All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

Once dead, twice shy: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
What will it take for the American people to enact a more democratic version of themselves? How to better educate democratic minds and democratic hearts? In response to these crucial predicaments, this innovative book proposes that instead of ignoring or repressing the conflicted nature of American identity, these conflicts should be recognized as sites of pedagogical opportunity.Kerry Burch revives eight fundamental pieces of political public rhetoric into living artifacts, into provocative instruments of democratic pedagogy. From "The Pursuit of Happiness" to "The Military-Industrial Complex," Burch invites readers to encounter the fertile contradictions pulsating at the core of American identity, transforming this conflicted symbolic terrain into a site of pedagogical analysis and development. The learning theory embodied in the structure of the book breaks new ground in terms of deepening and extending what it means to "teach the conflicts" and invites healthy reader participation with America's defining civic controversies. The result is a highly teachable book in the tradition of A People's History of the United States and Lies My Teacher Told Me.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780061718168
9781616375195
9780061441684
9780061718205
9780061888175
9780061799587
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 4.9, 9 Points
Lexile measure:
750L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5fd5e51e-9c06-0445-50ca-a71f64941445
Full title once dead twice shy
Author harrison kim
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-22 22:53:33PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-22 23:27:07PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 9
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.9
auth_author2 Siegfried, Mandy.
author Harrison, Kim, 1966-
author2-role Findaway World, LLC., HarperCollins (Firm)., Playaway Digital Audio., Siegfried, Mandy.|Narrator
author_display Harrison, Kim
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Audiobook
display_description Spunky teen Madison, though technically dead, uses a stolen amulet to retain the illusion of a body and help her in the struggle between Light and Dark reapers.
format_catalog Book, Playaway, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 5fd5e51e-9c06-0445-50ca-a71f64941445
isbn 9780061441684, 9780061718168, 9780061718205, 9780061799587, 9780061888175, 9781616375195
item_details ils:CARL0000332686|35192038645010|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Harriso|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000332686|A01797030|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|F F HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000332686|A01941668|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, ils:CARL0000438211|35192045963406|Main Library - Teen Audiobook|PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Harriso|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000597232|B00627683|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000597232|B00627915|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000597232|FF00018099|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, overdrive:5c89140c-814c-4f36-b921-8a40d54fb358|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:67d1d240-4767-4618-9ca4-146a3348e638|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, Playaway
last_indexed 2018-05-23T04:27:07.804Z
lexile_score 750
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Harriso, YA Fiction Harriso
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780061718168
publishDate 2009, 2010
record_details ils:CARL0000332686|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|HarperCollins Publishers,|2009.|vii, 232 p. ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000438211|Playaway|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Playaway Digital Audio :|[2010], p2009.|1 sound media player (6 hr.) : digital, HD audio ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in., ils:CARL0000597232|Book|Books|1st pbk. ed.|English|Harper,|2010, c2009.|ix, 232, 11 p. ; 21 cm., overdrive:5c89140c-814c-4f36-b921-8a40d54fb358|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2009|, overdrive:67d1d240-4767-4618-9ca4-146a3348e638|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2009|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000332686|35192038645010|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000438211|35192045963406|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:5c89140c-814c-4f36-b921-8a40d54fb358|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:67d1d240-4767-4618-9ca4-146a3348e638|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
series Madison Avery novels
series_with_volume Madison Avery novels|1
subject_facet Amulets -- Fiction, Audiobooks, Avery, Madison (Fictitious character) -- Fiction, Dead -- Fiction, Dead. -- Fiction, Death -- Fiction, Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, American, Good and evil -- Fiction, Horror tales, American, Paranormal fiction, Supernatural -- Fiction, Teenage girls -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display Once dead, twice shy : a novel
title_full Once Dead, Twice Shy Madison Avery Series, Book 1, Once dead, twice shy : a novel / Kim Harrison, Once dead, twice shy [sound recording] : a novel / Kim Harrison
title_short Once dead, twice shy :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Amulets, Audiobooks, Avery, Madison (Fictitious character), Dead, Death, Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, American, Good and evil, Horror tales, American, Paranormal fiction, Supernatural, Teenage girls, Young Adult Fiction