Cure for the common universe

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Prepare to be cured by this quirky and hilarious debut novel about a sixteen-year-old loner who is sent to rehab for video game addiction--perfect for fans of Ned Vizzini and Jesse Andrews. Sixteen-year-old Jaxon is being committed to video game rehab…ten minutes after meeting a girl. A living, breathing girl named Serena, who not only laughed at his jokes but actually kinda sorta seemed excited when she agreed to go out with him. Jaxon's first date. Ever. In rehab, Jaxon can't blast his way through galaxies to reach her. He can't slash through armies to kiss her sweet lips. Instead, he has four days to earn one million points by learning real-life skills. And he'll do whatever it takes--lie, cheat, steal, even learn how to cross-stitch--in order to make it to his date. If all else fails, Jaxon will have to bare his soul to the other teens in treatment, confront his mother's absence, and maybe admit that it's more than video games that stand in the way of a real connection. From a bright new voice in young adult literature comes the story of a young man with a serious case of arrested development--and carpal tunnel syndrome--who is about to discover what real life is all about.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781481450270
9781481450294
9781481450287
148145028
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 630L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 49712320-f686-aa50-c42e-f811334184ec
Grouping Title cure for the common universe
Grouping Author heidicker christian mckay
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-20 23:46:31PM
Last Indexed 2018-10-20 00:16:37AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Heidicker, Christian McKay,
author_display Heidicker, Christian McKay
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edgehill, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Fiction, Edgehill - Teen Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction, Green Hills - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Richland Park - Teen Fiction, Southeast - Teen Fiction, Thompson Lane - Teen Fiction
display_description "Jaxon meets the girl of his dreams on the same day that his father ships him off to video game rehab. Now he must earn 1 million therapy points in a week, if he wants to be released from rehab in time for his date"--
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 49712320-f686-aa50-c42e-f811334184ec
isbn 148145028, 9781481450270, 9781481450287, 9781481450294
item_details ils:CARL0000486486|35192048705838|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Heidick|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000486486|35192048705846|Edgehill - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Heidick|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EH||, ils:CARL0000486486|35192048705853|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Heidick|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000486486|35192048705861|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Heidick|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000486486|35192048705879|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Heidick|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000486486|35192048705887|Richland Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Heidick|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000486486|35192048705895|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Heidick|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000486486|35192048705903|Thompson Lane - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Heidick|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000486486|B00770466|Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||65397||, ils:CARL0000486486|FF00117429|Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||71181||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00226900|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|ROM F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00226935|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00226970|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00227005|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||61182||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00227039|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00227074|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00227108|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00227142|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00227175|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00227208|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00227259|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00227260|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00227307|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00227373|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00227443|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000486486|QQ00255514|East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction|F HEI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4A296||, overdrive:83a3b676-7da1-4626-80ba-3247109b1816|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-10-20T05:16:37.276Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 630
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Heidick
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edgehill, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9781481450270
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000486486|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers,|[2016]|314 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:83a3b676-7da1-4626-80ba-3247109b1816|eBook|eBook||English|Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers|2016|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000486486 35192048705861 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486486 35192048705838 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486486 35192048705887 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486486 35192048705853 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486486 35192048705846 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486486 35192048705903 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486486 35192048705879 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486486 35192048705895 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:83a3b676-7da1-4626-80ba-3247109b1816 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Dating (Social customs) -- Fiction, Interpersonal relations -- Fiction, Rehabilitation -- Fiction, Self-Actualization (Psychology) -- Fiction, Video games -- Fiction
title_display Cure for the common universe
title_full Cure for the Common Universe, Cure for the common universe / Christian McKay Heidicker
title_short Cure for the common universe
title_sub
topic_facet Dating (Social customs), Interpersonal relations, Juvenile Nonfiction, Rehabilitation, Self-Actualization (Psychology), Video games, Young Adult Literature