Proxy: Proxy Series, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Series:
Proxy volume 1.
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The adventure novel of the year! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed , this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent . Knox was born into one of the City's wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want--the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death. Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own. Then again, neither is Knox's. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox's father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys' resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid. A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship--just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's Maze Runner , Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story. Praise for PROXY "Looking for an awesome YA summer read? Look no further than Alex London's Proxy ." --EntertainmentWeekly.com "Put down what you're doing and read this book. Right now. The complex characters, intricate world, and blistering pace are off-the-charts amazing. I fell in love with this story from the first sentence to the final, epic page. London is a force to be reckoned with." --Marie Lu, author of the Legend trilogy "[A] smart, stylish science-fiction thriller that deftly weaves big issues like guilt, accidents of birth, redemption and commerce into a page-turning read." -- Kirkus Reviews "A fast-paced dystopian novel which should appeal to readers of the Hunger Games ." -- VOYA "Alex London is one of the most multi-dimensional writers out there. Proxy blew me away. It's deep, thrilling, thought-provoking, and at times simultaneously maddening and uplifting. I need to have more of Syd and Knox. Proxy is one stunning read!" --Andrew Smith, author of Winger and Grasshopper Jungle " Gripping." --Examiner.com " Proxy moves blindingly fast through a world of danger gone viral. It's science-fiction on a joy ride full of deceit and imagination." -- Deseret News "A big twist and heroic ending will leave readers eager for more" -- Shelf Awareness "Offering intriguing moral dilemmas amid breakneck action...The matter-of-fact presence of a gay lead [Syd] in an action driven story is welcome and overdue." -- Publishers Weekly "An action-packed thrill ride." -- School Library Journal
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399257766
9781101625859
Reading Level:
UG
Level 4.8, 13 Points
Lexile measure:
690L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 53a47148-d45a-0250-d503-4534acd8edb5
Grouping Title proxy
Grouping Author london alex
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-20 23:46:31PM
Last Indexed 2018-10-21 00:43:46AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 13
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.8
author Alex London
author_display London, Alex
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction
display_description "Privileged Syd and and his proxy, Knox, are thrown together to overthrow the system"--
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 53a47148-d45a-0250-d503-4534acd8edb5
isbn 9780399257766, 9781101625859
item_details ils:CARL0000417505|35192044293912|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction London|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000417505|35192044293938|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction London|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000417505|B00540710|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F LON|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||6C497||, ils:CARL0000417505|B00725047|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F LON|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000417505|B00725453|Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction|F LON|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||47270||, ils:CARL0000417505|B00730057|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F LON|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000417505|B00742298|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F LON|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000417505|QQ00152640|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F LON|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, overdrive:30e59422-663b-4868-8ceb-a04615fc43e6|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-10-21T05:43:46.806Z
lexile_score 690
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction London
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780399257766
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000417505|Book|Books||English|Philomel Books,|c2013.|379 p. ; 22 cm., overdrive:30e59422-663b-4868-8ceb-a04615fc43e6|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Young Readers Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:30e59422-663b-4868-8ceb-a04615fc43e6 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000417505 35192044293938 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417505 35192044293912 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Proxy
series_with_volume Proxy|1
subject_facet Science fiction, American
title_display Proxy
title_full Proxy / Alex London, Proxy Proxy Series, Book 1
title_short Proxy
title_sub Proxy Series, Book 1
topic_facet Science Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Science fiction, American, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature