All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

Here we are now

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A book about love, loss, and the power of music, perfect for fans of Nick Hornby and FangirlTaliah Sahar Abdallat lives and breathes music. Songs have always helped Tal ease the pain of never having known her father. Her mother, born in Jordan and very secretive about her past, won't say a word about who her dad really was. But when Tal finds a shoebox full of old letters from Julian Oliver-yes, the indie rock star Julian Oliver-she begins to piece the story together.She writes to Julian, but after three years of radio silence, she's given up hope. Then one day, completely out of the blue, Julian shows up at her doorstep, and Tal doesn't know whether to be furious or to throw herself into his arms. Before she can decide, he asks her to go on a trip with him to meet her long-estranged family and to say good-bye to his father, her grandfather, who is dying.Getting to know your father after sixteen years of estrangement doesn't happen in one car ride. But as Tal spends more time with Julian and his family, she begins to untangle her parents' secret past, and discovers a part of herself she never recognized before.By the acclaimed author of My Heart and Other Black Holes, this is an intergenerational story of family and legacy and the way love informs both of those things. It's about secrets and the debt of silence. It's about the power of songs. And most of all, it's about learning how to say hello. And good-bye.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062324702
9780062324726
9780062689214
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 678fc45b-e555-cc16-09d2-b9c87b2b7f6c
Full title here we are now
Author warga jasmine
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-21 11:27:37AM
Last Indexed 2018-05-21 11:28:49AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Jasmine Warga
author_display Jasmine Warga
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction
display_description While her mother is out of town, sixteen-year-old Taliah accompanies her estranged father--a famous rock star who one day appears on her doorstep--to Oak Falls, Indiana, to meet his dying father and the rest of his family, and on the way, Taliah learns about how her parents met and separated, her mother's experience as a Jordanian immigrant, and her own ability to accept change and open up to others.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 678fc45b-e555-cc16-09d2-b9c87b2b7f6c
isbn 9780062324702, 9780062324726, 9780062689214
item_details ils:CARL0000695107|35192050216286|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Warga|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000695107|35192050216294|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Warga|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00279709|Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||66435||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00279849|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|REAL F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00279989|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|Realistic F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00280128|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00280266|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00280403|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00280540|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00280677|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||69450||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00280813|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00280949|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00281085|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00281220|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00281354|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00281486|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00281616|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000695107|QQ00295606|Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction|F War|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||65397||, overdrive:133bffa2-4c5a-4cc9-8390-389fc837ab43|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||, overdrive:6394922e-ccdd-4860-bb2d-69ad135ca6fd|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-21T16:28:49.09Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Warga
local_time_since_added_catalog Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780062324702
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000695107|Book|Books|First Edition.|English|Balzer + Bray an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|[2017]|292 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:133bffa2-4c5a-4cc9-8390-389fc837ab43|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2017|, overdrive:6394922e-ccdd-4860-bb2d-69ad135ca6fd|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000695107|35192050216286|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000695107|35192050216294|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:133bffa2-4c5a-4cc9-8390-389fc837ab43|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:6394922e-ccdd-4860-bb2d-69ad135ca6fd|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Arab Americans -- Fiction, Families -- Fiction, Fathers and daughters -- Fiction, Musicians -- Fiction, Rock music -- Fiction, Secrets -- Fiction
title_display Here we are now
title_full Here We Are Now, Here we are now / Jasmine Warga
title_short Here we are now
title_sub
topic_facet Arab Americans, Families, Fathers and daughters, Musicians, Rock music, Romance, Secrets, Travel Literature, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature