All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

Fuzz: 87th Precinct Series, Book 22

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The 87th Precinct is up against the Deaf Man, master criminal, and Detective Carella's own Moriarty. With the murders of two prominent citizens to his credit, the Deaf Man is about to reveal his pice de resistance of extortion and homicide. Fuzz was the basis of a major motion picture starring Burt Reynolds, Raquel Welch and Yul Brynner.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780446609715
9780795311802
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5fe24b95-b150-a3a5-8812-892bf8363df6
Full title fuzz
Author mcbain ed
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-26 23:36:46PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-27 00:07:55AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Ed McBain
author_display McBain, Ed
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description

The detectives of the 87th Precinct are confronted with a call - clearly a crank call - that threatens the life of the city's parks commissioner unless a ransom of $5,000 is paid. The deadline soon passes and the parks commissioner is shot in the head as he leaves a rock concert. Soon, another anonymous warning follows and the deputy mayor is blown up in his Cadillac. The next target is the young, charismatic Kennedy-esque mayor who is on the hit list of what can only be called a serial assassin. It is up to the hardworking detectives of the 87th Precinct to find the shrewd murderer before he can strike again.

For almost fifty years, fans of crime fiction have followed the boys of the 87th Precinct, a fictional urban police department that grapples with every imaginable kind of crime. The plot of Fuzz was highly topical when originally published in 1968, when respect for the police was at an historical all time low and the title comes from the insulting nickname people used to describe police. The U.S. was rocked by explosive dissent and haunted by political assassination. No author handled these tensioned better than Ed McBain.

Police fiction - which became known as the police procedural novel - changed forever with the appearance of Ed McBain's 87th Precinct novels. McBain is a superlative writer, dazzling in his seemingly inexhaustible ability to heighten the intensity of his plots with humor, atmosphere, and telling detail. Fuzz is as much about the cops themselves as it is about the crimes they solve. Fans of Hill Street Blues and NYPD Blue will find themselves very much at home in Fuzz, a fast-paced thriller that is at once edgy and skillfully crafted.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Ed McBain is the pseudonym of Evan Hunter who has created an entire series of 87th Precinct novels under his pen-name. Hunter's breakthrough success came with his book The Blackboard Jungle (1954) which inspired him continue writing. Cop Hater was published in 1956 and established a new standard in police fiction, observed in television programs to this day. Note that McBain's novels do not have one single hero but rather, an entire squad room full of them who come and go from novel to novel. Also, the same villains often recur in his novels. Although the city setting for the books is meant to be vague, it seems quite clear to most that it is New York.

Several of McBain's novels have been made into films. In addition to American adaptations, Akira Kurosawa's High and Low is based on an 87th Precinct novel (King's Ransom), as is French director Philippe Labro's 1972 film Without Apparent Motive, based on Ten Plus One. The fictional precinct also inspired its own television series. Evan Hunter has written under a number of pseudonyms and has been regularly honored for his work.

SERIES DESCRIPTION

From classic book to classic film, RosettaBooks has gathered some of most memorable books into film available. The selection is broad ranging and far reaching, with books from classic genre to cult classic to science fiction and horror and a blend of the two creating whole new genres like Richard Matheson's The Shrinking Man. Classic works from Vonnegut, one of the greatest writers of the twentieth century, meet with E.M. Forster's A Passage to India. Whether the work is centered in the here and now, in the past, or in some distant and almost unimaginable future, each work is lasting and memorable and award-winning.

format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 5fe24b95-b150-a3a5-8812-892bf8363df6
isbn 9780446609715, 9780795311802
item_details ils:CARL0000159697|35192037302209|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction McBain|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:d73bfda8-d25f-40d7-8c8f-6160d3b096d9|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-27T05:07:55.682Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction McBain
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780446609715
publishDate 2000, 2010
record_details ils:CARL0000159697|Book|Books||English|Warner Books,|2000, c1996.|274 p. ; 18 cm., overdrive:d73bfda8-d25f-40d7-8c8f-6160d3b096d9|eBook|eBook||English|RosettaBooks|2010|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000159697|35192037302209|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:d73bfda8-d25f-40d7-8c8f-6160d3b096d9|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
series 87th Precinct mysteries
series_with_volume 87th Precinct mysteries|22
subject_facet 87th Precinct (Imaginary place) -- Fiction, Detective and mystery stories. American, Police -- United States -- Fiction
title_display Fuzz
title_full Fuzz / Ed McBain, Fuzz 87th Precinct Series, Book 22
title_short Fuzz
title_sub 87th Precinct Series, Book 22
topic_facet 87th Precinct (Imaginary place), Detective and mystery stories. American, Fiction, Mystery, Police, Suspense, Thriller