All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

The book of fires: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Reminiscent of Year of Wonders , a captivating debut novel of fireworks, fortune, and a young woman's redemption It is 1752 and seventeen-year-old Agnes Trussel arrives in London pregnant with an unwanted child. Lost and frightened, she finds herself at the home of Mr. J. Blacklock, a brooding fireworks maker who hires Agnes as an apprentice. As she learns to make rockets, portfires, and fiery rain, she slowly gains his trust and joins his quest to make the most spectacular fireworks the world has ever seen. Jane Borodale offers a masterful portrayal of a relationship as mysterious and tempestuous as any the Brontës conceived. Her portrait of 1750s London is unforgettable, from the grimy streets to the inner workings of a household where little is as it seems. Through it all, the clock is ticking, for Agnes's secret will not stay secret forever. Deeply atmospheric and intimately told from Agnes's perspective, The Book of Fires will appeal to readers of Geraldine Brooks, Sarah Waters, Sheri Holman, and Michel Faber.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780670021062
9781101189863
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5f949256-2565-18bb-97cb-9169fbc4ffa7
Full title book of fires
Author borodale jane
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-25 23:21:42PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-24 23:45:38PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Borodale, Jane.
author_display Borodale, Jane
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description The year is 1752, and 17-year-old Agnes Trussel arrives in London pregnant with an unwanted child. Lost and frightened, she lands work as an apprentice to a fireworks maker. As she learns the trade, she joins in his quest to make the most spectacular fireworks the world has ever seen.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 5f949256-2565-18bb-97cb-9169fbc4ffa7
isbn 9780670021062, 9781101189863
item_details ils:CARL0000344701|35192039253236|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Borodal|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:a16fc9f8-88b0-4ccc-9b6f-bb4c2e2a815a|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-25T04:45:38.382Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Borodal
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780670021062
publishDate 2010
record_details ils:CARL0000344701|Book|Books|1st American ed.|English|Viking,|2010, c2009.|360 p. ; 24 cm., overdrive:a16fc9f8-88b0-4ccc-9b6f-bb4c2e2a815a|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000344701|35192039253236|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:a16fc9f8-88b0-4ccc-9b6f-bb4c2e2a815a|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet London (England) -- History -- 18th century -- Fiction, Women -- Fiction
title_display The book of fires
title_full The Book of Fires A Novel, The book of fires / Jane Borodale
title_short The book of fires
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction, History, Literature, Women