Mother of God: an extraordinary journey into the uncharted tributaries of the western Amazon

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

For fans of The Lost City of Z, Walking the Amazon, and Turn Right at Machu Picchu comes naturalist and explorer Paul Rosolie's extraordinary adventure in the uncharted tributaries of the Western Amazon--a tale of discovery that vividly captures the awe, beauty, and isolation of this endangered land and presents an impassioned call to save it.

In the Madre de Dios--Mother of God--region of Peru, where the Amazon River begins its massive flow, the Andean Mountain cloud forests fall into lowland Amazon Rainforest, creating the most biodiversity-rich place on the planet. In January 2006, when he was just a restless eighteen-year-old hungry for adventure, Paul Rosolie embarked on a journey to the west Amazon that would transform his life.

Venturing alone into some of the most inaccessible reaches of the jungle, he encountered giant snakes, floating forests, isolated tribes untouched by outsiders, prowling jaguars, orphaned baby anteaters, poachers in the black market trade in endangered species, and much more. Yet today, the primordial forests of the Madre de Dios are in danger from developers, oil giants, and gold miners eager to exploit its natural resources.

In Mother of God, this explorer and conservationist relives his amazing odyssey exploring the heart of this wildest place on earth. When he began delving deeper in his search for the secret Eden, spending extended periods in isolated solitude, he found things he never imagined could exist. "Alone and miniscule against a titanic landscape I have seen the depths of the Amazon, the guts of the jungle where no men go, Rosolie writes. "But as the legendary explorer Percy Fawcett warned, 'the few remaining unknown places of the world exact a price for their secrets.'"

Illustrated with 16 pages of color photos.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062259516
9780062259547
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 58b6c1f3-e858-6e05-8e74-b6d92bdd98c2
Grouping Title mother of god an extraordinary journey into the uncharted tributaries of the western amazon
Grouping Author rosolie paul
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-21 23:35:05PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-22 00:20:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Rosolie, Paul,
author_display Rosolie, Paul
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description The explorer and conservationist relives his amazing odyssey exploring the heart of the most biodiversity-rich place on the planet -- the Madre de Dios (Mother of God) region of Peru, where the Amazon River begins its massive flow from the Andean mountain cloud forests into the lowland Amazon rainforest.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 58b6c1f3-e858-6e05-8e74-b6d92bdd98c2
isbn 9780062259516, 9780062259547
item_details ils:CARL0000427341|35192045687526|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|918.11046 R822m|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:24e48169-8fac-4b3e-b52a-e379030bad26|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-22T05:20:21.123Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 918.11046 R822m
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780062259516
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000427341|Book|Books||English|HarperCollins,|[2014]|x, 306 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 24 cm., overdrive:24e48169-8fac-4b3e-b52a-e379030bad26|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:24e48169-8fac-4b3e-b52a-e379030bad26 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000427341 35192045687526 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Amazon River Region -- Description and travel, Madre de Dios River Valley (Peru and Bolivia) -- Description and travel, Rosolie, Paul -- Travel -- Amazon River Region
title_display Mother of God : an extraordinary journey into the uncharted tributaries of the western Amazon
title_full Mother of God : an extraordinary journey into the uncharted tributaries of the western Amazon / Paul Rosolie, Mother of God An Extraordinary Journey into the Uncharted Tributaries of the Western Amazon
title_short Mother of God :
title_sub an extraordinary journey into the uncharted tributaries of the western Amazon
topic_facet Biography & Autobiography, Description and travel, Nature, Nonfiction, Rosolie, Paul, Science, Travel