Mission flats: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2003.
Language:
English
Description
Former D.A. William Landay explodes onto the suspense scene with an electrifying novel about the true price of crime and the hidden corners of the criminal justice system. Only an insider could so vividly capture Boston's gritty underworld of cops and criminals. And only a natural storyteller could weave this mesmerizing tale of murder and memory, a story about the hold of time past over time present--and the story of one unforgettable young policeman who ventures into the most dangerous place of all. By a gleaming lake in the forests of western Maine, outside a sleepy town called Versailles, the body of a man lies sprawled in a deserted cabin. The dead man was an elite D.A. from Boston, and his beat was that city's toughest neighborhood:Mission Flats. Now, for small-town police chief Ben Truman, investigating the murder will mean leaving his quiet, haunted home and journeying to an alien world of hard streets and hard bargains, where the fierce struggle between police and criminals is fought for the ultimate stakes. Ben joins a manhunt through Mission Flats, where cops are scrambling to find their number-one suspect: Harold Braxton, a ruthless predator targeted for prosecution by the murdered D.A. To the Boston police, Braxton is a marked man. But as Ben watches the shadow dance of cops and suspects, he begins to voice doubts about Braxton's guilt…especially when he uncovers a secret history of murder and retribution stretching back twenty years…back to a brutal killing now nearly forgotten. As past and present collide and a bloody mystery unfolds, only one thing remains certain: the most powerful revelations are yet to come. Mission Flatsis at once a relentless page-turning mystery and a vivid portrait of a cop's life. Here are the street corners, courtrooms, and stationhouses; the deal makers, thugs, and quiet heroes. An unforgettable world--and the luminous, boundary-breaking debut of a new voice in suspense fiction--Mission Flats will haunt you long after the final pages.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385336147
9780440334552
9780345539458
9781415952931
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 66660e00-736b-a478-1aff-c024e8554709
Grouping Title mission flats
Grouping Author landay william
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-25 12:36:34PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-25 12:38:10PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author William Landay
author_display William Landay
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Hermitage - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description Before the New York Times bestselling success of Defending Jacob, William Landay wrote this critically acclaimed first novel of crime and suspense—perfect for fans of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Dennis Lehane.

"Landay writes with eloquent intensity."—The New York Times Book Review

By a shimmering lake in western Maine, a body lies sprawled in a deserted cabin. The dead man was an elite D.A. from Boston whose beat was the city's toughest neighborhood: Mission Flats. For local police chief Ben Truman, investigating the murder will mean leaving his quiet home and joining a vengeful manhunt in a world of hard streets and harder bargains. The cops have zeroed in on a suspect, a ruthless predator targeted for prosecution by the murdered D.A. But Ben distrusts the Boston police—especially when he uncovers a secret history of murder and retribution stretching back twenty years. As past and present collide, as tribal loyalties threaten to lynch an innocent man—or let a guilty one go free—one thing remains certain: The most powerful revelations are yet to come.

Includes an excerpt of Defending Jacob

"A crackling debut that answers the question: Who will be the next Grisham?"—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"An inventive, gripping suspense debut . . . Landay deals out pertinent details with the finesse of a poker player. . . . A rich, harrowing and delightful read."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"[Landay's] tale is reminiscent of his fellow Beantown writer Dennis Lehane, which is a true compliment."—Rocky Mountain News

"Waiting for a new Landay novel is like waiting for a guy from Cremona to build a violin: anxious but worth it."—Lee Child

Winner of the CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger Award for Best First Crime Novel
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 66660e00-736b-a478-1aff-c024e8554709
isbn 9780345539458, 9780385336147, 9780440334552, 9781415952931
item_details ils:CARL0000211703|35192030574010|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Landay|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000211703|35192042770523|Hermitage - Adult Fiction|Fiction Landay|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, overdrive:030146ae-d64c-4151-a527-c595b64a3d25|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:ba52f190-88c7-428b-a49f-c3729e2fc5b7|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|3|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-25T17:38:10.941Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Landay
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780385336147
publishDate 2003
record_details ils:CARL0000211703|Book|Books||English|Delacorte Press,|2003.|369 p. ; 24 cm., overdrive:030146ae-d64c-4151-a527-c595b64a3d25|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2003|, overdrive:ba52f190-88c7-428b-a49f-c3729e2fc5b7|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2003|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000211703 35192030574010 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000211703 35192042770523 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
overdrive:030146ae-d64c-4151-a527-c595b64a3d25 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:ba52f190-88c7-428b-a49f-c3729e2fc5b7 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Boston (Mass.) -- Fiction, Maine -- Fiction
title_display Mission flats
title_full Mission Flats A Novel, Mission flats / William Landay
title_short Mission flats
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction, Literature, Mystery, Thriller