
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Inglewood - Adult Fiction
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Richland Park - Adult Fiction
display_description After his friend, Iris, dies from a terminal illness at age thirty-three, PR genius Smith Simonyi teams up with Iris' sister, Jade, to make Iris' final request--to get her blog posts published as a book--a reality.
format_catalog Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id 47c74d08-992d-12ee-dcb7-53230bbd0857
isbn 9780062834676
9780062834706
9780062890771
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:9d8aeb48-f37c-4abb-aa55-dd6250b3e5dc -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 2 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Checked Out
ils:CARL0000758303 35192051244634 Edgehill - Adult Fiction Fiction Adkins 1 false false On Shelf EH
ils:CARL0000758303 35192051244683 Richland Park - Adult Fiction Fiction Adkins 1 false false On Shelf RP
ils:CARL0000758303 35192051244642 Green Hills - Adult Fiction Fiction Adkins 1 false false Checked Out GH
ils:CARL0000758303 35192051244667 Inglewood - Adult Fiction Fiction Adkins 1 false false Checked Out IN
ils:CARL0000758303 35192051244626 Bellevue - Adult Fiction Fiction Adkins 1 false false On Hold Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000758303 35192051244675 Main Library - Adult Fiction Fiction Adkins 1 false false Checked Out MN
overdrive:62685858-9df1-428a-92bf-987f7523cced -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 2 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-09-19T14:41:03.999Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Adkins
local_time_since_added_catalog Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Edgehill
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Inglewood
Main Kids
Main Library
Richland Park
primary_isbn 9780062834676
publishDate 2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:9d8aeb48-f37c-4abb-aa55-dd6250b3e5dc eBook eBook English HarperCollins 2019
ils:CARL0000758303 Book Books First edition. English Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2019] 376 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
overdrive:62685858-9df1-428a-92bf-987f7523cced eAudiobook Audio Books English HarperAudio 2019
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:9d8aeb48-f37c-4abb-aa55-dd6250b3e5dc -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000758303 35192051244634 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000758303 35192051244683 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000758303 35192051244642 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000758303 35192051244667 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000758303 35192051244626 Checked Out On Hold Shelf false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000758303 35192051244675 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
overdrive:62685858-9df1-428a-92bf-987f7523cced -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Blogs -- Fiction
Death -- Fiction
Epistolary fiction
Grief -- Fiction
title_display When you read this : a novel
title_full When You Read This A Novel
When you read this : a novel / Mary Adkins
title_short When you read this :
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Blogs
Death
Fiction
Grief
Literature