School of Charm

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

At the School of Charm, everyone has a wish to whisper. With an enchanting small-town setting, lively storytelling, and a hint of magic, this debut novel is perfect for fans of Ingrid Law, Clare Vanderpool, and Rebecca Stead.

Eleven-year-old Chip has always been her daddy's girl, so when he dies she pins her hopes on winning a beauty pageant to show her family of southern belles that she still belongs. But she'd rather be covered in mud than makeup! Can a rough-and-tumble girl ever become a beauty queen? A universal story about finding your place in the world, School of Charm explores themes of loss, family, and friendship.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062207586
9780062207609
006220758
Reading Level:
MG
Level 4.1, 8 Points
Lexile measure:
600L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 523577f4-1398-90d9-ff94-7e8579765462
Grouping Title school of charm
Grouping Author scott lisa ann
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-16 23:26:17PM
Last Indexed 2018-10-15 23:56:43PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 8
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.1
author Lisa Ann Scott
author_display Scott, Lisa Ann
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction, Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction, Inglewood - Kids Fiction, Main Library - Kids Fiction
display_description After her beloved father's death in 1977, eleven-year-old tomboy Chip tries to fit with her family of beauty queens, making unlikely new friends at Miss Vernie's unusual charm school in Mt. Airy, North Carolina.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 523577f4-1398-90d9-ff94-7e8579765462
isbn 006220758, 9780062207586, 9780062207609
item_details ils:CARL0000430049|35192045252933|Bellevue - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Scott|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000430049|35192045252941|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Scott|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000430049|35192045252958|Inglewood - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Scott|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||IN||, ils:CARL0000430049|35192045252966|Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Scott|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GO||, ils:CARL0000430049|35192045252974|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Scott|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000430049|A02014365|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F SCO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000430049|MK10075557|Mt. View Elementary - Kids Fiction|F SCO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2E576||, overdrive:9f8b1d11-95b6-4b4b-91ee-d8f57f06472c|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-10-16T04:56:43.574Z
lexile_score 600
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Scott
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780062207586
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000430049|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|[2014]|293 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:9f8b1d11-95b6-4b4b-91ee-d8f57f06472c|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000430049 35192045252941 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000430049 35192045252966 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000430049 35192045252933 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000430049 35192045252974 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000430049 35192045252958 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
overdrive:9f8b1d11-95b6-4b4b-91ee-d8f57f06472c -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Beauty contests -- Juvenile fiction, Families -- North Carolina -- Juvenile fiction, Individuality -- Juvenile fiction, North Carolina -- History -- 20th century -- Juvenile fiction, Race relations -- Juvenile fiction, Self-perception -- Juvenile fiction
title_display School of Charm
title_full School of Charm, School of Charm / Lisa Ann Scott
title_short School of Charm
title_sub
topic_facet Beauty contests, Families, Historical Fiction, History, Individuality, Juvenile Fiction, Race relations, Self-perception