The Widow Waltz

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Description
"This heartfelt, witty addition to women's fiction will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Berg and Anna Quindlen." ( Booklist)   Georgia Waltz has things many people only dream of: a plush Manhattan apartment overlooking Central Park, a Hamptons beach house, valuable jewels and art, two bright daughters, and a husband she adores, even after decades of marriage. It's only when Ben suddenly drops dead from a massive coronary while training for the New York City Marathon that Georgia discovers her husband--a successful lawyer--has left them nearly penniless. Their wonderland was built on lies.        As the family attorney scours emptied bank accounts, Georgia must not only look for a way to support her family, she needs to face the revelation that Ben was not the perfect husband he appeared to be, just as her daughters--now ensconced back at home with secrets of their own--have to accept that they may not be returning to their lives in Paris and at Stanford subsidized by the Bank of Mom and Dad. As she uncovers hidden resilience, Georgia's sudden midlife shift forces her to consider who she is and what she truly values. That Georgia may also find new love in the land of Spanx and stretch marks surprises everyone--most of all, her.   Sally Koslow's fourth novel is deftly told through the alternating viewpoints of her remarkable female protagonists as they plumb for the grit required to reinvent their lives. Inspiring, funny, and deeply satisfying, The Widow Waltz explores in a profound way the bonds between mothers and daughters, belligerent siblings, skittish lovers, and bitter rivals as they discover the power of forgiveness, and healing, all while asking, "What is family, really?"
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781101622728
9781452698007
141046105
9781410461056
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5928f405-2f59-e23a-71fa-29b19741b112
Grouping Title widow waltz
Grouping Author koslow sally
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-19 23:00:46PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-20 00:09:53AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Koslow, Sally.
author_display Koslow, Sally
available_at_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
collection_catalog Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Large Print
display_description "This heartfelt, witty addition to women's fiction will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Berg and Anna Quindlen." (Booklist)

Georgia Waltz has things many people only dream of: a plush Manhattan apartment overlooking Central Park, a Hamptons beach house, valuable jewels and art, two bright daughters, and a husband she adores, even after decades of marriage. It's only when Ben suddenly drops dead from a massive coronary while training for the New York City Marathon that Georgia discovers her husband—a successful lawyer—has left them nearly penniless. Their wonderland was built on lies.

As the family attorney scours emptied bank accounts, Georgia must not only look for a way to support her family, she needs to face the revelation that Ben was not the perfect husband he appeared to be, just as her daughters—now ensconced back at home with secrets of their own—have to accept that they may not be returning to their lives in Paris and at Stanford subsidized by the Bank of Mom and Dad. As she uncovers hidden resilience, Georgia's sudden midlife shift forces her to consider who she is and what she truly values. That Georgia may also find new love in the land of Spanx and stretch marks surprises everyone—most of all, her.

Sally Koslow's fourth novel is deftly told through the alternating viewpoints of her remarkable female protagonists as they plumb for the grit required to reinvent their lives. Inspiring, funny, and deeply satisfying, The Widow Waltz explores in a profound way the bonds between mothers and daughters, belligerent siblings, skittish lovers, and bitter rivals as they discover the power of forgiveness, and healing, all while asking, "What is family, really?"
format_catalog Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id 5928f405-2f59-e23a-71fa-29b19741b112
isbn 141046105
9781101622728
9781410461056
9781452698007
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000443424 35192046869040 Bellevue - Adult Large Print Fiction Koslow Large Type 1 false false On Shelf BL
overdrive:52838a0b-c7ea-4fce-a339-86618eede9cb -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
overdrive:3fd9c895-6a48-4304-b918-d7690d4ebf78 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
itype_catalog
Large Print Book
last_indexed 2019-10-20T05:09:53.739Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Koslow Large Type
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
primary_isbn 9781101622728
publishDate 2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000443424 Large Print Books Large print edition. English Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, ; 2013. 481 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
overdrive:52838a0b-c7ea-4fce-a339-86618eede9cb eBook eBook English Penguin Publishing Group 2013
overdrive:3fd9c895-6a48-4304-b918-d7690d4ebf78 eAudiobook Audio Books English Tantor Media, Inc. 2013
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000443424 35192046869040 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:52838a0b-c7ea-4fce-a339-86618eede9cb -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:3fd9c895-6a48-4304-b918-d7690d4ebf78 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Thorndike Press large print peer picks
series_with_volume Thorndike Press large print peer picks|
subject_facet Adjustment (Psychology) -- Fiction
Adult children -- Fiction
Large type books
Loss (Psychology) -- Fiction
Love stories, American
Mothers and daughters -- Fiction
Widows -- Fiction
title_display The Widow Waltz
title_full The Widow Waltz
The Widow Waltz A Novel
The widow waltz [text (large print)] / Sally Koslow
title_short The Widow Waltz
title_sub
topic_facet Adjustment (Psychology)
Adult children
Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Large type books
Literature
Loss (Psychology)
Love stories, American
Mothers and daughters
Widows