North Branch Library is closed until further notice due to restroom plumbing issues.

L.A. outlaws: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Los Angeles is gripped by the exploding celebrity of Allison Murrieta, her real identity unknown, a modern-day Jesse James with the compulsion to steal beautiful things, the vanity to invite the media along, and the conscience to donate much of her bounty to charity. Nobody ever gets hurt—until a job ends with ten gangsters lying dead and a half- million dollars worth of glittering diamonds missing. Rookie Deputy Charlie Hood discovers the bodies, and he prevents an eyewitness—a schoolteacher named Suzanne Jones—from leaving the scene in her Corvette. Drawn to a mysterious charisma that has him off-balance from the beginning, Hood begins an intense affair with Suzanne. As the media frenzy surrounding Allison’s exploits swells to a fever pitch and the Southland’s most notorious killer sets out after her, a glimmer of recognition blooms in Hood, forcing him to choose between a deeply held sense of honor and a passion that threatens to consume him completely. With a stone-cold killer locked in relentless pursuit, Suzanne and Hood continue their desperate dance around the secrets that brought them together, unsure whether each new dawn may signal the day their lies catch up with them.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 4d0ad4c9-366a-d81e-0999-c4052f4114ea
full_title l a outlaws
author parker t jefferson
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-03-18 22:54:06PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Colacci, David., Ericksen, Susan.
author T. Jefferson Parker
author2-role Brilliance Audio (Firm)., Colacci, David., Ericksen, Susan., Findaway World, LLC., Playaway Digital Audio.
author_display Parker, T. Jefferson
available_at_catalog Annex, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction, Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Annex - Adult Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Adult Large Print, Green Hills - Adult Audiobook, Hermitage - Adult Large Print, Main Library - Adult Fiction, Richland Park - Adult Audiobook
display_description For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, here is the first thrilling adventure in the Charlie Hood series from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson Parker, author of The Room of White Fire.
In this town, it pays to be bad . . .
Allison is an L.A. celebrity, a folk hero, and a modern-day Jesse James who loves a good armed robbery. She has a compulsion to steal, a knack for publicity, and the conscience to give it all to charity. In fact, one of her biggest fans is a cop. And no one's ever been hurt—until last night. Now she and the rookie deputy are on the run for their lives.
From the Paperback edition.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, Large Print, Playaway, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 4d0ad4c9-366a-d81e-0999-c4052f4114ea
isbn 9780525950554, 9781101052495, 9781410404350, 9781423305972, 9781607755289
item_details ils:CARL0000299013|35192036786006|Annex - Adult Fiction|Fiction Parker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||AX||, ils:CARL0000299013|35192036874240|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Parker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000299013|35192036874257|Annex - Adult Fiction|Fiction Parker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||AX||, ils:CARL0000304142|35192036969479|Edmondson Pike - Adult Large Print|Fiction Parker Large Type|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EP||, ils:CARL0000304142|35192036969511|Hermitage - Adult Large Print|Fiction Parker Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000340556|35192050116908|Green Hills - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Parker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000447825|35192046429316|Richland Park - Adult Audiobook|PLAYAWAY Fiction Parker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, overdrive:a8b82c6d-379d-4960-b8e5-32604976cd35|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book, Large Print Book, Playaway
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Parker, Fiction Parker, Fiction Parker Large Type, PLAYAWAY Fiction Parker
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Annex, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
primary_isbn 9780525950554
publishDate 2008, 2009
record_details ils:CARL0000299013|Book|Books||English|Dutton,|c2008.|372 p. ; 24 cm., ils:CARL0000304142|Large Print|Books||English|Thorndike Press,|2008.|543 p. (large print) ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000340556|CD audio book|Audio Books||English|Brilliance Audio,|2008.|10 sound discs (11 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000447825|Playaway|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Playaway Digital Audio :|[released 2009], c2009.|1 sound media player (11 hr.) : digital ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in., overdrive:a8b82c6d-379d-4960-b8e5-32604976cd35|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000299013|35192036786006|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000299013|35192036874240|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000299013|35192036874257|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000304142|35192036969479|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000304142|35192036969511|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000340556|35192050116908|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000447825|35192046429316|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:a8b82c6d-379d-4960-b8e5-32604976cd35|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
series Charlie Hood
series_with_volume Charlie Hood
subject_facet Audiobooks, Large type books, Los Angeles (Calif.) -- Fiction
title_display L.A. outlaws : a novel
title_full L. A. Outlaws Charlie Hood Series, Book 1, L. A. outlaws [text (large print)] / by T. Jefferson Parker, L.A. outlaws : a novel / T. Jefferson Parker, L.A. outlaws [sound recording] / T. Jefferson Parker, L.A. outlaws [sound recording] : a novel / T. Jefferson Parker
title_short L.A. outlaws :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Audiobooks, Fiction, Large type books, Mystery, Thriller