A madness so discreet

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015.
Language:
English
Description

Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery

Mindy McGinnis, the acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, combines murder, madness, and mystery in a beautifully twisted gothic historical thriller perfect for fans of novels such as Asylum and The Diviners as well as television's True Detective and American Horror Story.

Grace Mae is already familiar with madness when family secrets and the bulge in her belly send her to an insane asylum--but it is in the darkness that she finds a new lease on life. When a visiting doctor interested in criminal psychology recognizes Grace's brilliant mind beneath her rage, he recruits her as his assistant. Continuing to operate under the cloak of madness at crime scenes allows her to gather clues from bystanders who believe her less than human. Now comfortable in an ethical asylum, Grace finds friends--and hope. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who will bring her shaky sanity and the demons in her past dangerously close to the surface.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062320865
9780062434692
9780062320889
Reading Level:
UG
Level 6.3, 14 Points
Lexile measure:
890L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5c29974a-b800-340d-86f5-304c6f333c83
Grouping Title madness so discreet
Grouping Author mcginnis mindy
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-23 23:21:08PM
Last Indexed 2018-10-23 00:13:32AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 14
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6.3
author Mindy McGinnis
author_display McGinnis, Mindy
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Hermitage - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Richland Park - Teen Fiction
display_description Near the turn of the nineteenth century, Dr. Thornhollow helps teenaged Grace Mae escape from the Boston asylum where she was sent after becoming pregnant by rape, and takes her to Ohio where they put her intelligence and remarkable memory to use in trying to catch murderers.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 5c29974a-b800-340d-86f5-304c6f333c83
isbn 9780062320865, 9780062320889, 9780062434692
item_details ils:CARL0000471229|35192048004877|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction McGinni|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, ils:CARL0000471229|35192048004885|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction McGinni|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000471229|35192048004893|Richland Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction McGinni|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000471229|B00755772|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||6C497||, ils:CARL0000471229|B00755812|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000471229|B00755852|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000471229|B00755892|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000471229|B00756102|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000471229|B00756134|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||6F615||, ils:CARL0000471229|B00756169|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|MYS F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000471229|B00756230|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000471229|B00756603|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F MCG|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, overdrive:71da0d63-d353-40a3-830c-6dd36e4a62e4|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:aab8d923-04b3-4661-9f70-ea85f48ba2db|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-10-23T05:13:32.495Z
lexile_score 890
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction McGinni
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
primary_isbn 9780062320865
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000471229|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|2015.|376 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:71da0d63-d353-40a3-830c-6dd36e4a62e4|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2015|, overdrive:aab8d923-04b3-4661-9f70-ea85f48ba2db|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:aab8d923-04b3-4661-9f70-ea85f48ba2db -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000471229 35192048004877 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000471229 35192048004885 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000471229 35192048004893 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:71da0d63-d353-40a3-830c-6dd36e4a62e4 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
subject_facet Criminal investigation -- Fiction, Historical fiction, American, Ohio -- History -- 19th century -- Fiction, Physicians -- Fiction, Suspense fiction, American
title_display A madness so discreet
title_full A Madness So Discreet, A madness so discreet / Mindy McGinnis
title_short A madness so discreet
title_sub
topic_facet Criminal investigation, Historical Fiction, Historical fiction, American, History, Horror, Mystery, Physicians, Suspense, Suspense fiction, American, Thriller, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature