The Main Library's Public Technology dept. (3rd floor) will be closed Monday, Dec 16 - Friday, Dec 20. Get details.

The Main Library's Popular Materials dept. (1st floor) will be closed Monday, Dec 16 - Wednesday, Dec 25. Get details.

Cover of snow: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
WINNER OF THE MARY HIGGINS CLARK AWARD Jenny Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them. Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown . . . and its darkest secrets hidden. Praise for Cover of Snow nbsp; "Well-defined characters take us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage. Fans of Nancy Pickard, Margaret Maron, and C. J. Box will be delighted to find this new author." -- Booklist (starred review) nbsp; "Milchman reveals an intimate knowledge of the psychology of grief, along with a painterly gift for converting frozen feelings into scenes of a forbidding winter landscape." -- The New York Times nbsp; "Milchman makes [readers] feel the chill right down to their bones and casts a particularly effective mood in this stylish thriller." -- Kirkus Reviews nbsp; "Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters." -- The Seattle Times nbsp; "The plot unfolds at an excellent clip . . . ultimately rushing headlong to a series of startling revelations." --San Francisco Journal of Books nbsp; "Milchman expertly conveys Nora's grief in a way that will warm hearts even in the dead of a Wedeskyull winter." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345534217
9780385366236
9781410457844
9780385366229
9780345534231
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 6332f390-87d8-445f-a785-a4fc389485d1
Grouping Title cover of snow
Grouping Author milchman jenny
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-12-10 22:45:07PM
Last Indexed 2019-12-09 23:32:16PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Campbell, Cassandra.
author Milchman, Jenny.
author2-role Campbell, Cassandra.
author_display Milchman, Jenny
available_at_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
collection_catalog Audiobook
Fiction
Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Fiction
Bellevue - Adult Large Print
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Hermitage - Adult Audiobook
Hermitage - Adult Large Print
Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description "On a wintry morning, in the remote Adirondack village of Wedeskyull, New York, Nora Hamilton wakes to find her life utterly changed: her rock-solid policeman husband has committed suicide. The life that Nora has grown to know and love in her husband's peaceful hometown is gone. And almost immediately, the pieces don't add up: solid as an oak Brendan was prescribed sedatives a week earlier, an odd local mechanic tells Nora strange stories about her husband's past, Brendan's coworkers on the police force are keeping an eye on her, as is a genial local reporter, hot on the trail of an explosive expose. Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband -- even as this insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried"--
format_catalog Book
CD audio book
Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id 6332f390-87d8-445f-a785-a4fc389485d1
isbn 9780345534217
9780345534231
9780385366229
9780385366236
9781410457844
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
ils:CARL0000399948 35192043416290 Green Hills - Adult Fiction Fiction Milchma 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000399948 35192043416365 Main Library - Adult Fiction Fiction Milchma 1 false false On Shelf MN
ils:CARL0000399948 35192043416282 Bellevue - Adult Fiction Fiction Milchma 1 false false Checked Out BL
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 2 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000403700 35192041940051 Hermitage - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Milchma 1 false false On Shelf HM
ils:CARL0000410800 35192044175655 Hermitage - Adult Large Print Fiction Milchma Large Type 1 false false On Shelf HM
ils:CARL0000410800 35192044175648 Bellevue - Adult Large Print Fiction Milchma Large Type 1 false false On Shelf BL
itype_catalog
Book
CD audio book
Large Print Book
last_indexed 2019-12-10T05:32:16.209Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Milchma
Fiction Milchma
Fiction Milchma Large Type
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
primary_isbn 9780345534217
publishDate 2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2 eAudiobook Audio Books English Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2013
ils:CARL0000399948 Book Books 1st ed. English Ballantine Books, c2013. 326 p. ; 25 cm.
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5 eBook eBook English Random House Publishing Group 2013
ils:CARL0000403700 CD audio book Audio Books Unabridged. English Books on Tape, p2013. 10 sound discs (12 hr., 23 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ils:CARL0000410800 Large Print Books Large print edition. English Wheeler Publishing, 2013. 529 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000399948 35192043416290 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000399948 35192043416365 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000399948 35192043416282 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000403700 35192041940051 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000410800 35192044175655 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000410800 35192044175648 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Wheeler large print hardcover
series_with_volume Wheeler large print hardcover|
subject_facet Adirondack Mountains (N.Y.) -- Fiction
Audiobooks
Conspiracies -- Fiction
Large type books
Small cities -- Fiction
Suspense fiction, American
Widows -- Fiction
title_display Cover of snow : a novel
title_full Cover of Snow A Novel
Cover of snow : a novel / Jenny Milchman
Cover of snow [sound recording] : a novel / Jenny Milchman
Cover of snow [text (large print)] / Jenny Milchman
title_short Cover of snow :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Audiobooks
Conspiracies
Fiction
Large type books
Small cities
Suspense
Suspense fiction, American
Thriller
Widows