All library locations are closed Monday, Dec 24 and Tuesday, Dec 25 for the Christmas holiday.

Once dead, twice shy: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description
What will it take for the American people to enact a more democratic version of themselves? How to better educate democratic minds and democratic hearts? In response to these crucial predicaments, this innovative book proposes that instead of ignoring or repressing the conflicted nature of American identity, these conflicts should be recognized as sites of pedagogical opportunity.Kerry Burch revives eight fundamental pieces of political public rhetoric into living artifacts, into provocative instruments of democratic pedagogy. From "The Pursuit of Happiness" to "The Military-Industrial Complex," Burch invites readers to encounter the fertile contradictions pulsating at the core of American identity, transforming this conflicted symbolic terrain into a site of pedagogical analysis and development. The learning theory embodied in the structure of the book breaks new ground in terms of deepening and extending what it means to "teach the conflicts" and invites healthy reader participation with America's defining civic controversies. The result is a highly teachable book in the tradition of A People's History of the United States and Lies My Teacher Told Me.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780061718168
9780061799587
9780061888175
9780061718205
9780061441684
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 4.9, 9 Points
Lexile measure:
750L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5fd5e51e-9c06-0445-50ca-a71f64941445
Grouping Title once dead twice shy
Grouping Author harrison kim
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-12-18 22:55:50PM
Last Indexed 2018-12-18 23:48:43PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 9
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.9
author Kim Harrison
author_display Harrison, Kim
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction
display_description Spunky teen Madison, though technically dead, uses a stolen amulet to retain the illusion of a body and help her in the struggle between Light and Dark reapers.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 5fd5e51e-9c06-0445-50ca-a71f64941445
isbn 9780061441684, 9780061718168, 9780061718205, 9780061799587, 9780061888175
item_details ils:CARL0000332686|35192038645010|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Harriso|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000332686|A01797030|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|F F HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000332686|A01941668|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, ils:CARL0000597232|B00627683|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000597232|B00627915|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000597232|FF00018099|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, overdrive:5c89140c-814c-4f36-b921-8a40d54fb358|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:67d1d240-4767-4618-9ca4-146a3348e638|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-12-19T05:48:43.136Z
lexile_score 750
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Harriso
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids
primary_isbn 9780061718168
publishDate 2009, 2010
record_details ils:CARL0000332686|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|HarperCollins Publishers,|2009.|vii, 232 p. ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000597232|Book|Books|1st pbk. ed.|English|Harper,|2010, c2009.|ix, 232, 11 p. ; 21 cm., overdrive:5c89140c-814c-4f36-b921-8a40d54fb358|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2009|, overdrive:67d1d240-4767-4618-9ca4-146a3348e638|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2009|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:67d1d240-4767-4618-9ca4-146a3348e638 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000332686 35192038645010 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:5c89140c-814c-4f36-b921-8a40d54fb358 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Madison Avery novels
series_with_volume Madison Avery novels|1
subject_facet Amulets -- Fiction, Avery, Madison (Fictitious character) -- Fiction, Dead -- Fiction, Dead. -- Fiction, Death -- Fiction, Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, American, Good and evil -- Fiction, Horror tales, American, Paranormal fiction, Supernatural -- Fiction, Teenage girls -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display Once dead, twice shy : a novel
title_full Once Dead, Twice Shy Madison Avery Series, Book 1, Once dead, twice shy : a novel / Kim Harrison
title_short Once dead, twice shy :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Amulets, Avery, Madison (Fictitious character), Dead, Death, Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, American, Good and evil, Horror tales, American, Paranormal fiction, Supernatural, Teenage girls, Young Adult Fiction