Hadley Park Branch Library is closed Saturday, October 19.

The Book of Fires: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Reminiscent of Year of Wonders, a captivating debut novel of fireworks, fortune, and a young woman's redemption It is 1752 and seventeen-year-old Agnes Trussel arrives in London pregnant with an unwanted child. Lost and frightened, she finds herself at the home of Mr. J. Blacklock, a brooding fireworks maker who hires Agnes as an apprentice. As she learns to make rockets, portfires, and fiery rain, she slowly gains his trust and joins his quest to make the most spectacular fireworks the world has ever seen. Jane Borodale offers a masterful portrayal of a relationship as mysterious and tempestuous as any the Brontës conceived. Her portrait of 1750s London is unforgettable, from the grimy streets to the inner workings of a household where little is as it seems. Through it all, the clock is ticking, for Agnes's secret will not stay secret forever. Deeply atmospheric and intimately told from Agnes's perspective, The Book of Fires will appeal to readers of Geraldine Brooks, Sarah Waters, Sheri Holman, and Michel Faber.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781101189863
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5f949256-2565-18bb-97cb-9169fbc4ffa7
Grouping Title book of fires
Grouping Author borodale jane
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-13 22:43:20PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-13 23:41:31PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Jane Borodale
author_display Jane Borodale
display_description Reminiscent of Year of Wonders, a captivating debut novel of fireworks, fortune, and a young woman's redemption
It is 1752 and seventeen-year-old Agnes Trussel arrives in London pregnant with an unwanted child. Lost and frightened, she finds herself at the home of Mr. J. Blacklock, a brooding fireworks maker who hires Agnes as an apprentice. As she learns to make rockets, portfires, and fiery rain, she slowly gains his trust and joins his quest to make the most spectacular fireworks the world has ever seen.
Jane Borodale offers a masterful portrayal of a relationship as mysterious and tempestuous as any the Brontës conceived. Her portrait of 1750s London is unforgettable, from the grimy streets to the inner workings of a household where little is as it seems. Through it all, the clock is ticking, for Agnes's secret will not stay secret forever.
Deeply atmospheric and intimately told from Agnes's perspective, The Book of Fires will appeal to readers of Geraldine Brooks, Sarah Waters, Sheri Holman, and Michel Faber.
format_catalog eBook
format_category_catalog eBook
id 5f949256-2565-18bb-97cb-9169fbc4ffa7
isbn 9781101189863
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:a16fc9f8-88b0-4ccc-9b6f-bb4c2e2a815a -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2019-10-14T04:41:31.895Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
primary_isbn 9781101189863
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:a16fc9f8-88b0-4ccc-9b6f-bb4c2e2a815a eBook eBook English Penguin Publishing Group
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:a16fc9f8-88b0-4ccc-9b6f-bb4c2e2a815a -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
title_display The Book of Fires
title_full The Book of Fires A Novel
title_short The Book of Fires
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction
Literature