Hadley Park Branch Library is closed Saturday, October 19.

Two Bobbies: a true story of Hurricane Katrina, friendship, and survival

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Walker ;
Pub. Date:
c2008.
Language:
English
Description

from Newbery award winning author Kirby Larson comes a remarkable true story of the devotion, friendship, and survival of two pets left behind in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. In the tradition of Owen and Mzee , this beautiful picture book is a testament to the spirit that defined post-Katrina rescue missions. During Hurricane Katrina, evacuating New Orleans residents were forced to leave their pets behind. Bobbi the dog was initially chained to keep her safe, but after her owners failed to return, she had to break free. For months, Bobbi wandered the city's ravaged streets-dragging her chain behind her-followed by her feline companion, Bob Cat. After months of hunger and struggle, the Two Bobbies were finally rescued by a construction worker helping to rebuild the city. When he brought them to ashelter, volunteers made an amazing discovery about the devoted friends-Bob Cat was actually blind! He had survived the aftermath of the storm by following the sound Bobbi's chain made as she dragged it along the ground.

At the shelter, the two bob-tailed friends refused to be parted, even for a moment. Could rescue workers find the Bobbies' owners? Or could they find a new home that would take them together?

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780802797551
9780802797544
Reading Level:
LG
Level 4.2, 0.5 Points
Lexile measure:
AD: Adult Directed 810L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 4fee4eac-7d91-180e-98e4-50f2a0699e5d
Grouping Title two bobbies a true story of hurricane katrina friendship and survival
Grouping Author larson kirby
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-18 23:13:39PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-20 01:30:50AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level LG
accelerated_reader_point_value 0.5
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.2
auth_author2 Cassels, Jean.
Nethery, Mary.
author Larson, Kirby.
author2-role Cassels, Jean.
Nethery, Mary.
author_display Larson, Kirby
available_at_catalog Bordeaux
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bordeaux - Kids Non-Fiction
Green Hills - Kids Non-Fiction
display_description
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id 4fee4eac-7d91-180e-98e4-50f2a0699e5d
isbn 9780802797544
9780802797551
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000314437 A01829197 Gower Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1R360
ils:CARL0000314437 A01999090 Westmeade Elementary - Everyone E LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2Y775
ils:CARL0000314437 B00453058 Tulip Grove Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2T717
ils:CARL0000314437 MK10040265 Buena Vista Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 14165
ils:CARL0000314437 FF00012069 Donelson Middle - Teen Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 46260
ils:CARL0000314437 MK10011047 Cane Ridge Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 16184
ils:CARL0000314437 BB00029029 Joelton Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 22465
ils:CARL0000314437 A01880252 Shwab Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2O685
ils:CARL0000314437 B00422501 McMurray Middle - Teen Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 4K540
ils:CARL0000314437 TT0497 Tusculum Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2U725
ils:CARL0000314437 A02182657 Davis Early Learning Center - Kids Non-Fiction PETS KIR 1 false false On Shelf 00152
ils:CARL0000314437 PP000012758 Lawrence Carter Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 17185
ils:CARL0000314437 V00042131 Dupont Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false Checked Out 1G265
ils:CARL0000314437 BB00023084 Jones Paideia Magnet Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 23485
ils:CARL0000314437 V00038742 Stratton Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2R710
ils:CARL0000314437 A01654040 Warner Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2W755
ils:CARL0000314437 A01920088 Robert Churchwell Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2Z784
ils:CARL0000314437 A01958275 Lawrence Carter Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 17185
ils:CARL0000314437 BB00013401 Moss Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1J310
ils:CARL0000314437 A01880258 Shwab Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2O685
ils:CARL0000314437 MK10181046 Haywood Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 Lar 1 false false On Shelf 1W405
ils:CARL0000314437 MK10064839 Crieve Hall Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1D235
ils:CARL0000314437 A01999088 Westmeade Elementary - Everyone E LAR 1 false false Checked Out 2Y775
ils:CARL0000314437 V00044905 Glencliff Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1L320
ils:CARL0000314437 A02139563 Harris Hillman - Teen Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 65397
ils:CARL0000314437 A02047718 Granbery Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1S370
ils:CARL0000314437 B00453059 Tulip Grove Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2T717
ils:CARL0000314437 A01854317 Harpeth Valley Elementary - Everyone E LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1V395
ils:CARL0000314437 A01975960 Ruby Major Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 29522
ils:CARL0000314437 P00445948 Percy Priest Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2L650
ils:CARL0000314437 A02192225 Julia Green Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1U380
ils:CARL0000314437 A01946546 Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 4N555
ils:CARL0000314437 P00187131 Glendale Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1M330
ils:CARL0000314437 P00425423 Warner Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.0LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2W755
ils:CARL0000314437 A01941380 Hickman Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1Y420
ils:CARL0000314437 FF00129664 Rosebank Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2M670
ils:CARL0000314437 P00155713 Charlotte Park Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 19205
ils:CARL0000314437 A02011316 Sylvan Park Elementary - Everyone E LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2S715
ils:CARL0000314437 QQ00125171 Moss Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1J310
ils:CARL0000314437 35192037799792 Green Hills - Kids Non-Fiction j636.0832 L3347t 1 false false Checked Out GH
ils:CARL0000314437 BB00012192 Glengarry Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1N335
ils:CARL0000314437 FF00149500 Amqui Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 Lar 1 false false On Shelf 10105
ils:CARL0000314437 P00301694 Dodson Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1F252
ils:CARL0000314437 35192037799784 Bordeaux - Kids Non-Fiction j636.0832 L3347t 1 false false On Shelf BX
ils:CARL0000314437 A01988190 Whitsitt Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 30790
ils:CARL0000314437 V00046247 Una Elementary - Everyone E LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2V735
ils:CARL0000314437 B00328363 Goodlettsville Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 1Q350
ils:CARL0000314437 FF00011899 Dan Mills Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 2C560
ils:CARL0000314437 A01930781 Inglewood Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction 636.08 LAR 1 false false On Shelf 20455
itype_catalog Book
last_indexed 2019-10-20T06:30:50.584Z
lexile_code AD: Adult Directed
lexile_score 810
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog j636.0832 L3347t
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bordeaux
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
primary_isbn 9780802797551
publishDate 2008
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000314437 Book Books English Walker ; c2008. 1 v. (unpaged) : col. ill. ; 26 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000314437 35192037799792 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000314437 35192037799784 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Cats -- Anecdotes -- Juvenile literature
Dogs -- Anecdotes -- Juvenile literature
Hurricane Katrina, 2005 -- Anecdotes -- Juvenile literature
title_display Two Bobbies : a true story of Hurricane Katrina, friendship, and survival
title_full Two Bobbies : a true story of Hurricane Katrina, friendship, and survival / Kirby Larson and Mary Nethery ; illustrations by Jean Cassels
title_short Two Bobbies :
title_sub a true story of Hurricane Katrina, friendship, and survival
topic_facet Cats
Dogs
Hurricane Katrina, 2005