All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

The up side of down: why failing well is the key to success

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014.
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Drive, Outliers, and Daring Greatly , a counterintuitive, paradigm-shifting new take on what makes people and companies succeed Most new products fail. So do most small businesses. And most of us, if we are honest, have experienced a major setback in our personal or professional lives. So what determines who will bounce back and follow up with a home run? If you want to succeed in business and in life, Megan McArdle argues in this hugely thought-provoking book, you have to learn how to harness the power of failure. McArdle has been one of our most popular business bloggers for more than a decade, covering the rise and fall of some the world's top companies and challenging us to think differently about how we live, learn, and work. Drawing on cutting-edge research in science, psychology, economics, and business, and taking insights from turnaround experts, emergency room doctors, venture capitalists, child psychologists, bankruptcy judges, and mountaineers, McArdle argues that America is unique in its willingness to let people and companies fail, but also in its determination to let them pick up after the fall. Failure is how people and businesses learn. So how do you reinvent yourself when you are down? Dynamic and punchy, McArdle teaches us how to recognize mistakes early to channel setbacks into future success. The Up Side of Down marks the emergence of an author with her thumb on the pulse whose book just might change the way you lead your life.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780670026142
9780698151499
067002614
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 49e5c7b1-ebab-689a-80c4-bda15fc91897
Full title up side of down why failing well is the key to success
Author mcardle megan
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-21 23:05:26PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-21 18:29:05PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author McArdle, Megan,
author_display McArdle, Megan
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description "For readers of Drive, Outliers, and Daring Greatly, a counterintuitive, paradigm-shifting new take on what makes people and companies succeed Most new products fail. So do most small businesses. And most of us, if we are honest, have experienced a major setback in our personal or professional lives. So what determines who will bounce back and follow up with a home run? If you want to succeed in business and in life, Megan McArdle argues in this hugely thought-provoking book, you have to learn how to harness the power of failure. McArdle has been one of our most popular business bloggers for more than a decade, covering the rise and fall of some the world's top companies and challenging us to think differently about how we live, learn, and work. Drawing on cutting-edge research in science, psychology, economics, and business, and taking insights from turnaround experts, emergency room doctors, venture capitalists, child psychologists, bankruptcy judges, and mountaineers, McArdle argues that America is unique in its willingness to let people and companies fail, but also in its determination to let them pick up after the fall. Failure is how people and businesses learn. So how do you reinvent yourself when you are down? Dynamic and punchy, McArdle teaches us how to recognize mistakes early to channel setbacks into future success. The Up Side of Down marks the emergence of an author with her thumb on the pulse whose book just might change the way you lead your life"--
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 49e5c7b1-ebab-689a-80c4-bda15fc91897
isbn 067002614, 9780670026142, 9780698151499
item_details ils:CARL0000427368|35192045163866|Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction|650.1 M115u|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000427368|35192045163882|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|650.1 M115u|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, overdrive:dc3b87d3-4015-4581-8f9c-fa2b27fcde44|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-21T23:29:05.061Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 650.1 M115u
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids
primary_isbn 9780670026142
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000427368|Book|Books||English|Viking,|2014.|xiv, 299 pages ; 24 cm., overdrive:dc3b87d3-4015-4581-8f9c-fa2b27fcde44|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000427368|35192045163866|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000427368|35192045163882|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:dc3b87d3-4015-4581-8f9c-fa2b27fcde44|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Failure (Psychology), Success, Success in business
title_display The up side of down : why failing well is the key to success
title_full The Up Side of Down Why Failing Well Is the Key to Success, The up side of down : why failing well is the key to success / Megan McArdle
title_short The up side of down :
title_sub why failing well is the key to success
topic_facet Business, Failure (Psychology), Nonfiction, Self-Improvement, Success, Success in business