The mad boy, Lord Berners, my grandmother and me: an aristocratic family, a high-society scandal and an extraordinary legacy

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

This beguiling tale of a scandalous m#65533;nage #65533; trois among England's upper classes is a high society love story that combines memoir and biography into a fascinating, heady read in the vein of The Bolter and Portrait of a Marriage.

Among the glittering stars of British society, Sofka Zinovieff's grandparents lived and loved with abandon. Robert Heber-Percy was a dashing young man who would rather have a drink than open a book, so his involvement with Jennifer Fry, a beautiful socialite famous for her style and charm, was not surprising. But by the time Robert met and married Jennifer, he had already been involved with a man--Gerald, Lord Berners--for more than a decade.

Stout, eccentric, and significantly older, Gerald was a well-known composer, and at home among scholars. He also owned one of Britain's loveliest stately homes, Faringdon House in Oxfordshire. The two made an unlikely couple, especially because they lived together at Faringdon House when homosexuality was illegal. And then a pregnant Jennifer moved into Faringdon in 1942, creating a formidable m#65533;nage #65533; trois.

In this gorgeous, entertaining narrative of bohemian aristocracy illustrated with dozens of photographs, Sofka Zinovieff probes the mysteries of her grandparents and the third man in their marriage. Who was Gerald, and what brought Robert and Jennifer together under his roof? Why did Jennifer marry Robert? Piecing together the complicated reality behind the scandals of revelry and sexuality, she finally allows old ghosts to rest.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062338952
9780062338969
9780062338945
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 4aa5f214-0af4-703c-5e08-d5d096560395
Grouping Title mad boy lord berners my grandmother and me an aristocratic family a high society scandal and an extr
Grouping Author zinovieff sofka
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-22 23:50:37PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-23 00:55:42AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Zinovieff, Sofka,
author_display Zinovieff, Sofka
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction, Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description "A narrative account of the author's bohemian aristocrat grandparents' unconventional relationship with her grandfather's gay lover examines the period taboos, family secrets and cultural dynamics that shaped their shared lives,"--Novelist.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 4aa5f214-0af4-703c-5e08-d5d096560395
isbn 9780062338945, 9780062338952, 9780062338969
item_details ils:CARL0000458121|35192047350016|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|942.082 Z787m|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000458121|35192047350024|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|942.082 Z787m|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:6ba3729a-4693-4998-954f-0abf92540871|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-23T05:55:42.834Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 942.082 Z787m
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780062338952
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000458121|Book|Books|First U.S. edition.|English|Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2015]|xii, 436 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 24 cm., overdrive:6ba3729a-4693-4998-954f-0abf92540871|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000458121 35192047350016 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000458121 35192047350024 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:6ba3729a-4693-4998-954f-0abf92540871 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Berners, Gerald Hugh Tyrwhitt-Wilson, -- Baron, -- 1883-1950, Berners, Gerald Hugh Tyrwhitt-Wilson, -- Baron, -- 1883-1950 -- Homes and haunts, Composers -- England -- Biography, Eccentrics and eccentricities -- England -- Biography, Novelists, English -- 20th century -- Biography
title_display The mad boy, Lord Berners, my grandmother and me : an aristocratic family, a high-society scandal and an extraordinary legacy
title_full The Mad Boy, Lord Berners, My Grandmother, and Me An Aristocratic Family, a High-Society Scandal, and an Extraordinary Legacy, The mad boy, Lord Berners, my grandmother and me : an aristocratic family, a high-society scandal and an extraordinary legacy / Sofka Zinovieff
title_short The mad boy, Lord Berners, my grandmother and me :
title_sub an aristocratic family, a high-society scandal and an extraordinary legacy
topic_facet Berners, Gerald Hugh Tyrwhitt-Wilson, Biography & Autobiography, Composers, Eccentrics and eccentricities, Homes and haunts, Nonfiction, Novelists, English