The big scrum: how Teddy Roosevelt saved football

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

John J. Miller delivers the intriguing, never-before-told story of how Theodore Roosevelt saved American Football--a game that would become the nation's most popular sport. Miller's sweeping, novelistic retelling captures the violent, nearly lawless days of late 19th century football and the public outcry that would have ended the great game but for a crucial Presidential intervention. Teddy Roosevelt's championing of football led to the creation of the NCAA, the innovation of the forward pass, a vital collaboration between Walter Camp, Charles W. Eliot, John Heisman and others, and, ultimately, the creation of a new American pastime. Perfect for readers of Douglas Brinkley's Wilderness Warrior, Michael Lewis's The Blind Side, and Conn and Hal Iggulden's The Dangerous Book for Boys, Miller's The Big Scrum reclaims from the shadows of obscurity a remarkable story of one defining moment in our nation's history.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780061744501
9780062078995
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 515718bb-7bd0-9042-6d66-46f3a1cea86f
Grouping Title big scrum how teddy roosevelt saved football
Grouping Author miller john j
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-16 23:07:43PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-16 23:39:47PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author John J. Miller
author_display Miller, John J
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction, Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description The never-before-fully-told story of how Theodore Roosevelt helped to save the game that would become America's most popular sport. During the late nineteenth century, the game of football was a work in progress that only remotely resembled the sport of today. There was no agreement about many of the basic rules, and it was incredibly violent and extremely dangerous. Numerous young men were badly injured and dozens died in highly publicized incidents, often at America's top prep schools and colleges. Objecting to the sport's brutality, a movement of proto-Progressives tried to abolish the game. President Theodore Roosevelt, a vocal advocate of "the strenuous life" and a proponent of risk, acknowledged football's dangers but admired its potential for building character. In 1905, he summoned the coaches of Harvard, Yale, and Princeton to the White House. The result was the establishment of the National Collegiate Athletic Association, as well as a series of rule changes that ultimately transformed football into the quintessential American game.--From publisher description.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 515718bb-7bd0-9042-6d66-46f3a1cea86f
isbn 9780061744501, 9780062078995
item_details ils:CARL0000382644|35192042228548|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|796.332 M6487b|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000382644|35192042228555|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|796.332 M6487b|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:f1fa8a25-fad4-4119-a5bd-c4a4995d92fe|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-17T04:39:47.712Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 796.332 M6487b
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780061744501
publishDate 2011
record_details ils:CARL0000382644|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|HarperCollins,|c2011.|xi, 258 p. : ill. ; 24 cm., overdrive:f1fa8a25-fad4-4119-a5bd-c4a4995d92fe|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2011|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000382644 35192042228548 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000382644 35192042228555 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:f1fa8a25-fad4-4119-a5bd-c4a4995d92fe -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet College sports -- United States -- History, Football -- United States -- History, Football -- United States -- Rules -- History, Roosevelt, Theodore, -- 1858-1919
title_display The big scrum : how Teddy Roosevelt saved football
title_full The Big Scrum How Teddy Roosevelt Saved Football, The big scrum : how Teddy Roosevelt saved football / John J. Miller
title_short The big scrum :
title_sub how Teddy Roosevelt saved football
topic_facet College sports, Football, History, Nonfiction, Roosevelt, Theodore, Sports & Recreations